We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much noise!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
El Polo Apart Hotel & Suites
Ranked #103 of 227 Hotels in Lima
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Too much noise!!!”
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Good hotel , with clean suites , good breakfast , located in front of the US embassy , in a commercial center.
i suggest to choose it.
the unique leakage its the noise.
last Saturday from 7 o'clock in the morning they start to make some maintenance works and with the hammer , with the drilling machine they weak-up all the guest!
also in the evening due to the vivinance of the business center and the road , there is quite noises. I was at the 4th floor!

Room Tip: All the rooms are almost in the same position , reachable by the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nobile64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    42
    34
    5
    2
See reviews for
3
13
5
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
U.S.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

This hotel received an average rating as there were both pros and cons
Pros:
-located across the street from the US Embassy
-several restaurants located in the shopping complex directly behind the hotel
-kitchenette in room (no microwave, but a two burner electric stove top)
-internet in room (wired, but adequate speed to support VOIP)
-hot water a plenty
-breakfast included in rate with a variety of hot/cold foods, fruits, juices
-room service food was very tasty
-laundry picked up in the morning was delivered the same evening
-Pharmax (open 24 hours) located in the shopping center sells milk, bread, water, snacks, cleaning products, medicine, pretty much everything and has a restaurant
-hotel staff was very responsive

Cons:
-windows did not keep out street noise which does not quiet down until after 9 pm
-refrigerator in room is very small and about 1/2 full of mini-bar offerings reducing usable space
-bathroom was not vented, room seemed to have a damp smell
-internet is not high-speed and not wireless
-the A/C heater unit did not seem to respond to the thermostat causing the fan to run constantly when turned on. It also seemed to blow only cold air no matter how high the thermostat was turned up

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grannietravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

You get your money's worth and then some. Breakfast at the restaurant was delicious and was included in my rate. Room service was also delicious, especially the local dishes. Rooms were spacious and included a mini kitchenette. Only complaints were internet speed, the hot water temperature going from luke warm to scalding hot quickly, and the car alarms that would go off at random near the hotel. Location is decent. Quick taxi drive to Jockey Plaza that has a number of restaurants and movie theater. I would stay here again - already stayed here twice.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BizTravlerJunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2010

I would stay at this hotel again, but wouldn't be my first choice in Lima. Road between it and embassy is quite busy. The room was huge with sleeping area, sitting area, desk and kitchen. Bathroom as well was large. Had to ask for a pan to heat water. Three computers for guest use in small room with street noise.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2009

It is located across from the American Embassy and is close to all of the good locations, such as Larcomar, Miraflores, the beaches and of course, the embassy. This hotel has an english speaking staff. The rooms are incredible! Whirlpools, cables awesome views from the rooms. The restaurant is great! Employee turnover is low, I see the same employees and they remember me (or the tips).

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astoltenberg
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2008

I stayed at the El Polo because it is close to where I wanted to stay and its not a hostal. It is located across from the US Embassy. There is a small shopping center around the hotel. In the middle, there is a general store where you can buy water, soda, snacks for your hotel room. There is also a McDonalds, Starbucks, and a few cafés. If you have a car, the hotel provides private parking underground.

The price when I called was much less than the quoted price on the website. The rate for my Junior Suite was 315 soles, about $110/night, compared to about 600 soles on the website. When I booked the room I just had to leave my name, number, and email...no credit card. I did have to call back a few days after to request they send me a confirmation email. Once I had the email I felt confident that they would keep their quoted rate, and they did.

The hotel room had a large, comfortable king bed. Clean sheets and blankets. It had a tv with cable, a desk, 110v & 220v outlets, and a kitchenette with microwave and a mini fridge. Like any hotel, be careful what you take from the fridge. I paid 7soles for a 1.5 liter bottle of water that cost 2 soles in the store nearby.

The bathroom was large and clean. Everything was very clean in the room and the staff does a nice job cleaning daily. The shower was the opposite of low pressure. It was almost too much. Plenty of hot water too.

The room also had a safe for your valuables. It allowed you to set your password when you got in on the numbered keypad. I felt very secure knowing that no one else had a key or knew the password.

I almost forgot the best part, the breakfast. It was a buffet with 4 kinds of freshly made juice, cereal, bread, fruit, pancakes, french toast, eggs, and sausage. The server came around to serve you hot coffee and to clear your plates.

Next to the restaurante there is a business center with 3 computers with printers. The computers ran a little slow, but were fine for checking email. Also, I couldn't get something to print so I wouldn't trust printing out boarding passes.

The hotel is not real close to areas like Miraflores, the central city, or the airport. But if you plan on traveling around seeing many parts of the city, it might be good for you. It seemed like it took about 15-20 min to reach most of the touristy areas of Lima. In fact, most cab rides were about 15-20 to and from most areas of Lima.

The hotel front desk staff spoke english. The rest I don't think did, but didn't need to talk to them very often. Overall this is a great hotel.

The front desk spoke english, but not much of the rest of the staff did.

  • Liked — the breakfast and cleanliness
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank astoltenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2006

I found the price to be fair, the location was great. The room was clean and concienetly located. I felt safe and would reccomend to all

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank guyisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Hotel La Molina
#167 of 227 in Lima
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Isidro
BTH Hotel
BTH Hotel
#23 of 227 in Lima
666 reviews
Hostal L'Baron
#159 of 227 in Lima
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Polo Apart Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Polo Apart Hotel & Suites

Property: El Polo Apart Hotel & Suites
Address: Av. La Encalada 1515 | Monterrico, Surco, Lima, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 227 Hotels in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Polo Apart Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your El Polo Apart Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Polo Apart Hotel Lima
El Polo Apart Hotel And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing