We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good alternative to the branded corporates”
Review of Hotel B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel B
Ranked #6 of 227 Hotels in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“A good alternative to the branded corporates”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

A new hotel in Lima and still smelling slightly of paint is a wonderful townhouse that seems to be unique within the hotel scene in the city.

Large classical rooms with very high ceilings and modern boutique furniture. A small bar area and restaurant leads off the large grand reception; to the side of the reception is the library/breakfast room. We only had a short time for breakfast but there was a vast array of Peruvian and international specialties awaiting guests.

Bedrooms again had very very high ceilings and while not huge were more than adequate. The bath / shower areas which in some cases were almost in the room were spectacular. The staff were very friendly and helpful overall a very pleasant stay.

I see the hotel has just been admitted to the Relais & Château chain which suits them well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTonyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommercialDirector, Director Comercial at Hotel B, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we highly appreciate it.
We are very proud to be part of Relais & Châteaux and to provide the best standard levels.
It is very rewarding to know that you enjoyed Hotel B and had a nice stay with us. We truly hope that this will be the first of more future stays in our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    53
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
70
209
24
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the B Arts Hotel for 4 nights on our recent vacation to Lima. This was, without a doubt, the best hotel we have ever stayed at! This is coming from two Americans who have stayed at hundreds of hotels/resorts in and outside of the USA.

If your looking for a mega resort in the mold of a Westin or Hilton, etc, this place will probably disappoint. But if you appreciate culture, beauty, sophistication, wonderful service, excellent food, and most importantly ART, you will fall in love with the B Arts Hotel.

It reminds me of a historic ART gallery made into a quiet classy hotel. The little things are amazing....the solid hardwood floors, marble sink and tub, rooftop lounge area, spiral staircase, and library are totally unique. It's hard to explain the beauty of this hotel!

Finally, the other great thing is that it is located in the Barranco district which is an amazing area. Two blocks down the street is the cliff with the Pacific Ocean right there and almost across the street is a place called Dedallo whic is basically an amazing store that sells unique and beautiful Peruvian gifts, etc.

The previous reviewers who complained that it is too far from downtown Lima are ridiculous. You can grab a taxi out front in like 10 seconds and get downtown in a few minutes for like 6 or 7 US dollars.

There is no pool but they are adding a plunge pool soon and honestly it made no difference to us.

Do yourself a favor....visit this hotel and appreciate it for what it is. Purely magnificent with a wonderful staff!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bengals868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommercialDirector, Director Comercial at Hotel B, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank You very much for review and comments.
It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed a great stay with us and that Hotel B fulfilled all you expectations.
We are very proud about our hotel and it's innovative concept.
We truly hope to have the chance to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, England
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Our first impressions were to love this elegantly restored hotel's marriage of modern and traditional style, and to appreciate the friendliness and helpfulness of the welcome from receptionist Judith. Within minutes of our arrival a car was organised at a reasonable price to take us into the city for a few hours. The hotel is well located, but is in the Barranca suburb, about 40 minutes from Lima's city centre.

Our room, 228, was billed as a junior suite, but was disappointingly small, with no separate sitting area and suffered in a couple of places from that frequent fault of consciously-stylish hotels: sacrificing convenience for looks. Getting into or out of the toilet was a tricky manoeuvre for instance. It also overlooks a busy road and our hearts sank somewhat when we saw that a pack of ear plugs had been left for us, prominently placed on the desk! The windows are double glazed, but the curtains were closed on our return, so we didn't know that the outside ones had been left open. It proved to be a noisy night. The internal sound proofing was also poor, with the wooden floors in our room's area of the hotel not helping. To be fair, the bed was wonderfully comfortable.

Breakfast was a visual delight, but again some basics were missing from the buffet: spoons, juice and butter. All were provided on request with a gracious smile, but surely they should be fundamentals in an upscale international hotel?

In summary: the staff and style of the Hotel B are utterly delightful, but it fell down on the attention to detail which makes for a truly comfortable stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank elegantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommercialDirector, Director Comercial at Hotel B, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank your for your review.
Our apologies for the incident with your windows, it was definitely a mistake from Housekeeping and they should have warned you about this. We have taken note.
Regarding the house and rooms, the building as you know is a historic mansion and built in 1914, so will turn a hundred years soon. Being historical means that we cannot alter it, we have tried to provide all modern services but keeping the estructure and the original charm of a XIX century house.
The building itself will have certain noises common of a 100 years old construction, this is why we also provide earplugs, even when the rooms are 100% soundproof.
Each room is completely different than the other so are the rates so an Alcoba room will have a lower rate than and Aposento and of course different sizes and distribution.

We sincerely hope to have you again with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

because the treatment i received from the hotels and the stuff there its a bit emotional to write my review .... the hotel is perfect classic in Art area all was super i only don't like 2 things the first they have perfume its smell so bad and the second when i open the A/C the sound of the A/C is very strong other than that is super :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spoow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommercialDirector, Director Comercial at Hotel B, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and comments.
It is really important to us to know that you had a lovely stay at Hotel B and specially to hear that our staff took special care of you.
We will check as soon as possible the A/C and find out what hapenned since we have brand new equipments.
The moisturizer is specially made for us and it is prepared from the fig tree, a very traditional plant that could be found in every Lima house during the XIX century and the beginnings of the XX. It actually has a strong smell but it fades after applying leaving a very soft scent.
We truly hope to have you again at Hotel B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

But I just could not. The room we were originally in (110?) was small but nicely appointed with manageable road noise, but the smell of mould however, was overpowering to the point of both of us having a mild allergic reaction. In fact, it seems to be a major issue with this newly renovated building as the odour is strongest all over the ground floor. Having renovated several older houses myself, I suspect this is a major issue that should be checked out asap. We asked to move and were shown to another room (229?) without hesitation. This one was even smaller but again nicely appointed but faced the busy street and, although located in the newest building addition, the lack of double windows made the traffic as loud as having the window open. In fact I actually thought it was. One can expect some traffic noise in such a city hotel, but this was simply unbearable. The hotel obviously knows it is a problem as they leave earplugs on the bedside tables. How about spending some money to add another external layer? The other thing with this room was that the wifi signal was strong at the door, but extremely weak while sitting on the bed or using the nightside table. Unuseable in fact. I would be surprised if any of the hotel staff or owners have actually tried to sleep in there. If they did, they would realise how horrible this room is. So, again, we moved. This time to the corner room above the entrance. It was a superb room but the mouldy smell just would not leave us. Rooms aside, the service from the desk staff was very good and they were very willing to move us around. We were obviously not the first ones to request these changes as she stated that she tries to give people the other (better) rooms first if they are available. As for the other amenities, there were some major glitches for such a chic and well-designed hotel. For example, our eggs at breakfast took 30 minutes to prepare in the morning (a family came in after us, ordered, ate, and left before we ate). The mexican egg dish was ridiculously difficult to eat. Again... Has anyone actually tried to put themselves into the position of a guest? The final nail in the coffin for me though was at night in the bar. I ordered a double scotch on the rocks to take to my room. When I have the bartender 60 sols for a 50s bill, he looked at me and said what about the tip? Then rolled his eyes and walked away. Three strikes and you're out B Arts. Never again. What a pity to be so flawed... You are a beautiful hotel that needs to cater to the health and service of your guests - not just be a beautiful monument to building restoration and a creative art space generation (highly successful on both counts). If you must stay there, pay the money and go for a large inner and/or top floor room. If these are not available, avoid.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank hotelguruoslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommercialDirector, Director Comercial at Hotel B, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Our deepest apologies for any inconveniences and we truly hope to have the chance to have you again with us and show you all the improvements. Hotel B is a brand new hotel but built in a 100 years old historical building which certainly involves different issues and architectural challenges we have to deal with. We really appreciate your comments and suggestions and we are already working to improve and correct.
At this time we are checking about the mildew smell since this is very strange and an explanation could be that the conditioned air was not on but working as a fan just for ventilation, this usually gets a different odor during the start.
Of course we have taken good note of all your comments and working on them.

It will be a pleasure to have you again with us at Hotel B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful surprise to end our Peruvian Holiday, from the rooms and staff to the dining. We were so please to be able to spend Christmas in this delightful Hotel. There is not a thing stodgy about this house.We would definitely stay here again. Great pick.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 32655Visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommercialDirector, Director Comercial at Hotel B, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank You very much for your comments and review of Hotel B. It is great to know that you had the chance to spend the holidays with us and had a nice stay. A new year is coming and we are planning to keep improving every day and make of each stay an unforgettable one.
We truly hope to have you again in Lima and with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel has an excellent location in Barranco. Walking distance to galleries and the malecon. It has spacious rooms, friendly staff and great food. The place to stay in Barranco if not all of Lima.

Room info: the main power switch doesn't turn of the airco.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marnix L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommercialDirector, Director Comercial at Hotel B, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time and write a review. It was a pleasure to have you with us and enjoyed the location, Barranco is one of the most beautiful neighborhoods in Lima and we are very proud to be the first boutique hotel here.
It is our commitment to keep improving and provide unique experiences. We sincerely hope to have you back in Hotel B again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
JW Marriott Hotel Lima
Miraflores
Hilton Lima Miraflores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Courtyard Lima Miraflores
Miraflores
Casa Andina Premium Miraflores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel B

Property: Hotel B
Address: Saenz Pena 204 | Barranco, Lima 15063, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Barranco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 227 Hotels in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel B 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel B, the first arts-boutique hotel in Lima, a restored mansion that feature 17 suites and a signature restaurant by Oscar Velarde. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing