We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID THIS HOTEL!!”
Review of Hotel Esperanza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Esperanza
Ranked #201 of 234 Hotels in Lima
Reviewed 7 October 2013

If you do not want your stay in Lima to be ruined, definitely avoid this hotel!! They charge you a lot for minimum. Taxi the hotel arranged for us to pick us at the airport was for 60 soles instead of app 40 - 45 soles which is normal price (by IBIS). We arrived at night and there was a bar opposite with strange people outside. Definitely would not walk out from the hotel in the night. Receptionist - did not know a word in english .....
Next door is a reconstruction in place ......
Whole hotel is very musty.
Rooms -> were not cleaned, carpet was dirty with breadcrumbs on it.... Bead lines were not changed, I found a hairs there (have a picture of it ...). Do not expect any heating. Expect noise from the street as windows are old and one-layer only. And the toilet was not cleaned before our arrival .....
To sum it up, instead of 3 nights we stayed there only 1 and changed to IBIS in Miraflores. Definitely recommend this chain - it is new, walking distance to main streets and sea, staff speaks fluently english and prices for taxis are disclosed in elevators for all guests so no cheating on guests. Breakfasts are excellent - so many choices and even fruit was very tasty. Ibis saved our stay in Lima and turned it from horrible to a nice one.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

The location in close to all the action in Miraflores, yet was on a quiet, safe street. The room was nicely furnished, and clean. The staff was helpful, giving good directions to area sights, and arranging transport to the airport. An elevator made access to the room easy. The breakfast was quite good, served in a pleasant dinning room by a cheery staff. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: All rooms good !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This hotel was dark and musty. I was initially placed into a pretty tiny room with an internal window looking over a stairwell, I could hear the person on the floor above me brushing their teeth... :/ the safe was brocken, room freezing just a sheet and a thin blanket on top, no heating at all..and the room smelt of mould.. i was quickly shifted to another room, better than the initial, I had a window and the bathroom was of a better quality, though I still questioned the cleanliness.. and still it was freezing and no heating, hard to be comfortable when one is freezing. I was grateful it was only for one night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 11Tita_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

This is situated in a quiet road, not 5 minutes from the main square in Mira Flores. The rooms are basic but have all you need, comfy bed and hot shower. For a central location we found the price very reasonable. We arrived on an early bus and we were allowed to go straight to our room at 6am, which made it great value.

I'd certainly recommend it as a good value base in Lima

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Arrived to Lima at 2am, wanted a room just for the night, should have stayed in a backpacker hostel!! The room was dark and musty, and the bathroom was terribly arranged, almost impossible for me to sit on the toilet, or wash my back in the shower without hitting all four walls. Not sure if it was bed bugs, or mosquitos, but the next morning woke up to bites all over. When we arrived we asked for prices and were told 55 for the night by the receptionist Lili. The next day when we checked out, a different woman gave us our receipt which said 45 dollars. When we told her that Lili had charged us 55 she was very nice and offered to call her. After she talked she put Lili on the phone who was very disrespectful to me, and ultimatly hung up the phone. There are MUCH better places in Mirafllores you can stay for the same price, avoid this hotel unless you have no other options!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed in jan 2012 - location in miraflores is convenient but after that this hotel leaves little to be desired. There were old bars of soap in the bathroom leftover from previous occupants, smoking is permitted in the hallway/lobby where the computer is, the ceiling fan did not work In our room and the bathtub is in dire need of a serious scrubbing. I would not reccomend this hotel to anyone - I value cleanliness too much.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scrummy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I arrived at 3 am from a long flight. Couldn't see the construction outside but it woke me up at 7 am. Major construction (total new building). The breakfast was so so and the room quality pretty shabby. Lots of road noise too. It was impossible to actually sit on the toilet the bathroom was so small (you had to stradle the tank then plop down spread eagle). Max is awesome. Very nice staff.

Room Tip: go there after the construction is finished
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharonr806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Miraflores Inn
Miraflores Inn
#79 of 234 in Lima
226 reviews
Miraflores
Hotel Stefano's
Hotel Stefano's
#48 of 234 in Lima
566 reviews
Lima Wari Suites
#85 of 234 in Lima
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
El Farolito Hotel
El Farolito Hotel
#123 of 234 in Lima
31 reviews
Miraflores
Hotel Nirvana
Hotel Nirvana
#168 of 234 in Lima
67 reviews
Miraflores
Hotel Vila Santa
Hotel Vila Santa
#12 of 234 in Lima
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Esperanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esperanza

Address: Esperanza 350, Lima LIMA 18, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 234 Hotels in Lima
Price Range: £24 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Esperanza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Esperanza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperanza Hotel Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing