We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy terrible hotel room - horrible experience - dont stay here!!”
Review of Maria Angola Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maria Angola Hotel
Ranked #192 of 234 Hotels in Lima
Reviewed 9 March 2010

We booked this thru Orbitz having been told it was a 4 **** hotel......there were four of us in two rooms on two diff floors....the lobby was ok but worn - we arrived in Lima at 2 am so nothing to do but accept the rooms. We had booked a double bed but there were none when we checked in. The hallway was dingy, room had dirty brown/green louvred doors, carpet thin and dirty, three twin beds vs one double took up the entire room which was dingy. Underside of blankets had blood stains on them. Safe did not work at all and they could not fix it. Bath small and dingy with intermittent water. We spent four hours trying to sleep but couldnt thinking there were going to be bugs running over us -immeditately cancelled rest of reservation and moved to the JW Marriott Hotel which in our estimation is only worthwhile place to stay in Lima. Only thing good to say about this hotel (and i am trying to be objective) is that the coffee /breakfast was good and it is located on LaPaz which has very nice silver shops and is near the Inca market where you can get some very good silver and alpaca products ...but i would stay at the Marriott and just take a taxi or walk!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalGalSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2009

We got a great room for $60 on almost the top floor. They were in the process of renovation and the halls were a little messy but our room seemed brand-new. They brought up breakfast (room service) with no extra charge. The location is great !
Seemed like a business travelers hotel. Usually we caught cabs on the street and never had a worry, but for our last ride through town with all our luggage to the airport- it was nice to have a nice new car and friendly driver.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenManSantaCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 3 March 2009

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 1 March 2009

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 February 2009

I stayed at the Maria Angola for about five days in February of 2009. The staff were friendly and extreamly helpful, however the hotel was old and run down....erratic water problems, no bath mat in tub.....had trouble getting on the internet.
Breakfast was decent, but the the staff were slow and you cant get a large cup of coffee anywhere in Peru.

I agree with one other writer...it was closely located near the center of Miraflores and most of all it was a safe place.

If you dont plan on spending much time in your room and doing a lot of sightseeing, although it is a moderate hotel...you will most likely be happy there.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank louiseannUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 6 February 2009

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 September 2008

I stayed at the Maria Angola Hotel in late August. For the price I thought the hotel was fine. The Hotel staff were very nice. My room was very clean upon my return each day. All of my belongings were fine. I even left a small amout ($13) of cash in my travel bag for 5 days and it wasn't touched. Breakfast was adequate, and consisted of juice, coffee, eggs, toast and breads. Room service was available and I had a bottle of wine brought up. The hotel attendant was very polite and even offered to pour it for us. The location is great! It's a short walk to pizza street, the India market, and a grocery store that reminded me of Freshfields. The grocery store was a great find! It had everything from wine to cheeses, and everything you could want. I didn't go to Lima to sit in my hotel room and watch TV. So for a good hot shower and a quiet nights sleep this was a great stay for me. Lima is a city however, so quiet is a relative term!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MarylandCountryboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Carmel Hotel
Carmel Hotel
#84 of 234 in Lima
163 reviews
Miraflores
Hotel Stefano's
Hotel Stefano's
#46 of 234 in Lima
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Hotel Ferre De Ville
Hotel Ferre De Ville
#129 of 234 in Lima
48 reviews
Miraflores
Hotel Las Palmas
Hotel Las Palmas
#92 of 234 in Lima
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria Angola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria Angola Hotel

Address: Av. La Paz 610 | Miraflores, Lima, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 234 Hotels in Lima
Price Range: £36 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maria Angola Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Commercial Hotel situated in Miraflores, the financial & commercial district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Maria Angola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Angola Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing