We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE!! Untrustworthy hotel.”
Review of Hotel Monte Real

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Monte Real
Ranked #199 of 234 Hotels in Lima
Reviewed 15 August 2009

We stayed at this hotel through our travel agent-Explore. We were stolen from. The safety box was locked so the over helpful bell boy unlocked it. When we were out in the day we were stolen from that safety box. Manager denied it so did all other staff but police said they thought they knew who did it but wouldn't sign the police report because they couldn't prove it! Nightmare and $700 dollars down and made to feel folish by the poice. Avoid hotel like the plague! Rest of Peru great though.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Viva81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 104 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2009

Staff were very unaccommodating. Basically we got put there with only a couple of days notice when the pre-booked hotel cancelled because of some meeting of Pacific Rim leaders. So you would have thought the Monte Real would have taken advantage of the opportunity to demonstrate to the tour company that it was the place to stay. Unfortunately for them they were not able to deliver a good memory product. There is a restaurant connected to the hotel but prices were extravagant.
Out Tour was leaving at the ungodly hour of 4 AM and the hotel could not make arrangements for a breakfast for a group of 15 people. Instead they handed out stale sandwiches. But they made sure they had staff on hand to collect for phone calls and such.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peruvian_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2009

I am a seasoned traveler and this hotel is one of the worst I have ever stayed at and I have stayed at hotels for less than $5.00 dollars a night. VERY noisy, the rooms are filthy, there were food reminants all over the bed spread, I pulled the covers back to expose hairs and fluids on the sheets, I could not get the hotel staff top respond to teh possibility of changing rooms so needless to say I ran.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannykostrikin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2008

I stayed here with a family member for three nights. We found it to be clean, well located and budget friendly. While we had a couple of small problems with our rooms, they were quickly taken care of. The staff was always helpful, especially the porters. We really enjoyed the bar for the happy hour each evening where we would meet up with others travelling in our group. The waiter, Jorge, was lots of fun. We had snacks and a meal in the restaurant and were very impressed with the quality of the meal as well as the atmosphere out in the garden with the flowers all around and the moon shining down on us. At breakfast the coffee was excellent and the food okay. No one in our group thought it was a poor quality hotel and we were all quite satisfied.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elladay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2008

We stayed at this hotel for only one night. The staff at the check-in counter was impolite. The lobby was dark and shabby. Rooms were reasonably spacious and well lit. However, there were several things that we found unacceptable: 1) no hot water in the shower, 2) broken window lock, 3) no way to open or close the safety box in room despite several attempts by their own staff and 4) slow service at the hotel restaurant (it took us 2 full hours for a simple lunch!). Cleanliness is acceptable except the towels were too dirty to be used. The hotel was in Miraflores which was supposed to be a good area in Lima. However we did not feel safe around the neighborhood because we saw many homeless around. In our opinion, this hotel is a bit over-priced.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank small_legs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2008

We had 3 nights in this hotel and luckily we were upgraded once we complained. We were advised by our tour company that we would be staying in 3 ~ 4 star accommodation. On arrival at this hotel our family of 3 was placed into a tiny double room with an extra bed rolled in. We were not able to fit our bags in!!!!! We were on a 4 week tour with this company so were mighty peeved! We were eventually upgraded to a larger room. The breakfast though was something to behold. There was very liitle on offer and, whenever we went to breakfast, all of the food had run out and was only replaced ith repeated requests to the staff. The location of the hotel was ok but not great but at least taxis were cheap so this was not a huge issue. I would never advise anyone to stay here though.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Aussieholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2008

The Monte Real Hotel was an adequate hotel for an overnight stay in Lima but nothing to write home about. The lobby area is small, dark, a bit outdated with old marbled flooring. The rooms were clean and did have a fridge. The breakfast buffet was rather disappointing as they seemed to only scramble 3 eggs at a time and there was a constant shortage of food with only a few people dining at a time. Also, the fresh juice ran out quickly and when they replaced it, there were no clean glasses. The best part was the location..just a couple of blocks to the beach, less than 10 blocks to the local market and banks, and great drive-in food-to-order restaurant called Super Rueda practically next door for the midnight hunger pangs. (Also close to good grill restaurant by the beach.) We enjoyed the walks and the close vicinities to the good food.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sscheung77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Girasoles Hotel
Girasoles Hotel
#24 of 234 in Lima
659 reviews
Miraflores
Carmel Hotel
Carmel Hotel
#84 of 234 in Lima
163 reviews
Miraflores
Hotel Soul Mate Inn
Hotel Soul Mate Inn
#120 of 234 in Lima
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Hotel La Castellana
Hotel La Castellana
#101 of 234 in Lima
351 reviews
Miraflores
Hotel Ferre Miraflores
Hotel Ferre Miraflores
#91 of 234 in Lima
189 reviews
Miraflores
Hotel Ferre De Ville
Hotel Ferre De Ville
#129 of 234 in Lima
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Real

Address: De Noviembre 169/189 27 | Miraflores, Lima, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Lima
Price Range: £39 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Real 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monte Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing