We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Bad, Have Been to Better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Jose Antonio Lima
Ranked #56 of 228 Hotels in Lima
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
208 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Not Bad, Have Been to Better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Looks 4 star on the outside, a little less so in the rooms which smelled like mildew. Breakfast was good, the coffee Peruvian strong. It should be mostly milk I learned. Was here as part of an OAT trip, and unfortunately, it was the best of the bunch on that trip..

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jann1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    208
    90
    19
    8
See reviews for
49
153
43
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

I've been to Peru twice and both times I stayed at the Hotel Jose Antonio in Lima. It is a fine hotel to stay at and I would stay here again if I was going back to Lima.
Pros:
- Good location: Close to ocean front and city square. Great restaurants nearby.
- Comfortable beds
- Quiet neighborhood
- good wifi

Cons:
- Bathrooms could use a make-over
- Breakfast was not great. The coffee was way too strong and I like strong coffee. I know that is normal in Peru but I think the hotel should offer coffee that satisfies a western palate. The food selection at breakfast was also not my favorite.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea F, ejecutiva reservas web. at Hotel Jose Antonio Lima, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for giving the time to write us and for letting us know their pros and cons and so to improve

have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
208 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We had a great stay at the Jose Antonio. Everything was nice and clean and worked well. The buffet breakfast was OK too, but the coffee did not impress. The rooms come equipped with TV, hairdryers, minibar and in-room safe. There is free WiFi, but the signal can be bad in some rooms. Check the signal before you unpack. If needed, ask for a new room with better signal.

The location is great, with a nice 10 minute walk to downtown Miraflores and Larcomar. Also, less than 10 minutes walk to the Kennedy Park and all restaurants around there.

Room Tip: There is a lot of street noise and traffic pollution. If you plan to open the window, you should get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niklas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea F, ejecutiva reservas web. at Hotel Jose Antonio Lima, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write to us, we hope that it is greeting enjoyed your stay at our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here as part of a tour. Probably costs a little over $100. Very comfortable room, nice bed and bathroom. Good breakfast. The location is good because it is only a medium length walk to the main square or the beach. Quiet neighborhood directly around hotel, no noise heard in room. Good sleep.

Room Tip: Many hotel and neighborhood choices in Lima. This was a good one. I think all the rooms are probab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColumbusTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea F, ejecutiva reservas web. at Hotel Jose Antonio Lima, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por tomarse el tiempo para escribirnos,

Es grato saber que halla disfrutado de su estadía en nuestro hotel,

Saludos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamborine Mountain, Australia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We only stayed one night between flights but this a great hotel. Complementary Pisco Sours, helpful staff, a very comfortable room, nice beds and very clean. Really fast WiFi in your room.
The breakfast buffet had a nice selection, but no labels telling you what the hot stuff was a real trick or treat! We would recommend this place for sure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea F, ejecutiva reservas web. at Hotel Jose Antonio Lima, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
thank you very much sir nick for taking the time to write and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
391 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed in the Jose Antonio Hotel for three nights as part of a Gate 1 tour of Peru. The hotel was in the Milaflores district which we were told is one of the safer districts to stay in. Our breakfast was included and the buffet was a bit different each day. There were hot and cold items and a good variety. I definitely was satisfied with it. The hotel rooms were on the small and spartan side. Nothing fancy but clean and adequate for sleeping. The rooms were not air conditioned but in June it was not a problem. The windows did open for a breeze. We are walkers and we were able to walk to Wong's (the grocery store), LarcoMar (shopping center with many restaurants), the Indian Handicrafts Market, and various parks that I had read about…all this in an afternoon. It is also just a half block away from a small store where bottled water is sold…important!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tlynn63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,164 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This was my first hotel as part my tour around South America like most good hotels its in the Miraflores area, i was very happy with my room and breakfast real nice would recommend
the coffee was very strong but ok if you water it down with hot water provided

Room Tip: Great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Jose Antonio Executive
Jose Antonio Executive
#95 of 228 in Lima
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
San Agustin Exclusive
#74 of 228 in Lima
3.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Miraflores
Jose Antonio Deluxe
Jose Antonio Deluxe
#92 of 228 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Arawi Lima Miraflores Hotel
Miraflores
Crowne Plaza Lima
Crowne Plaza Lima
#25 of 228 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Miraflores
Tierra Viva Miraflores Larco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jose Antonio Lima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jose Antonio Lima

Property: Hotel Jose Antonio Lima
Address: Av. 28 de Julio 398 Miraflores | Miraflores, Lima 18, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jose Antonio Lima 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda, Cancelon, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Jose Antonio Lima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jose Antonio Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing