We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bright room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mariel Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #45 of 228 Hotels in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bright room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I was here six days on business. While room was generally excellent, there was minimal work surface. I could barely open my laptop on the "desk".
Staff were excellent and most spoke at least passable English. Woild recommend for tourists. Car alarms will wake you at 08:00.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank spinwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariel_Owner, Manager at Mariel Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for the time you have taken to give us feedback. We appreciate your point of view about our product and service and the incidents you experienced during your stay; .

Our sincere apologies for the problem with car alarms , we are taking note about that to have better control with our neighbor´s cars

Best Regards,

Cristy Medri C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    529
    589
    213
    57
    26
See reviews for
315
479
139
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

we opted for the family apartment in a separate building from hotel.
the optional airport pick up was good for us but way overpriced, when we were checking out and travelling to the bus terminal we used local taxis for a far more reasonable price.
When we checked in at 4 am after 30 hours of travelling we were greeted at reception by friendly staff which was nice.
when we walked to the apartment the staff member had to show me every single item in the apartment (which could be stolen!) separately including flower arrangements, cutlery etc etc and i was required to sign for each of these separately which was not appreciated given the time of day and how tired we were.
The apartment was in a good location but lacking a few items we would have liked. There was no heating and no blankets-just very sheets and thin cover on bed. We live in a tropical country where the temperature never drops below 25 degrees so had to wear track pants and a sweatshirt to bed every night.

There was a kettle and a few tea bags but no milk-it would be great if there was some supplies just on arrival to have a tea/coffee in your room.

The breakfast was ok-nothing great but filled us up in the morning. Coffee was awful.
The coffee shop on ground floor under apartment building makes awesome coffee-nice spot to sit and relax for a while in the morning.

Hot water was an issue. You would expect in a 2 bedroom apartment there would be enough hot water for the 4 of us to shower but there was only enough for one person to have a brief shower. As mentioned before we had travelled 30 hours and were really wanting a hot shower and to clean up.

Overall there is potential for the mariel to be awesome-just need to address some basic improvements for guests.

thanks

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jo1769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariel_Owner, Manager at Mariel Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for the time you have taken to give us feedback. We appreciate your point of view about our product and service and the incidents you experienced during your stay; .

We are sorry for the perception you have regarding your experience as we always strive and look for ways to exceed our customers’ expectations.

We are serving a new gourmet coffee on breakfast, thank you for your comments; also we were checking hot wáter in both apartments that we have and everything is working perfect now,

Our sincere apologies for the problema that you had with check in process , we are taking note to improve our proces in front desk and dont have more problems with that.

Best Regards,

Cristy Medri C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iquitos, Peru
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

The location is great, very convenient for Miraflores and getting to other places around Lima. The rooms were quite small. Showers were warm but not hot. The coffee served at breakfast was absolutely horrible - Truly undrinkable. I have seen another restaurant reheat yesterdays coffee and serve that. This tasted like they had been reheating it for several days. I ended up buying my own instant coffee. We had a 5th floor street room and could hear people talking on the street during the night. There was also some kind of machine noise of and on during the night. Had reservations for 5 nights but left after 2 because we could not sleep. In fairness, looking online for whats available in Miraflores, it seems you need to pay above $200 per night to get a quiet place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariel_Owner, Manager at Mariel Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for the time you have taken to give us feedback. We appreciate your point of view about our product and service and the incidents you experienced during your stay; .

We are sorry for the perception you have regarding your experience as we always strive and look for ways to exceed our customers’ expectations.

Your comments are very important for us, we are taking note about our coffee, and now we are serving a new one, really good, is a gourmet one.

About the noise during your stay, is really strange because our location is on a quiet
street, maybe we had some unusual events around during these nights and for these reason you couldnt have a nice sleep.

Our sincere apologies again for all the incidents that you had during your stay, we are taking note to improve our proces with all our team.

Best Regards,

Cristy Medri C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pa, Usa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

This was a good spot to begin a 2 week trip in Peru. As far as a location for exploring Lima, one can easily walk around the neighborhood of Miraflores and I found the Metropolitano which has a stop two blocks away to be an excellent, efficient and economical way to visit both the historic town center and neighboring Barranco. The hotel was clean, with friendly staff and a decent breakfast. I recommend visiting the nearby mercado next to the metropolitano stop for a more authentic experience in addition to the boutiques and nice restaurants to get a taste of some real Peruvian life. You will have to cab it from the airport. Use green taxi which is official and has fixed rates, which was 50 soles without tip, roughly $20. Depending on your interests, Lima has a lot to offer and this hotel is a nice option to have a comfortable and safe place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PhillyKatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariel_Owner, Manager at Mariel Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Phillykatman,

We appreciate your positive comments and time to share your appreciation of our product and service. Our great location makes it for all our guests! We are really happy that you enjoy our breakfast and our friendly and profesional staff ! We will be always ready to help you!

Again, thank you very much and hopefully we will welcome you back very soon.

Best Regards,

Cristy Medri C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle River, Alaska
Level Contributor
433 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed at the Mariel but opted for the apartments available across the street instead of renting two separate rooms. It was kind of weird to leave the hotel for an apartment, but the price was right. The apartment was ok but had no air conditioning and the view was of the junky rooftop across a side street. That being said, it was clean and there were two bathrooms, which helped a lot.

The included breakfast was over at the Mariel Hotel itself. It was self serve and we asked for more waffle batter, as the items were pretty much gone. After an hour wait, we flagged down the waiter and inquired about the waffle batter and he said it was too late as the restaurant would be closing and then shrugged his shoulders. Another staff person walked by and just smirked.

The hotel is located a bit farther to the Malecon than we thought, but it was not difficult to walk to the water and the shopping mall. The staff said the neighborhood was safe to walk around, but there was nothing enjoyable about the area. The hotel was kind of dark and not welcoming at all. I was quite disapointed.

Again, the price of the apartment was the best feature and it could have been a lot worse but I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaMomofTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariel_Owner, Manager at Mariel Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your comments and your perceptions about our service at "Mariel Hotel ; they help us to learn about our weakness and improve the quality of service for such important guests as you.

Definitely this is not the image we would like our guests take from us, and this is why we really would like you to know that we are taking steps in every point above mentioned, and take the necessary actions for our continuous improvement.

Best Regards,

Cristy Medri C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Very close to bustling Miraflores parque central, Mariel hotel benefits from a great location to enjoy Lima. This is all the good I can say about this hotel, because I was otherwise utterly disappointed. Decrepit building, no soundproofing (on the 6th floor it felt like being streetside), damp, dark old rooms in desperate need for a makeover, a weak lukewarm water stream for showering... As for the service, I had called the front desk to book a taxi to the airport at 5am the next day, only to find out that morning that they had forgotten to do it, so the concierge just tried to hail one from the street - which was nice of him, but took a while and almost made me miss my plane... And all of this for about 80 USD, not cheap in Lima!

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Kdo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariel_Owner, Manager at Mariel Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for the time you have taken to give us feedback. We appreciate your point of view about our product and service and the incidents you experienced during your stay; .

We are sorry for the perception you have regarding your experience as we always strive and look for ways to exceed our customers’ expectations.

Our sincere apologies for the problema that you had with your taxi, we are taking note to improve our proces in front desk and dont have more problems with that.

Best Regards,

Cristy Medri C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

The Mariel is a quaint hotel situated across the street from one of the many markets in Lima. The neighborhood was very safe to walk around and see the sights. The hotel staff was very accommodating, hailing cabs when necessary, answering questions, and dealing with requests regarding luggage and rooms. The elevator is very small, reminds you of the era in which the hotel was built. The breakfast was good and filled you up for your morning's exploration.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler59012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariel_Owner, Manager at Mariel Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear traveler59012

We appreciate your positive comments and time to share your appreciation of our product and service. Our great location makes it for all our guests! We are really happy that you enjoy our breakfast !

Again, thank you very much and hopefully we will welcome you back very soon.

Best Regards,
Cristy Medri C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Hotel Vila Santa Miraflores
Miraflores
Hotel Stefano's
Hotel Stefano's
#46 of 228 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Miraflores
Ibis Larco Miraflores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Tierra Viva Miraflores Larco
Hotel Runcu Miraflores
#27 of 228 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Miraflores
Faraona Grand Hotel
Faraona Grand Hotel
#26 of 228 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariel Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariel Hotel & Apartments

Property: Mariel Hotel & Apartments
Address: General Suarez 240, Lima 18, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Lima
#29 Business Hotel in Lima
#31 Romantic Hotel in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariel Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a great location, Mariel hotel offers full-equipped rooms and apartments in the heart of Miraflores district. Air conditioning, wifi, tours and car rental services also. Front Desk and transfers 24 hour ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mariel Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariel Hotel Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing