We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed”
Review of Aku Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aku Hotels
Ranked #60 of 226 Hotels in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, CA USA
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Impressed”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The hotel is about a year old. It is very modern, comfortable, and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms and the common area are very well maintained, clean and smelled fresh.

I stayed here only one night of a 4 day trip to Lima, but I wish I would have stayed here for my entire visit.

The beds are large, with crisp, high thread count sheets. The bathroom is large, and the shower has great water pressure. The towels were thick and plentiful. The staff were friendly and helpful. There is a doorman and always someone to help with luggage should you need it.

It is located in a quiet area, adjacent to a large park and several restaurants nearby.

The airport transfer was reasonable by US standards at $29 for a 40 minute ride, but I paid only $20 in-bound to a hotel in Miraflores (which is further).

This hotel will be my choice for my next visit to Lima.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank absf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia Aku Ho... L, Gerente at Aku Hotels, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the review,for choosing us and giving us the opportunity to serve you during your stay in Lima.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our attentive and personalized service as well as our rooms and the location of our hotel.
We will be very happy to have you in Aku hotels in your next visit to Lima.

Best Regards.

Liry Marrugo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    38
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
27
7
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bariloche, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Let´s start right away with the reason why I only rate it "average": the receptionist who was almost all the time on duty was a complete and inexperienced disaster. Even the simplest questions from our side were responded with a blank look and a "I will check that in the system". And I do mean simple questions like: "Where can we find a place to wash our clothes and a pharmacy"! It´s worse, when she finally found something in the system (really), she couldn´t point us on the map she printed where the hotel was! I mean, after 2 days even I could show it on the map, how can a receptionist not know?? And any hotel should have little maps for their guests on the front desk, ready to take with them.

I´m sure she was new, but I also stated very clearly when we made the reservation that we are travel agents, looking for new places in Lima for our clients. If you know this beforehand, shouldn´t you make sure there is a capable receptionist on duty? As I said in the title, it could have been a "excellent" review without any doubt.

Ok, let´s try to look beyond this bad first experience and continue with the review. The room was nice, quiet, ample and very clean. Bathroom maybe a little small if you´re a regular business traveler and/or used to staying in 4 stars hotels, but it did the job without any problem. Beds were comfortable, BUT... Housekeeping (who did an excellent job on cleaning) should follow a course how to make a bed. They tuck in the sheets SO tightly, that when you try to take them out to get into the bed, you´ll end up taking out everything, even the undersheets and mattress cover and you end up making your own bed every night.

Breakfast was tasty, very good and diverse and quick service of the people working there. Ah, and their coffee machine is from heaven! I want one in my office! And while we´re at it, please do try their menu at least once (room service), we ended up eating in our room 4 times, it was so delicious.

In short: will I reccommend the place to tourists? Yes, if they take care of their front desk team. Will I use the hotel for clients of my travel agency? Not sure yet (still a few hotels to try out in Lima).

Pros: Rooms, breakfast (coffee machine), lunch/dinner options, spotlessly clean
Cons: Reception, which is very important and took away 2 stars of the rating

As you hopefully can see, we were happy with the hotel, but the receptionists ruined almost everything for the excellent rating. I might be a bit picky, but it´s my job and my wife has almost 10 years of experience in a "Leading Hotel of the World" so we do see every little detail. Of course we take into account that we were not staying in a 5 star hotel, but I hope our keen eye will serve the readers, as well as the management of the hotel.

Room Tip: The twin rooms are a bit bigger than the double ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tipica_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia Aku Ho... L, Gerente at Aku Hotels, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment.

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed our services during your stay and we have taken note of your suggestions in order to improve our front desk services.

We will be happy to welcome you again in Aku hotels Lima to show our improvements.

Best regards,

Liry Marrugo.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2013

First trip to Lima in June and stayed at the AKU Hotel. I was impressed with the personalized service and hospitality. Found my room always clean and with fresh sheets. Location is great, walking distance from el Olivar (a beautiful park), restaurants, shopping mall and an archaeological site such as Huaca Pucllana.
Highly recommend this hotel for its service and very convenient location.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert_MCcann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia Aku Ho... L, Gerente at Aku Hotels, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear guest,

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the review,for choosing us and giving us the opportunity to serve you during your stay in Lima.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed our attentive and personalized service as well as our rooms and the location of our hotel.
Comments like yours motivate us to keep our commitment to our visitors and always provide an outstanding service.

We appreciate your recommendation to other travelers, thank you!

Regards.

Liry Marrugo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
San Isidro
Ananay Hotel San Isidro
San Isidro
Sonesta Hotel El Olivar
San Isidro
Novotel Lima
Novotel Lima
#33 of 226 in Lima
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Isidro
Plaza del Bosque Hotel
Plaza del Bosque Hotel
#103 of 226 in Lima
240 reviews
San Isidro
Suites Del Bosque Hotel
Suites Del Bosque Hotel
#112 of 226 in Lima
82 reviews
San Isidro
Ramada Encore Lima San Isidro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aku Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aku Hotels

Property: Aku Hotels
Address: Calle Ignacio Merino 160. San Isidro, Lima 27, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 226 Hotels in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aku Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aku Hotels is Located in the most exclusive and business area in San Isidro District. A few steps away from El Olivar forest, less than 100 meters from the Centro Empresarial Real San Isidroand surrounded by exclusive malls, boutiques and restaurants.It is considered as a design hotel for its modern architecture, its decoration and its unique style. Aku hotels Lima offers large and comfortable bedrooms that guarantee relax and comfort, meeting rooms suitable for seminars and conferences, a business center, restaurant, terrace, gym, wireless internet connection wi-fi, three parking basements and first-class service in a warm and exclusive atmosphere. All the rooms are fully equipped with free wi-fi internet access, a coffee station included, alarm clock radio with ipod docking station, a digital safety deposit box and a large desk where the guest will be able to work into the peace and quiet of its room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aku Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing