We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel from an excellent chain” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tierra Viva Miraflores Larco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tierra Viva Miraflores Larco
Ranked #12 of 226 Hotels in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel from an excellent chain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Firstly, we stayed in three different Tierra Vivas;
Miraflores
Saphi (in Cusco)
Puno.
They were all fantastic, so please have a look if you're visiting the different locations.

Hotel staff were excellent, very helpful, friendly, nothing was too much trouble.
Very good location, nice bathrooms.
Excellent breakfast too with great coffee!

Would recommend to anyone.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Littlemammiesboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Miraflores Larco, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Littlemammiesboy,

Thank you for your excellent comment and for considering Tierra Viva as an “Excellent hotel from an excellent chain”.

If you ever have the chance to visit Peru again, it will be a pleasure to take care of you again at our hotels in Lima, Arequipa, Cusco or Puno.

Kind regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    839
    400
    55
    5
    3
See reviews for
176
680
101
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

I loved this hotel but had booked it prior to arriving in Lima and didn't realize how comparatively expensive it was. The free rooftop brunch was super nice, and the rooms were clean and comfortable. It was also within walking distance from a lot of shops, cafes, stores.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reyana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Miraflores Larco, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Reyana M,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva Miraflores Larco with other travelers and for having stayed at our hotel.

We hope that you continue to be our guest at Tierra Viva Hotels if you ever have the chance to visit us again in Cusco, Puno, Arequipa or Lima.

Best regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
137 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

A great overnight stay for our final night in Peru.

As with all hotels, it depends on what you want. For us, this ticked all the boxes for a city centre hotel. Lots of positives:

Service is excellent - the staff were super-friendly and aimed to do whatever they could to make our stay enjoyable.
Rooms were good - large beds, reasonable space, very nice bathroom, and clean.
Breakfast buffet was very good - certainly one of the best of our 12 hotels in Peru.
Not only free wifi, but three computers available in reception with a printer so we could print our boarding passes.

No it doesn't have stunning views, but it is considerably cheaper than many of the large Miraflores hotels, and the Lima mist means that views may be there but they may not always be seen!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJRT_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Miraflores Larco, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear JJRT_travels,

Thank you for your excellent comment!! We are very happy to know that you really enjoy your stay at Tierra Viva Miraflores Larco.

We hope to have you again at Tierra Viva very soon!

Kind regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed here for three nights with my husband while touring Latin America.

There was nothing super exciting about this place. It is a typical (although new, so feels modern, fresh and crisp) 3-star city hotel that could be anywhere in the world. Had it not been for the baby Alpaca rugs on the bed, we would not have known in which city or country we were. For you Scandinavians out there, the room reminded me very much of the Scandic hotel chain rooms.

Pros:
- Very friendly and nice staff who knew what they were doing and were obviously professionals. We had pre-booked an airport transfer through the hotel and in the last minute our flight was severely delayed so we ended up arriving in the early morning hours instead of the evening before. Notified the hotel about this in the last minute and it was no problem for them to change the pick-up and we had our designated driver waiting for us at 4 am.

- Free wifi as well as computers and printers for boarding passes. Excellent, all hotels should have this.

- Great big bed with sufficient amount of fluffy pillows. Good lighting in room. Room was clean.

Cons:

- Same problem as we had in almost all of our other hotels in Latin America: bad soundproofing, ie. you will need earplugs if you’re a light sleeper. This is a newly built hotel so it’s not an acceptable problem.

- Our room overlooked a teeny tiny inside courtyard, it almost looked like an airshaft. We had absolutely no view of the outside and since you had a direct view from the hallway into our room, we had to keep the window blinds down all the time. Made us feel kind of claustrophobic.

- Room felt very humid and cold and all our clothes felt humid and funny when we arrived to our next destination. The baby Alpaca blankets were definitely needed during the night!

- Water smelt extremely bad (chlorine or metals?). This might not be the hotel’s fault but it was still very unpleasant.

In conclusion, it is a fresh and clean hotel without any super-serious problems and with excellent staff but it's simply not particularly exciting. Given the negatives above, I would probably try another hotel, with more character, were I to visit Lima again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boarding_gate123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Miraflores Larco, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Boarding_gate123,

Thank you for your comment and for letting us know about your impressions. We are sorry that our hotel Tierra Viva Miraflores Larco has not fully met your expectations and your stay with us was not 100% satisfactory.

We truly hope that you continue to be our guest at Tierra Viva Hotels. If you ever come back to Peru, it will be a pleasure for us to take care of you again and show you that we are committed to making every stay at Tierra Viva Hotels as pleasant as possible.

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern california
Level Contributor
165 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Small, attractive, clean well kept boutique property with attentive, helpful staff.
Central location in Miraflores, close walking distance to Kennedy Park, the shore, shopping and restaurants, yet quiet and well priced. Staff full of helpful suggestions and information. Great breakfast buffet. Rooms are small, and don't all have outer windows, but are comfortable and clean. Would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beardiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Tierra Viva Miraflores Larco, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear beardiegal,

Thank you for your comment and for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva Miraflores Larco with other travelers. We are very happy to know that you really enjoy your stay.

We hope to have you again at Tierra Viva very soon!

Kind regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

The Tierra Viva Miraflores Larco has a lot going for it, but also (in my stay at least) had some flaws that make its lofty ranking on TripAdvisor undeserved

Getting There/Logistics
The hotel is located (naturally) in Miraflores, a district that's a bit of a hike from the Lima airport. You're looking at a 30-40 minute cab ride, depending on when you arrive, but since it's Peru it won't set you back more than 20 dollars. Lima is very spread out and the metro isn't really designed for inter-city transit, so you'll be looking at more taxis to move you about the city.

Pros:
There are many things to like about the hotel. It has an excellent location in Miraflores, just off Avenida Larco with its wealth of restaurants and shops. An impressive buffet breakfast and dependable WiFi are included in the cost of the room. And that cost is quite low indeed -- I paid just 100 a night and that seems par for the course. Also, the bed in my room was huge, and the bathroom was a good size as well.

Cons:
My stay had some drawbacks worth sharing. I had a room with an interior view and that "view" was of a courtyard maybe 3 meters in diameter. Across from the 10 foot courtyard, were the windows of the main hallway on my floor. Since I didn't particularly want everyone who was staying on floor 6 to wave to me, this meant I had either no privacy or that I had to keep my windows closed at all times. That wasn't a fun choice. Furthermore, the soundproofing of the hotel wasn't great (I spoke in a whisper most of the time) which contributed to the feeling of diminished privacy.
In addition, the room itself wasn't very special. As mentioned above, the bed is huge, but there's very little furniture in the room apart from it -- no couches or comfortable chairs -- and the room is starkly decorated, with a lot of white and not much else. It wasn't particularly homey.
Lastly, Lima can get quite cold at night during winter (northern hemisphere summer -- June/July/August) and the room was very cold. The staff helpfully provided a heater when we requested one, but it was adequate at best. Even with the spare blanket, we had some cold nights.

Bottom Line:
I got a lot of value for my money in the Tierra Viva Miraflores Larco, and I think if I had had a better room I might have had a better stay. But, as it is, the lack of view and privacy, the cold room, and the general drabness of the room are leaving a much stronger impression in my head than the awesome breakfast, WiFi, and location.

Room Tip: Make sure not to get an interior-facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Miraflores Larco, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear James K,

I have read your comments carefully and I would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your impression about your stay at Tierra Viva Miraflores Larco.

We are sorry that our hotel has not fully met your expectations and I can assure you that we are taking the necessary corrective measures to improve our service.

We truly hope that you continue to be our guest at Tierra Viva Hotels. If you ever come back to Peru, it will be a pleasure for us to take care of you again and show you that we are committed to making every stay at Tierra Viva Hotels as pleasant as possible.

Best regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
174 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Tierra viva Miraflores Larco was the frosting on the cake to our two week visit to Peru. The location was perfect. We walked to the beach and the cliffs in Miraflores, Lima, and the beautiful mall built into the cliffs a couple of times. Lots to see and do there. We also walked inland about ten minutes or so to a central park area from where the hop on off buses ran. One day we took a great trip out to see the famous horses and some ruins. Another day we went into the central plaza area of historical Lima. Very convenient ten minute taxi ride from Tierra Viva, and not expensive for the taxis. In the evening we walked to a couple different casinos and restaurants. Lots of fun! The hotel is very nicely laid out. Roof top garden/ breakfast area is very relaxing. Rooms were perfectly laid out and comfortable. And the lounge area in the lobby was comfy and inviting, too. We would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: They all seemed great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grams98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Miraflores Larco, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Grams98,

Thank you for your excellent comment and for having stayed at Tierra Viva.

We hope to have you again, at any of our hotels, in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Hotel Vila Santa Miraflores
Miraflores
Courtyard Lima Miraflores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
JW Marriott Hotel Lima
Miraflores
Arawi Lima Miraflores Hotel
Miraflores
Casa Andina Private Collection Miraflores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Viva Miraflores Larco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Miraflores Larco

Property: Tierra Viva Miraflores Larco
Address: Calle Bolivar 176 - 180 | Miraflores, Lima Lima18, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 226 Hotels in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra Viva Miraflores Larco 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Viva Mirafores Larco is located in the heart of Miraflores, the tourist hub, shopping and dining center in Lima, close to its boardwalk, Larcomar shopping center, major art galleries and the popular “Parque Kennedy”. With 44 comfortable and new rooms, the hotel has been designed for the traveler who wants to live the modern Lima and discover the personality of its most cosmopolitan district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tierra Viva Miraflores Larco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing