We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Girasoles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Girasoles Hotel
Ranked #23 of 236 Hotels in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I stayed at this hotel as part of an Intrepid group. The hotel is well located in Miraflores, walking distance to both the waterfront and the Indian market. We stayed at both the start and end of our trip. Both rooms were clean and well appointed. The beds were really comfortable and the towels very soft. They both had a flat screen TV with English language stations and free Wi-Fi. Most of the rooms overlook an inner lounge area and can be a bit noisy if people are talking, it echoes a lot. The rooms have an air conditioner/heater which works well. The staff are friendly and very helpful. I arranged an airport transfer with the hotel ($20) and the car was there to meet me even though my flight was 3 hours late. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJCat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (675)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

207 - 213 of 675 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2012

Stayed here at the beginning and end of an Intrepid group travel in Peru. The staff were very helpful and friendly, particularly Milagros on the front desk. The breakfast was quite good and possibly one of the better hotels that we stayed in for breakfast variety. It was about a ten minute walk to the centre of Miraflores.
The Metropolitan bus to the city centre is about a ten minute walk away and the hotel will help you with directions and a map of the area. The only real problem with this hotel and every other hotel I stayed at in Peru was noise. The hotel is built around a central atrium and the noise of groups of people moving in and out at all hours is excessive. If you are on the front of the hotel there is no double glazing and the trafiic noise as the drivers honk incessantly from 5:30am is disturbing. Bring your earplugs, you will need them to get a half decent nights sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet, very quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jemser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViajeroWLimaPeru, Propietario at Girasoles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. Sorry for the noise problems. We are working to improve the courtyard rooms, in which we will install special windows in a few weeks. The rooms facing the front already have double windows. Regards. LGV

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

First impressions were that it was an odd design and wasn't sure about the location but it is walking distance of Miraflores. What sets this hotel apart are the food and service. The beds were comfortable. It is a really friendly little hotel with a good atmosphere. Really impressed with the cafe which had vegetarian choices and it was very tasty.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathieO3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Our Intrepid tour began and ended with a stay at Girasoles and we found it friendly, very clean and very safe. Although not surrounded by restaurants and sites, a 10 minute walk to the nearby Kennedy Park area provided great choices. Public transit was available nearby and taxi service an inexpensive alternative to go anywhere you'd like. Breakfast was also available.
The hotel stored an extra bag for us while we toured for two weeks. Very helpful. We'd stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in both a street facing room and an inner facing room and noise was something we got used...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brenda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Stayed there at the start and end of our Intrepid tour of Peru. The rooms are very clean and the staff very helpful. It is about a 10 minute walk from the heart of Mirasoles area of Lima. There are a few stores and cafes nearby but we found a greater choice around Park Kennedy in Mirasoles. Overall, we found the hotel a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dilip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Stayed here, like many others, as part of an Intrepid group. The hotel was a full 8 blocks to Larco Avenue with no restaurants close by and in a residential area. We had stayed at the Mariel before the tour and I would recommend that hotel over the Girasoles. It's close enough to walk between hotels, so if you're adding on days before or after your Intrepid trip ... go to the Mariel.

This hotel was the noisiest we encountered mostly because of the interior courtyard that created an echo chamber that amplified everything.

Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room that does not have a window facing into the inner courtyard. You'll get no sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

This was our first stay in lima and the hotel was chosen for us by our tour operator 'Intrepid'
we had no idea what to expect but were very pleasantly suprised by the quality.We had 2 days at the start of our Peru tour and 1 day at the end- the quality of the hotel and the front of house staff was more than acceptable to us.Nothing was too much trouble-the restaurant was o.k. and the the rooms were clean and comfortable.
The hotel is in a safe area of lima perhaps 15 mins walk from the centre of Miraflores.
we always take a netbook computer and found the wi-fi signal was very good (much better than other hotels in Peru that we stayed in)
we would stay here again without a thought.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Tierra Viva Miraflores Larco
Miraflores
Hotel Vila Santa
Hotel Vila Santa
#11 of 236 in Lima
896 reviews
Miraflores
Faraona Grand Hotel
Faraona Grand Hotel
#30 of 236 in Lima
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Hotel Runcu Miraflores
Miraflores
Hotel San Antonio Abad
Hotel San Antonio Abad
#32 of 236 in Lima
973 reviews
Miraflores
Ibis Larco Miraflores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Girasoles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Girasoles Hotel

Address: Ernesto Diez Canseco 696 | Miraflores, Lima 15047, Peru (Formerly Los Girasoles Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Lima
#12 Best Value Hotel in Lima
#18 Business Hotel in Lima
#36 Romantic Hotel in Lima
Price Range: £45 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Girasoles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We'll help you enjoy a unique destination.Located in the touristic district of Miraflores,at a short distance of it's Central Park and mayor city attractions.Designed exclusively for touristic and business travelers, of a contemporary style with a Peruvian touch. Our 42 rooms, cafeteria and lounge will give you the confort you expect. You'll be suprised by the enthusiasm showed by all our staff in helping you enjoy Peru. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Girasoles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Girasoles Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing