We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mariel Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mariel Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #45 of 226 Hotels in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

was an amazing place to stay for my last night before traveling home. The rooms were great - good size, amazingly comfortable bed and all the other perks of a great hotel. The breakfast was the best one I had over my two weeks in Peru (and 4 other hotels I stayed at). It's in a great location, barely a 5 minute walk to Kennedy Square (main touristy area in Lima). Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melaniese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariel_Owner, Manager at Mariel Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your wonderful comment, we are happy that you enjoy our service and location ,

We hope to see you again at " Mariel Hotel " very soon!

Kind regards

Cristy Medri C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    574
    206
    55
    25
See reviews for
301
467
136
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

While this hotel was probably one of the nicer ones in the Miraflores area, it was the least impressive of all the hotels we stayed in in Peru. It had an A/C unit in the room that without it the temperature would have been unbearable. The rest of the hotel doesnt have central air, so when you enter from the street and expect that welcome blast of cold air, it doesnt come.
The rooms were very small, with twin beds but the place was clean and we were only staying a night so we didnt need anything fancy.
Breakfast was not great. Go early if you want to avoid the hordes of cheapo tourists (like us) wanting to gorge themselves on free breakfast. The staff had a hard time keeping up with the demand.
Front desk was extremely helpful and worked with us to get dinner reservations at local restaurants and cab rides since our Spanish wasnt great.
The place is about a 20min walk to the edge of Miraflores and the shopping mall, but certainly doable.
Cabs into Lima will be at least 20sol from the hotel, we maybe got one for 15 sol, but we had heard so many warnings about cabs in Lima we wanted to be sure we were getting into a safe cab.
Overall the place is a bed and a shower and cable tv w/ air conditioning. Probably a US equivalent of 2 star, almost a 3. it does the job.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariel_Owner, Manager at Mariel Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your wonderful comment, we are happy that you enjoy our service and location ,

We hope to see you again at " Mariel Hotel " very soon!

Kind regards

Cristy Medri C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
99 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

We had a great two night stay here at the start of travelling around peru and would stay here again and recommend it to friends as a safe, convenient, clean and comfortable place to stay.

Pros

Excellent location in Miraflores a couple of minutes walk to Kennedy park, restaurants, bars ect and 20 minute walk to the coastline.
Friendly and efficient staff who spoke good English
Hotel clean and felt safe
Breakfast was good and plenty of choice
Nice clean room, not huge but all that we needed and had a safety deposit box
Next to Indian market which is good for tourist souvenirs 

Cons

Hotel aliitle noisy in the morning with early leaving guests, not the hotels fault though
Although not an issue for us it is a small hotel so don't expect anything to grand, think Ibis or travel lodge standard.

Tips

Walk to the coast and enjoy the view and the landscaped clifftop parks, although the beach below is dirty.
Grab a coffee at Chef Cafe overlooking park Kennedy, great espresso mocha coffees with fudge and cream added ! Expect to pay around 8 Sols each.
Haiti, a restaurant and bar by park kennedy did nice food at around 30 Sols each for a main course and drink.
La glorietta in the small street  Juan Figari,  nicknamed Pizza Street just off park Kennedy did nice pizzas at around 30 Sols for a small personal size pizza.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Redroxby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariel_Owner, Manager at Mariel Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your wonderful comment, we are happy that you enjoy our service and location ,

We hope to see you again at " Mariel Hotel " very soon!

Kind regards

Cristy Medri C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

We stayed for one night and found the service to be friendly, the hotel to be clean and the room to be a decent size. The towels were nice and fluffy, there was even a toiletry (shampoo!) - unlike other hotels we stayed in, in Lima. Nice, big, modern TV and decent-sized bed. Excellent location in Miraflores - can walk to Park Kennedy and the many bars & restaurants nearby. Breakfast was ok - eggs, cereal and fruit. Wi-fi connection worked well in our room. Not an impressive view from our 7th floor room, but no worries.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iphegenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariel_Owner, Manager at Mariel Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your wonderful comment, we are happy that you enjoy our service and location ,

We hope to see you again at " Mariel Hotel " very soon!

Kind regards

Cristy Medri C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

this hotel is very central, clean, discreet, safe and has a very nice breakfast room with a nice buffet. We stayed one night in the 9th floor and had a great view.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seP294316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariel_Owner, Manager at Mariel Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your wonderful comment, we are happy that you enjoy our service and location ,

We hope to see you again at " Mariel Hotel " very soon!

Kind regards

Cristy Medri C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

This hotel is on a busy street. It is centrally located, very close to Inca Market, walking distance to most attractions in Miraflores.
9 floors of 5 rooms per floor. Restaurant/Cafe Bar onthe second floor is comfortable and offer good wi-fi connection and 3 PC stations.
Rooms are not very big. Two large suitcases took all the floor space.
Breakfast offers fresh friut, cold cuts and limited hot dishes.

Room Tip: The kitchen is connected at the bottom of the staircase. Sometimes the doors at each floor are open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariel_Owner, Manager at Mariel Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your wonderful comment, we are happy that you enjoy our service and location ,

We hope to see you again at " Mariel Hotel " very soon!

Kind regards

Cristy Medri C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

I would have given this hotel an excellent but we did a packet deal and they put us on the second floor which has no view, unless you count the brick wall three quarters up the window, they also have a "bomba de agua" ( water pump) which woke us up a couple of nights because it was so loud. Everything else about this hotel is excellent, the staff are all very friendly and helpful, from the people who clean the rooms, to the guys outside who get you a taxi, waiters, receptionists, etc, etc. Breakfast was very good and the eggs got a different accompaniment every day. We would definitely use it again if we could guarntee a room higher up!

Room Tip: third floor upwards!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariel_Owner, Manager at Mariel Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your wonderful comment, we are happy that you enjoy our service and location ,

We hope to see you again at " Mariel Hotel " very soon!

Kind regards

Cristy Medri C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Hotel Vila Santa Miraflores
Miraflores
Hotel Stefano's
Hotel Stefano's
#46 of 226 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Miraflores
Ibis Larco Miraflores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Tierra Viva Miraflores Larco
Miraflores
Faraona Grand Hotel
Faraona Grand Hotel
#26 of 226 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Hotel Runcu Miraflores
#27 of 226 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariel Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariel Hotel & Apartments

Property: Mariel Hotel & Apartments
Address: General Suarez 240, Lima 18, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Lima
#29 Business Hotel in Lima
#31 Romantic Hotel in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariel Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a great location, Mariel hotel offers full-equipped rooms and apartments in the heart of Miraflores district. Air conditioning, wifi, tours and car rental services also. Front Desk and transfers 24 hour ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mariel Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariel Hotel Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing