We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only a 3 Star Property with average rooms and limited outlets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sol de Oro Hotel & Suites
Ranked #36 of 228 Hotels in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Trabuco Cyn, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Only a 3 Star Property with average rooms and limited outlets”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

This is a difficult review for me. I had reservations at a 5 star hotel in Miraflorse, but because of some miss communications at that property, they had a taxi take me here at 3 am ( thanks to airline being late). When I did get to my room, unable to locate more than one outlet to plug in within the bedroom. There were outlets in bathroom but was not willing to take the risk of moister. Room was standard size equal to a holiday inn express. Bed rock hard. I. The morning, construction was happening. Elevators were being worked,on. When I went to use one, it would not stop on my floor. Had to take stairs one floor down. Location is ok for still in Miraflores but would not like to walk out late at night to the popular tourist areas. If I had my choice, I would not stay here but somewhere closer to Kennedy Park, Larco or Av J Pardo. Also most properties give you free of charge one bottle of water...not here...was charged $2.00 usd. I would recommend checking out other properties in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlpacaPeruviangoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOLDEOROHOTELSUITES, Gerente at Sol de Oro Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear AlpacaPeruviangoods,

We appreciate the time you have taken to share with all of us your comments about your stay in our Hotel. It´s important for us to have all your suggestions or comments inorder to continue improving as a team.

We deeply regret what happened and we want to express that we take note about each topic that you sent us and review with the areas involved to take corrective measures and to improve these points to continue offer absolute guarantee in all the services offered to our guests.

Please receive our cordial greetings, and we reiterate our thanks to your comments and our apologizes for the inconvenient..

Diego Castro
Manager
Sol de Oro Hotel & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    181
    46
    19
    11
See reviews for
61
132
22
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Although in a good location in the Miraflores section of Lima this hotel which advertises as 5* needs an update. Furniture and rugs in rooms were worn, leaky faucets and minimal room amenities. The elevators were often out of service and when running slow. WIFI was spotty and frustrating. Breakfast was plentiful and varied. I stayed here on a tour for 2 nights and was very disappointed as all other hotels in our itinerary really were 5*.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOLDEOROHOTELSUITES, Gerente at Sol de Oro Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear R M

Thank you for sharing your comments with us during your stay at the Hotel, we are checking the details you sent with the responsible areas in order to offer all our guests an efficient service to obtain the excellence that we look for.

We finish this week a new project with the internet access with a better signal and velocity to connect without inconvenient.

We would like to apologize if you did not feel as comfortable as you expected, we hope you could give us a new opportunity to demonstrate the level for which we are known.

Diego Castro
Manager
Sol de Oro Hotel & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

The guest rooms at this hotel are nothing special but the staff are very helpful. Held a meeting for 25 people in a salon on the 12th floor and the space was quite adequate. It was a little challenging getting to it because there are only 2 elevators in the hotel and one was broken - and they only hold 4 people each! They had trouble regulating the temperature in the room but everything is open air so we managed. If you need to host a meeting it is much more reasonable than the Marriott!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwsllc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOLDEOROHOTELSUITES, Gerente at Sol de Oro Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Mwsllc33

We appreciate the time you have taken to share with all of us your experience in our hotel, it is important for us to have all the suggestions and feedback of our guest in order to continue improving.

We would like to apologize for the inconvenient you had with one of our elevators, we reported immediately this problem to the company that provide us the maintenance.

Please receive our cordial greetings, and we reiterate our thanks to your comments.

Diego Castro
Manager
Sol de Oro Hotel & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Got in very late,2am,and were promptly taken care of by the staff.King suite was large and very nice with comfortable semi firm bed.Small but very nice 12th floor roooftop terrace with small but adequate pool and gym as well.Great views of Miraflores from roof.Complimentary breakfast was good.Wi-Fi was good in room or lobby but not on roof terrace, hope they could resolve that.Hotel can change $, $2.35 Soles for 1 USD$,2 blocks away is $2.80 for 1 $USD. I wasn't happy to pay close to $5 USD for a coffee at hotel's coffee lounge, i didn't have Soles at time,i paid and didn't complain. Hotel is 2 blocks from main avenues with cafes and shops. 15-20 min walk to famous Larcomar Mall on the cliffs above ocean.There are shops cafes and eateries there with nice views. Walking is safe and easy,no need for taxi unless you wish to travel a great distance.
Hotel staff were very helpful setting us up with our Miraflores,Baranco and Lima City Tour,well worth taking,$31 USD per person, 4hrs on bus with open top floor roof.You can pre-arrange a taxi to and from airport with Hotel,$30 USD each way. From airport taxis will charge $30 USD as well.
From Blanca the hotel manager to front desk staff,concierge and security, they were all proffessional in appearance and manner and spoke english as well.We would stay again if we return to Lima.
Thanks Sol de Oro
Bruce & Kika
Vancouver, Canada

Room Tip: We stayed on 6th flr facing main avenue in King Ste, was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOLDEOROHOTELSUITES, Gerente at Sol de Oro Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Bruce,

We appreciate the time you have taken to share with all of us your experience in our hotel. For us is important to have all the details and comments about your stay in order to continue improving as a team.

We are glad that you enjoyed our services in all the Hotel and at the same time we thank you for your constructive comments that we will consider. We will send your kind words to our staff.

Please receive our cordial greetings, and we reiterate our thanks to your comments.

Diego Castro
Manager
Sol de Oro Hotel & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Location is good but not in main BLV .
Room was ok but something was wrong with tub .
Breakfast wasn't good. Every thing else about this hotel was average . If it was 4* hotel for sure I would rate it 5 out of 5 but if you looking for a real 5* hotel , this hotel will disappointing you .

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nedammmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOLDEOROHOTELSUITES, Gerente at Sol de Oro Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Nedammmm,

We appreciate the time you have taken to share with us and all the travelers your experience in our hotel, for us is important to be aware of these details in order to continue improving as a team.

We would like to apologize if you did not feel as comfortable as you expected, we hope you could give us a new opportunity to demonstrate the level for which we are known.

Please receive our cordial greetings, and we reiterate our thanks to your comments.
Best Regards,

Diego Castro
Manager
Sol de Oro Hotel & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miramar, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

My wife and I celebrated my 40th birthday in Lima Peru and stayed in this hotel that was great. The staff was very helpful and indicated us all around. They provided great advice as to were to eat, shop, what tours and were to get them. They told us were to go for the best exchange rates around the area and the guided us to find the best night spots. The breakfast in the hotel (included in our price) was great. Ample hot food buffet with many native fruits and juices. The gym was good (small) and the location was great. I would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Make sure that your blackouts are completely blacking out. Ours were not. It is a earthquake area so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank torerique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOLDEOROHOTELSUITES, Gerente at Sol de Oro Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Torerique,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and the rest of the travelers during your stay at Sol de Oro Hotel & Suites, we are pleased that you enjoyed it; we will share your comments with our team in order to continue improving.

We appreciate your kind words and we hope you can come back soon to Lima to Sol de Oro Hotel & Suites.

Diego Castro
Manager
Sol de Oro Hotel & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salta, Argentina
Level Contributor
210 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

This hotel is one of the best deals in Lima, location is the best feature, in the heart of Miraflores district, walking distance to Larcomar mall, Parke Kennedy and downtown. The breakfast is included with the rate.Fresh fruits, local and american dishes are among the buffet carrousel. The service staff is very, very friendly and smiley all of the time. Rooms are large and well equipped. Wifi also is included with the rate and works quite fast.

Room Tip: Upper floor you get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank argiequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOLDEOROHOTELSUITES, Gerente at Sol de Oro Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Ms. Argiequeen

We would like to thank you for sharing with us your experience at Sol de Oro Hotel & Suites, as you mention we have an excellent location in Miraflores, just walking distance from different tourist attractions, and I’m proud of the all the team, as you mention always smiling with a great attitude.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you again in a near future.
Best Regards,

Diego Castro
Gerente
Sol de Oro Hotel & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Arawi Lima Miraflores Hotel
Miraflores
Crowne Plaza Lima
Crowne Plaza Lima
#25 of 228 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Miraflores
Dazzler Lima
Dazzler Lima
#14 of 228 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Estelar Miraflores Hotel
Miraflores
Courtyard Lima Miraflores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol de Oro Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol de Oro Hotel & Suites

Property: Sol de Oro Hotel & Suites
Address: Calle San Martin 305, Lima, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Lima
#27 Luxury Hotel in Lima
#32 Business Hotel in Lima
#34 Romantic Hotel in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol de Oro Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol de Oro is a five star hotel strategically located at the commercial and residential center of the touristic district of Miraflores, offering easy access to the airport and Lima's main financial center. We have 112 wide and elegant suites, provided with the best comfort and guarantee of absolute pleasant stay. Free Wireless Internet access at the hotel, LCD TV, IPOD connection radio, duvets and goose feather pillows, central air conditioning, living room, dining room and kitchenette, digital safe boxes with security system, magnetic keys, non-smoking rooms, handicap suite, extra bed and cradle if required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol de Oro Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol De Oro Hotel Apart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing