We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This hotel should be updated throughout”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jose Antonio Executive
Ranked #95 of 228 Hotels in Lima
Welland, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“This hotel should be updated throughout”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

We were told this would be a 4 star hotel - this is not even close to that ranking. I believe that is reserved for the main hotel across the road: Hotel Jose Antonio. Everything in this hotel was old and obviously worn. It was not a great way to start our South American vacation. We could not wait to leave the next morning. The bathroom had a bidet (feminine toilet) but that was the only updated item in the entire room.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    68
    45
    12
    3
See reviews for
16
65
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Our experience at the Jose Antonio Executive‎ was bad. We stayed 3 non-consecutive nights. Unfortunately we did not follow the posts we read here at Tripadvisor prior to confirming the reservation by our agent. Indeed, as we read – this hotel is all but executive,,,,
Here are my comments:
The hotel is old, maintenance is run-down with a 'non-inviting' atmosphere.
We had a taxi reserved for 06:30, to catch our flight. Breakfast was supposed to be served from 06:00 (as we have confirmed and re-confirmed the night before). Finally, only at 06:20 breakfast buffet was partially ready.
As for the service, we were offered taxi service by the receptionist. The way it was done gave us a bad feeling of a scam.
We had a matter to settle in one of the other hotels, and we asked for help at the front desk. How great was our surprise to be served a non-neglectable debit note for calls made at the reception desk, which we were not notified in advance.
The city map provided at the reception is a poor-quality non-detailed map.
Even the 'welcome drink' served to guests upon arrival suggests a stingy approach. If you are a returning guest you do not deserve a drink at your next stays.
And last, but certainly not least, we had the opportunity to be assisted by many people in Peru, and the general feeling is that it is a 'tourist oriented country'. We were always pleased with the exception of this hotel, in which the lady at the reception is a sour face…
Bottom line, we do not recommend this hotel at all.

Room Tip: just don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dadepat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lima hotels

Tampa, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed at the Jose Antonio Executive for several days, which is located across the street from the main hotel, the Hotel Jose Antonio. We were on a group tour and upon our arrival went directly to the Executive Suites. Was very much surprised at the size of the rooms. King size bed in very large bedroom. The living room was rather interesting. The centerpiece of the room was the huge Jacuzzi. It was on one wall in a corner and, although it was odd to be in a living area, it was actually lovely. There was a desk in a nook that was perfect for using your iPad or writing. Outlets in both rooms were very accessible for charging whatever device you brought.

On the positive side, the staff was wonderful and extremely helpful. I had a WiFi signal that would come and go (mostly go) and a staff member came up to my room to help correct it. The food was mostly good (not great) for breakfast. I cannot speak to the hotel restaurant for lunch or dinner, as we never ate there, wanting to experience the local restaurants. As an aside, never go Bimbi's for a hamburger. Not good at all! We were in a rush and needed something fast for lunch. Big mistake! Hotel location was great.

A fairly long walk (but doable) takes you to a very large shopping center (Larcomar) that is on a cliff overlooking the ocean - gorgeous view! Larcomar probably is the most unique shopping mall in Lima or anywhere I've been. Around 160 shops and boutiques offer a wide variety of products for their high-end customers and tourists. From clothes, shoes and accessories to sportswear and jewelry and, of course, many Peruvian arts and handicrafts. Larcomar has, as well, a big cinema, a theater, a bowling center, a gallery, banks. There are several restaurants with a stunning view over the ocean. Don't miss out on the Café (can't remember the full name). They have great crepes! Info on Larcomar was obtained from the Lima Easy web site. Even if you don't want to shop or eat there, go, it's an amazing center with that incredible view.

Now for the but...a big negative was that we were there in Oct, which is their spring. The room was very chilly so I turned the thermostat up. It didn't do anything. Reason why - no heat. So, we stayed in a room that got progressively colder. One of the folks in our group actually slept in her coat. So, suggest that you go when the weather isn't so cold. The other negative was the bathroom had an open window (very small and high up) which helped contribute to the cold. I shut it as soon as I realized it was open but without heat, it really didn't matter. Plus, our room was located near the kitchen and even with the window closed, you could still hear the voices and banging around in the kitchen late at night and very early in the a.m. Suggest that you ask for a room nowhere near the kitchen.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the kitchen! Can't comment on the fitness center, as we didn't use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiMifromFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erpingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the start of a tour of Peru. Having been driven through Lima from the airport I was very glad to be staying in such a nice suburb as much of Lima did not appeal at all. It was only 5 minutes from the seafront and a nice, up-market shopping mall with some lovely restaurants. You can walk along the sea front for miles each way and it is very safe. Cafes are limited by the sea, so stop when you see one!
We did not use the restaurant except for breakfast as we wanted to explore but we did have a drink and bar snack in the bar and it was very lacking in charm and atmosphere.
Rooms were fine but there are no good views.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandD681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

This was the last hotel that we stayed at on our Peru vacation. Out of all the places we stayed at it is at the bottom of the list. The location is excellent in Miraflores after that I don’t have much good to say. There was no blind in our room to block out the city lights making it difficult to sleep. The room was in need of repair, lighting was not good, the carpet appears to be years old and needs replacement, the taps in the bathroom need to be replaced (when you turned the water on both hot or cold the pipes would rattle). The room also faced the street and was very noisy. I believe the window in our bathroom was above the kitchen as we had to close the bathroom door to stop the smells from coming into the room.

We did have our free welcome drink Pisco Sour and it was terrible I ended up pouring it down the sink. If given the choice I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akeembe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

The room was fairly standard, clean with good facilities. Our room was quite noisy, both from the road outside and from the hotel itself. Doors were slamming at 5.00am. The breakfast was good with a reasonable choice. The bathroom had a jacuzzi bath but this did not work! The staff were friendly and informative. The hotel was well located, being less than 10 minutes walk from the sea front and a new leisure complex with shops and a good choice of dining. Also a few minutes walk from the central park area which also had a wide choice of dining. Unfortunately there was no tea/coffee making facilities in the room and the only water available was in the mini bar and was chargeable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

stayed two nights (one at jose antonio, one at executive), one at start of Peru vacation, one at end. good location, good breakfast, but room and service a disappointement: looked promising with jacuzzi. I filled it up which took a long time, then it turns out it doesn't work.... shower was good, though, nice, hot and good pressure. after this disappointement I wanted a glass of wine and took out a small red bottle from minibar (should have been suspicious when red wine is kept in fridge). Take off the cap and it is - as often - with a cork. Would an executive room have a cork screw to open this? I think so....this one had not, so I had to run down to reception and get help to open. Finally I needed to charge my ipod and found an outlet almost behind the bed. So behind that I missed packing when we left in the morning. I sent a mail the same day, and after one WEEK I get an answer saying "if we find your ipod". I know I should have checked more carefully, but I am still very dissapointed at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Arawi Lima Miraflores Hotel
Miraflores
Jose Antonio Deluxe
Jose Antonio Deluxe
#92 of 228 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Agustin Exclusive
#74 of 228 in Lima
3.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Miraflores
Sol de Oro Hotel & Suites
Miraflores
Casa Andina Select Miraflores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jose Antonio Executive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jose Antonio Executive

Property: Jose Antonio Executive
Address: Colon 325, Miraflores, Lima, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Jose Antonio Executive 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Jose Antonio Executive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jose Antonio Executive Hotel Lima
Jose Antonio Executive Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing