We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small Hidden English Mansion in the Middle of Lima” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Clifford Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Clifford Hotel
Ranked #170 of 226 Hotels in Lima
New York, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Small Hidden English Mansion in the Middle of Lima”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

We stayed at The Clifford Hotel in Lima during our last stretch of our trip. When we saw our pickup come in the form of a kombi, we knew we were in for a treat. The English style mansion turned hotel is located inside a cul-de-sac in the downtown Lima....with rooms the size of 2-3 regular hotels combined together. Ask for Room 1 on the first floor, it's the one that's shown on their website.

Like other reviewers, we found the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly. They would send staff out to the main street to hail cabs for us, call restaurants to make reservations and simply look information up for us.

Definitely stay here if you're looking for something low-key and comfortable....definitely don't stay here if you're looking to have a night on the town- because cab rides to Miraflores are at least 20-30 minutes!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank causeway00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    28
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
8
21
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2009

We loved this place. From the little Kombi van the owner picked us up in at the airport, to the personal, caring service, and the simple, authentic food. It is located centrally near the Grand Park, between and the beach suburbs, so the trip to either one is shorter. The kitschy English manor decor made us smile, as did the great value rates. But what we loved most was that we felt like the staff cared about us and amde sure our stay was enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattyR33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

We arrange free pick up at Lima airport and they were not there. We called them and they told us to take a taxi and that they would pay our trip back to the airport, and they did.

Rooms are clean, very spacious and nice. Hotel has a colonial apareance and it is really nice.

It is a little bit far from the city center, about 25 minutes and walking is not nice at some parts but it is not dangerous at all.

Free wifi connection and you have also new and fast computers available for free.
Breakfast is fine but they don´t have a lot of choices for dinner and restaurant closes at 9 pm what it´s an inconvenient if you arrive late. Don´t try to order a pizza, it is impossible because they don´t deliver to this area and the hotel charge you a lot for your local calls.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inspiracio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2008

My family and I choose to stay in the Clifford when we are in Lima due to the quiet location and comfortable feel of this little hotel. It's located on a charming street out of ear-shot of Lima traffic. It's within walking distance to the City Center, but not as close as a lot of the larger hotels. It's very clean and the rooms are large. You have to keep it in mind that this is a small hotel with a small staff. There are about 3 employees on duty at any given time. If you want to be picked up or dropped off at the airport, then you need to make arrangements in advance or call a taxi. And yes, you can expect to pay extra for extra service - that's how the world works.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RRenard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2008

A friend of mine and me booked our stay at the Clifford Hotel via a travel agency in Mérida where we lived at the time. This was a mistake as we soon found out because they wanted us to pay twice the price we would have had to pay if we had booked the room right on the Hotel's webpage. Also, the transport from the airport to the hotel was not included in this price which led to some problems later on.
As we thought the transport was included in the price, we asked the hotel on the morning of our flight from Cusco to Lima to pick us up at the airport at the time of our arrival. Because they weren't in sight when we got to Lima, we called and were told that someone was on his way to get us. Approximately 90 minutes and two phone calls later we were picked up and told we would have to pay for all of this. Let's just say we weren't very happy.

The hotel itself is great, it's very comfortable and clean, the breakfast is awesome and it doesn't take all that long to walk from the hotel to Lima's historic center.

Just the staff wasn't at all friendly. When talking to them in Spanish and explaining why we were so upset about the whole picking-up, they just looked at us as if we were speaking Chinese. So we tried in English and when we asked if they understood now why we were upset they told us that they didn't understand any English. Communicating with them was very frustrating.

I guess, if we hadn't had the trouble with the transport, it would have been quite a nice stay because, as I already said, the hotel itself is really nice. And when booked via the hotel's own webpage, it's also not that expensive.

  • Liked — the huge, comfortable beds; nice bathroom
  • Disliked — staff and service
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2008

The Clifford Hotel is a converted mansion in downtown Lima close to the PARQUE DE LA EXPOSICION on a very quiet street. We originally had 2 nights booked here, but added a night because we enjoyed it so much. The hotel is beautiful and all the staff are very helpful. They serve a breakfast of fruit, eggs, bacon, rolls, toast, coffee/tea, juice. The website is very good and represents the hotel well. The people in our group were coming and going to the airport at different times. The hotel was great in picking us up and taking us there no matter the time of day.

  • Liked — beautiful building and helpful staff
  • Disliked — restaurants were not close
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank trav4hob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Gran Mundo Hotel
#139 of 226 in Lima
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Cercado de Lima
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#195 of 226 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Hotel Paris Lima
#101 of 226 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Peru Pacifico
#133 of 226 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Cercado de Lima
La Posada del Parque
La Posada del Parque
#199 of 321 in Lima
3.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
El Estadio Hotel
#104 of 302 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifford Hotel

Property: The Clifford Hotel
Address: Hernan Velarde 27 | Santa Beatriz, Lima 01, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Cercado de Lima
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 226 Hotels in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clifford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A three star hotel, installed in a beautiful residence built in 1930 with 20 comfortable rooms: singles, doubles, triples and executive suites with Jacuzzi. Rates include American breakfast and taxes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your The Clifford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifford Hotel Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing