We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting but rushed”

Museum of the Inquisition
Ranked #56 of 328 things to do in Lima
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This grisly museum features the underground dungeons and torture chambers that were used to punish accused heretics.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Interesting but rushed”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This is a free museum. You are taken on a guided tour. The tour we went on was in Spanish and we struggled to follow everything as the lady spoke very fast. She also rushed from room to room, so we didn't have time to read the information boards etc.
There are displays of different forms of torture that the spanish inquistion used which are quite realistic.
At the end you walk through the dungeons which are low and narrow.
Overall it was enjoyable (and can't complai because it was free) but we didn't learn as much as we would have liked to, given that it was quite rushed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank carly f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    101
    43
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Interesting and informative”
Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

Museum is well organized has lots of good information (all in Spanish) and you can even do a short walk through the cells underneath the busing where prisoners were kept.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Very informative little museum”
Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

This should be higher up the rankings. We had an English speaking guide who was free. He explained a brief history of the Spanish Inquisition and their methods. Apparently only about 30 people were killed in peru.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank neil l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Interesting part of peruvian history”
Reviewed 7 February 2013 via mobile

We took a whole day to walk a around the "centro de lima", and we stumbled upon this mueum. No need to pay any entrance fee, we happen to get there just in time for the toured guide, which we didnt hear to well due to the echo of the rooms.
We saw different methods of torture they used and learned about in the discovery channel. The greatest part was going through the catacomb like passage ways!

I would go back again with my kids when they are old enough to appreciate it!

Helpful?
1 Thank sharonmsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
110 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Guided tour, Probably interesting”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

I want to say that this museum was free, but I might be remembering wrong, we took a guided tour in Spanish, feeling overconfident in our ability to understand. Apparently different words for torture were not included in our high school curriculum, so we were incredibly lost throughout the tour. Pretty sure that they have tours available in English, and that we just didn't feel like waiting until the next one. It was probably very interesting. I liked the displays, and the tour seemed thorough. Just don't take it in a foreign language unless you have a pretty good vocabulary.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Museum of the Inquisition? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing