We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Building works, Noise, paint disaster!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sol de Oro Hotel & Suites
Ranked #32 of 230 Hotels in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Arrived at 9pm after a lovely but exhausting trip from Cuzco. Booked a Junior suite for us and standard for adult offspring. The room had a continuous loud buzz from machinery on the roof, offered a second room but standard and buzz less but not eradicated .Only top floors are renovated but smell of paint strong and workmen working during the day. Lower floors old, dusty and pretty awful. Had to leave at 3am because noise in final room still unbearable. Just to add to the misery rooms are so badly lit you cannot find anything after dark. Truly awful!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOLDEOROHOTELSUITES, Gerente at Sol de Oro Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Judith B

Thank you for send us your comments about your stay in our Hotel. We appreciate all your suggestions and we would like to apologize in you did not feel comfortable. It was not our intention to harm your stay on the contrary, we work every day to provide the best service and all our guests deserve.

We take note of each point that you sent and reported to the responsible areas to consider and analyze each suggestion.

Please receive our cordial greetings, and we reiterate our thanks to your comments.

Diego Castro
Manager
Sol de Oro Hotel & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

We travel a lot , saying a lot I mean like going to Europe once a month and have 2-3 big vacations for 3 weeks a year. BUT i will never forget this hotel.
That was the worst stay ever !!! we arrived at 9 am and asked for the early check-in, we said we were ready to pay but the receptionist didnt want to do anything, we asked if we can have breakfast, use spa and wait for the room is ready - nth was working. Ok, we stayed in a lobby and a manager came saying that they have a room but higher class and we need to pay + 50% for the early check in . we were ok with it. But when we went to our new expensive 'suit' appeared that there is constution next wall - it was very noisy ! I called to the reception they did nth - we had to leave room . After the returned we wanted to did spa. There was no one, when we were using sauna a lady appeared and said that we need to pay for sauna. Have you ever seen a paid sauna in 5* hotel? 30$ per 30 min? On the way back to our room we stucked in the elevator !!! The hotel is old, everything is broken, staff doesnt speak english !!! if you have any change - please do not ever stay in this hotel !!!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kanishcheva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOLDEOROHOTELSUITES, Gerente at Sol de Oro Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Kanishchev,

We appreciate the time you have taken to share with all of us your comments about your stay in our Hotel, we deeply regret what happened and that your are gone with a bad impression; it was not our intention of hurting your stay; for that reason we check every point that you wrote and reported to each responsible area in a meeting and we took the corrective measures.

We thank you once again your comments that serve and help us to learn and improve every day and continue offer the quality of service that our guests deserve.

We would like to apologize if you did not feel as comfortable as you expected, we hope you could give us a new opportunity to demonstrate the level for which we are known and compensate you for the ultimate experience.

Diego Castro
Manager
Sol de Oro Hotel & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel three nights with Discover tours. It was a nice hotel with a helpful staff! It is within an easy walk to the beach. There are many nice restaurants near by and also places to exchange money. The food was adequate. They are just a star or two short when it comes to being a top rated hotel. I would be OK with staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howbald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOLDEOROHOTELSUITES, Gerente at Sol de Oro Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Howbald,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us in our Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed the location, the food, the hotel in general and the service of our staff, we will share your comments with our team.

We appreciate your words and we hope you can come back soon to Lima to the Hotel.

Diego Castro
Manager
Sol de Oro Hotel & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This is a difficult review for me. I had reservations at a 5 star hotel in Miraflorse, but because of some miss communications at that property, they had a taxi take me here at 3 am ( thanks to airline being late). When I did get to my room, unable to locate more than one outlet to plug in within the bedroom. There were outlets in bathroom but was not willing to take the risk of moister. Room was standard size equal to a holiday inn express. Bed rock hard. I. The morning, construction was happening. Elevators were being worked,on. When I went to use one, it would not stop on my floor. Had to take stairs one floor down. Location is ok for still in Miraflores but would not like to walk out late at night to the popular tourist areas. If I had my choice, I would not stay here but somewhere closer to Kennedy Park, Larco or Av J Pardo. Also most properties give you free of charge one bottle of water...not here...was charged $2.00 usd. I would recommend checking out other properties in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlpacaPeruviangoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOLDEOROHOTELSUITES, Gerente at Sol de Oro Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear AlpacaPeruviangoods,

We appreciate the time you have taken to share with all of us your comments about your stay in our Hotel. It´s important for us to have all your suggestions or comments inorder to continue improving as a team.

We deeply regret what happened and we want to express that we take note about each topic that you sent us and review with the areas involved to take corrective measures and to improve these points to continue offer absolute guarantee in all the services offered to our guests.

Please receive our cordial greetings, and we reiterate our thanks to your comments and our apologizes for the inconvenient..

Diego Castro
Manager
Sol de Oro Hotel & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Although in a good location in the Miraflores section of Lima this hotel which advertises as 5* needs an update. Furniture and rugs in rooms were worn, leaky faucets and minimal room amenities. The elevators were often out of service and when running slow. WIFI was spotty and frustrating. Breakfast was plentiful and varied. I stayed here on a tour for 2 nights and was very disappointed as all other hotels in our itinerary really were 5*.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOLDEOROHOTELSUITES, Gerente at Sol de Oro Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear R M

Thank you for sharing your comments with us during your stay at the Hotel, we are checking the details you sent with the responsible areas in order to offer all our guests an efficient service to obtain the excellence that we look for.

We finish this week a new project with the internet access with a better signal and velocity to connect without inconvenient.

We would like to apologize if you did not feel as comfortable as you expected, we hope you could give us a new opportunity to demonstrate the level for which we are known.

Diego Castro
Manager
Sol de Oro Hotel & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The guest rooms at this hotel are nothing special but the staff are very helpful. Held a meeting for 25 people in a salon on the 12th floor and the space was quite adequate. It was a little challenging getting to it because there are only 2 elevators in the hotel and one was broken - and they only hold 4 people each! They had trouble regulating the temperature in the room but everything is open air so we managed. If you need to host a meeting it is much more reasonable than the Marriott!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwsllc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOLDEOROHOTELSUITES, Gerente at Sol de Oro Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Mwsllc33

We appreciate the time you have taken to share with all of us your experience in our hotel, it is important for us to have all the suggestions and feedback of our guest in order to continue improving.

We would like to apologize for the inconvenient you had with one of our elevators, we reported immediately this problem to the company that provide us the maintenance.

Please receive our cordial greetings, and we reiterate our thanks to your comments.

Diego Castro
Manager
Sol de Oro Hotel & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Got in very late,2am,and were promptly taken care of by the staff.King suite was large and very nice with comfortable semi firm bed.Small but very nice 12th floor roooftop terrace with small but adequate pool and gym as well.Great views of Miraflores from roof.Complimentary breakfast was good.Wi-Fi was good in room or lobby but not on roof terrace, hope they could resolve that.Hotel can change $, $2.35 Soles for 1 USD$,2 blocks away is $2.80 for 1 $USD. I wasn't happy to pay close to $5 USD for a coffee at hotel's coffee lounge, i didn't have Soles at time,i paid and didn't complain. Hotel is 2 blocks from main avenues with cafes and shops. 15-20 min walk to famous Larcomar Mall on the cliffs above ocean.There are shops cafes and eateries there with nice views. Walking is safe and easy,no need for taxi unless you wish to travel a great distance.
Hotel staff were very helpful setting us up with our Miraflores,Baranco and Lima City Tour,well worth taking,$31 USD per person, 4hrs on bus with open top floor roof.You can pre-arrange a taxi to and from airport with Hotel,$30 USD each way. From airport taxis will charge $30 USD as well.
From Blanca the hotel manager to front desk staff,concierge and security, they were all proffessional in appearance and manner and spoke english as well.We would stay again if we return to Lima.
Thanks Sol de Oro
Bruce & Kika
Vancouver, Canada

Room Tip: We stayed on 6th flr facing main avenue in King Ste, was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bruce I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOLDEOROHOTELSUITES, Gerente at Sol de Oro Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Bruce,

We appreciate the time you have taken to share with all of us your experience in our hotel. For us is important to have all the details and comments about your stay in order to continue improving as a team.

We are glad that you enjoyed our services in all the Hotel and at the same time we thank you for your constructive comments that we will consider. We will send your kind words to our staff.

Please receive our cordial greetings, and we reiterate our thanks to your comments.

Diego Castro
Manager
Sol de Oro Hotel & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Arawi Lima Miraflores Hotel
Miraflores
Estelar Miraflores Hotel
Miraflores
Tierra Viva Miraflores Larco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Crowne Plaza Lima
Crowne Plaza Lima
#34 of 230 in Lima
559 reviews
Miraflores
Faraona Grand Hotel
Faraona Grand Hotel
#26 of 230 in Lima
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol de Oro Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol de Oro Hotel & Suites

Address: Calle San Martin 305, Lima, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Lima
#25 Luxury Hotel in Lima
#32 Business Hotel in Lima
#34 Romantic Hotel in Lima
Price Range: £79 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol de Oro Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol de Oro is a five star hotel strategically located at the commercial and residential center of the touristic district of Miraflores, offering easy access to the airport and Lima's main financial center. We have 112 wide and elegant suites, provided with the best comfort and guarantee of absolute pleasant stay. Free Wireless Internet access at the hotel, LCD TV, IPOD connection radio, duvets and goose feather pillows, central air conditioning, living room, dining room and kitchenette, digital safe boxes with security system, magnetic keys, non-smoking rooms, handicap suite, extra bed and cradle if required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol de Oro Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol De Oro Hotel Apart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing