We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostal”
Review of 511 Lima Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
511 Lima Hostel
Ranked #8 of 348 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed here for almost 2 weeks and never had any problems. I have done a fare share of travel and this hostal is one of the nicest and cleanest I have come across. The staff is friendly and helpful. It is a quiet hostal which is welcomed and also in a great location in Miraflores. You won't have any problems staying here.

Este hospedaje es bacan y bien ubicado. Limpo y seguro y vas a encontrar amables empleados. Sobre todo es muy tranquilo.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
There are newer reviews for 511 Lima Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

It was the great reviews of Hostal 511 that drew me to this place, I was unable to stay there my first weekend in Lima as they had no rooms available. The location is great, 2 blocks to the beach but still only 10 minutes walk to Parque Kennedy where the majority of bars and restaurants are. Alejandro made me feel right at home as soon as I arrived, the environment was stress free from beginning to end.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank Grant H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The rooms and bathroom are very outdated and basic. The bed however was very comfortable. The front office staff was very helpful. However, we were only there one night and half the time there was no one there to help us. The breakfast was extremely basic: bread and coffee and juice. The location is a good 10-15 minute walk from the downtown Miraflores. We were very excited to stay based on reviews, but were somewhat disappointed.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the street. There is a lot of noise.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank legermireille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gonzalo h, Propietario at 511 Lima Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Sorry you feel this way. I wouldn´t call it a basic breakfast since we have muffins, scramble eggs, juice and Ham, in fact most people are really thank full for the free brekafast I included in the price.
Any how I will keep in mind your review. Thanks for writing us, will keep on working to improve things!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the hostel twice within a week. The double room with en-suite was really spacious and the bed amazingly comfortable. The location is fantastic, in front of the hostel there's a nice bakery for some treats! Staff has helped me from day one when I checked in until arranging a taxi for the airport. Really recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piratiniga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The 511 is excellently located very close to the Miraflores beach front and has very helpful staff. It is incredibly plush, and has the associated price tag. I wouldn't really describe this as a hostel and it certainly doesn't have the atmosphere of one. There is good wifi too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireBearTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hostel is well-located and well-run. The owner was attentive to our questions, and went out of his way to be helpful. We arrived late, and the hostel arranged for a driver to pick us up at the airport. The driver was waiting, even though we were delayed, and the transport fee was fair.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Although there was an initial mix up with my booking, I really enjoyed my stay at the hostel and to be fair to Gonzalo he was very apologetic and couldn't do enough to correct the mistake, even giving me a night for free. I thought the hostel was well looked after and very clean, nice big beds in the dorm and good wifi throughout. The staff were very informative and helpful with great local knowledge. Excellent coffee in the morning my only suggestion for improvement would be eggs everyday! Thanks for a fantastic stay would def recommend :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolidayMaker666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Hostal Torreblanca
Hostal Torreblanca
#45 of 229 in Lima
421 reviews
Pariwana Hostel Lima
#1 of 348 in Lima
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Puriwasi Hostel Lima
Puriwasi Hostel Lima
#9 of 348 in Lima
419 reviews
Miraflores
KACLLA, The Healing Dog Hostel
Lima Backpackers
#2 of 348 in Lima
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 511 Lima Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 511 Lima Hostel

Address: Av. de la Aviacion 175, Lima 511, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 348 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Price Range: £15 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — 511 Lima Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
511 Lima Hostel is a totally new concept for a hostel. Located in the best area of Miraflores, just a few minutes from an ocean view walk and from the Costa Verde cliff route, this 50 year old colonial-style house has been renovated and adapted for the traveler's comfort and well-being. Tastefully decorated, 511 is a boutique-style hostel, where you will find yourself surrounded by art and photography. We provide the best service, security, comfort and cleanliness, and offer the traveler a pleasant stay and a place to relax in the safest area of Miraflores. 511 is designed for travelers who want to be close to the "scene" but at the same time want to have a quiet place to rest, sleep or just chill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your 511 Lima Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing