We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This could be so good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Posada del Parque
Ranked #166 of 334 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“This could be so good”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We arrived late at night and were pleased to be met at the airport by a driver arranged by the hotel. On arrival at La Posada we were impressed with the quiet location, in a cul de sac, but near the centre of town and the house itself was quaint. The rooms were traditional, sleeping was difficult as my bed had a plastic under-sheet, which made it very hot during the night. Only one towel was provided. There were many signs telling guests what they were allowed, or not allowed to do; giving a less than welcoming feel to the place. Breakfast was very poor - it would have been better to rent the accommodation on a "room only" basis.
We could easily walk to the cathedral area and felt that with a very little effort the owners could make La Posada a really thriving business - it just needs a bit of thought and a better breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    25
    18
    19
    12
See reviews for
14
34
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We were very disappointed by this place during our stay in Lima.
First, an unfriendly welcome at our arrival ... and they asked us to pay the totality of our stay before even entering the room (it is the only time we had this situation in three weeks in Peru !).
The room had nothing special and the breakfast was bad and unconsistent : 2 toasts, a very small dosis of marmelade/butter, orange juice in powder ...
Moreover, the rules of this hotel (posted in the room) are incredible, just an example : if you check in before noon you will be charge 50% more during the low season and 100% during high season (one more night for just a few hours !). Fortunately, we were not in this hotel at our early arrival in Lima and had the chance to have our room at 7AM without additional charge in the Hotel Kamana.
Finally, during the check-out, the manager was (for the first and only time) nice with us ... and asked us to put a favorable review on the web ... so we did it !

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pedro_g67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lima hotels

Rhode Island
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Mylene O's review pretty much expresses it to a "T". First, you are met at the airport and way overcharged for a transfer in a vehicle that looks like it may not make it across town -- I'm confident the taxi driver wasn't the beneficiary of the amount the hostal charged for this service. Sad. Then you are forced to pay for your entire stay up front the moment you check in. Rules are posted in the room -- more rules than I've ever had at any place I've stayed. For example, "no refunds for any reason" -- nowhere else in the world is this rule posted IN the room. There was NO electrical outlet in the bathroom. There was one electrical outlet that worked part of the time in the bedroom and there was no mirror near the outlet, so blow drying hair was interesting. The room we had had no windows to the outside, but had windows above the door (which was held together by masking tape) to the interior hallway. There were no coverings on the high windows, and the light in the hall shined directly into the room, making nighttime seem like daytime. Breakfast was pathetic. Coffee was instant, and free, BUT if you wanted a second cup you would need to pony up a dollar. Breakfast starts at 8 a.m. sharp, and don't even think of asking for your allotted cup of instant coffee before 8 a.m. We reserved a matrimonial room. Upon arrival, we were told there were two beds in our assigned room and if we used the second bed, we would be charged the fee of a room with two beds in it instead of just one. Want to check out late? Be ready to pay, cause they won't extend the courtesy, this is also written on the "rules" posted in the room. What's good about it? It's pretty from the outside and it is in a good location.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RogerW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VALLENTUNA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

I had a nice room in a colonial style. The breakfast was only glass of juice and toast with jam. That is not a continental breakfast. It was difficult to find places in the area where it was food
for a vegetarian.
You need a bus or a taxi in order to go to the city.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bontrask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2012

It is only classed as a 2 star, but it is a lovely location, good atmosphere and helpful staff.
The breakfast is a bit plain, but it is in all of Peru. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixiepos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012 via mobile

This hostel is beautiful, in the perfect location. At the end of a cul de sack called Parque Hernan Verardes which is a park with trees down the centre with big houses all around. It was recommended by South American Explorers Club. because it gives the the idea of what it is like to live in a big old house in the centre of Lima. The house itself is in very good condition and it looks magnificent. it was obviously once a loved home and the public areas are full of art and interesting artefacts, It could have been a lovely experience staying here but the management are incredibly stingy and mean spirited. I was asked to pay upfront for my three day stay, as soon as I arrived. No other hostel in Peru or elsewhere asked for this. it was unnecessary, distrustful and unwelcoming.

My room was downstairs next to the front door.with a view of the park. It could have been a lovely room . All it needed to feel welcoming was new sheets and bed cover and if they could bring themselves to push the boat out, new curtains. The sheets were clean but of a greeny grey that makes them look filthy. The bed cover was the same, good quality once, but so old and of such a miserable shade of maroon that it looked filthy too. I was provided with one towel barely bigger than a hand towel. it all looked like they just didn't care.
The decoration in the room consisted of three framed typed officious documents, setting out rules and regulations. Nowhere else felt it necessary to do this.
so a very lovely hostel has spoiled itself for the want of a little trust and generosity.


breakfast wasn't worth the effort of getting out of bed - a cup of hot water and and instant powder coffee sachet and one and a half bread rolls. Half a bread roll?? How stingy can you get! The jam came in minuscule little containers, butter ditto. I waited 15 minutes to be even given this, even though I was the only person in the breakfast room Not nice, Not friendly.
It's in a good location and it's fine for a night but not a pleasure.



Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank mylene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We have stayed in this lovely place 4 times and will return. We found it very safe, clean, friendly and close to all transportation. We can say it is the place to stay.

Room Tip: We love the room off of the patio but there are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Cercado de Lima
Gran Hotel Bolivar
Gran Hotel Bolivar
#65 of 228 in Lima
3.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
El Estadio Hotel
#100 of 308 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Hostal Brasil
#195 of 334 in Lima
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cercado de Lima
1900 Backpacker's Hostel
Miraflores
House Inn Backpacker
House Inn Backpacker
#161 of 334 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Parque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Parque

Property: La Posada del Parque
Address: Hernan Velarde 60 | Between block 1 and 2 of Petit Thaurs Ave, Lima, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Cercado de Lima
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 334 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — La Posada del Parque 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your La Posada del Parque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Del Parque Hotel Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing