We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not meet my needs”
Review of 511 Lima Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
511 Lima Hostel
Ranked #6 of 330 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Venice, Fl
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Did not meet my needs”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I chose this hostel based on the positive comments on trip advisor, the nice room photos on their website and the price. Unfortunately this place did not meet my needs. The top of the private room wall has a clear glass/Plexiglas and the hallway light spills into the room. The” firm” queen bed was too firm; I would say it was hard. So I did not have a comfortable night. Perhaps there are other rooms that don’t have these issues, but I only stayed one night.
They have 2 computers upstairs that the guest can use, which I very much appreciated, but I could not print the flight boarding pass, the printer “does not work”, I was told.
The 3 guys that run the place are very much in touch with their customers. One of them is bit defensive, but overall they do what is best for the business, ensure that the customer is not unhappy even if it means going above and beyond the line of duty. They are knowledgeable, helpful and will go the extra mile to make you happy; one very good reason to get good reviews.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask specific questions such as,soundproof, darkness, type of bedding etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tinava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gonzalo h, Gerente at 511 Lima Hostel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Many thanks. We surely did not meet your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    88
    23
    12
    8
See reviews for
26
109
88
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oberhausen, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

i stayed one night in the dorm, everything was perfect, the area is very safe and restaurants and shops around, staff so helpful and nice, breakfast very good, i really recommend to stay there when you are in lima

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Running-Olga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gonzalo h, Gerente at 511 Lima Hostel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Breakfast is even better now, thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Staff were mega friendly and the place is always kept very clean. This is my second time staying here and I wouldn't bother stay anywhere else in Lima. The place is covered in nice art and it's even got bean bags. What more can I say!!

Thanks dudes!

Benji.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Benji W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gonzalo h, Gerente at 511 Lima Hostel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Google Translation
Thanks Benji!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Great hostel for a very reasonable price. Good location, a few minutes stroll to the beach and maybe 15 minutes to Miraflores main Parque Kennedy area but there are many options much closer. Pisco Sour in Hauringas anybody?

We wanted to stay 3 nights but they only had 2 available, Gonzalo called around and arranged a night for us 5 minutes away in another great place and even gave us a lift round at checkout. Bravo guys, clean comfortable hostel with fantastic service.

One small gripe, arrange airport pickup with 511 as it was only a few $ more than Green Taxi. Had been told we'd be collected by their own private van, but it turned out to be more like a taxi which we were expected to pay for in cash. Guys, hotel airport pickups should be able to be added to the bill or else we might as well get a taxi, the whole idea was not to have to arrive in a new country late at night and have to change cash.

All round, a fantastic stay. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderSmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gonzalo H, Manager at 511 Lima Hostel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Many thanks. What's wrong with paying cash for the transfer? The whole idea of our pick-up is not adding the service to the bill (which can be done if you asked the driver or asked us to arrange it) but safety, trust and reliability. We wil further improve. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Anyone who rates this hostel less than 4-5 stars is having a laugh☺️My first impressions of this hostel was how warm and welcoming the owners Gonzalo&Umberto were when I arrived and it just got better throughout my short stay! They were super helpful and friendly to everyone and went the extra mile if someone needed help. I felt very safe and relaxed thanks to them. I was given loads of recommendations on places to eat/visit and it made my short stay in Lima a great experience. I found the place to be very clean,tidy,homely,quiet,trendy,and everything else I could wish for! If I ever come back to Lima this is where I'd be staying!
Good job guys,keep it up!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turkish Chica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gonzalo H, Manager at 511 Lima Hostel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Many thanks N! Great times around Miraflores. Enjoy your roadtrip and see you in Turkey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My sister and I booked two nights here, and ended up staying a third. The guys at the 511 have done such a great job in not only creating a clean, relaxing environment - but also one that makes you feel at home. They were extremely helpful in offering travels tips and other recommendations, and were always available when we needed them. Food was delicious, and the location always felt extremely safe/convenient. We had a late flight in and they helped us book a taxi to the hostel, and made sure someone was waiting up for us when we arrived. Definitely hope to make it back one day! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hugh0242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gonzalo h, Manager at 511 Lima Hostel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Muchas gracias! It was great having you girls here, great guest awards to both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I stayed with my friend in 511 and found the location the best and safest in Lima. Huberto and the rest of the staff were a great help to us and made this hostel a homely feel. They went above and beyond for us even offered to drop to the mall one evening. The room we booked was the master suite it was very spacious. If I were to stay in Lima I would definately stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bibbsypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gonzalo H, Manager at 511 Lima Hostel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. Our cleanliness not reaching top score is a major concern though, given it is an absolute priority. We will work harder. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Hotel Vila Santa
Hotel Vila Santa
#12 of 224 in Lima
791 reviews
Miraflores
Hostal Torreblanca
Hostal Torreblanca
#43 of 224 in Lima
407 reviews
Pariwana Hostel Lima
#1 of 330 in Lima
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lima Backpackers
#3 of 330 in Lima
204 reviews
Miraflores
KACLLA, The Healing Dog Hostel
Miraflores
Puriwasi Hostel Lima
Puriwasi Hostel Lima
#8 of 330 in Lima
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 511 Lima Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 511 Lima Hostel

Property: 511 Lima Hostel
Address: Av. de la Aviacion 175, Lima 511, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 330 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — 511 Lima Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
511 Lima Hostel is a totally new concept for a hostel. Located in the best area of Miraflores, just a few minutes from an ocean view walk and from the Costa Verde cliff route, this 50 year old colonial-style house has been renovated and adapted for the traveler's comfort and well-being. Tastefully decorated, 511 is a boutique-style hostel, where you will find yourself surrounded by art and photography. We provide the best service, security, comfort and cleanliness, and offer the traveler a pleasant stay and a place to relax in the safest area of Miraflores. 511 is designed for travelers who want to be close to the "scene" but at the same time want to have a quiet place to rest, sleep or just chill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your 511 Lima Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing