We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting us off to the right start...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barranco's Backpackers Inn
Ranked #48 of 379 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We made Barranco's BackPacker's Inn our starting and ending place for our 12 day visit to Peru. It was a wise thing to do. The staff there was very helpful, the accommodations were clean and comfortable while the location was very convenient. Help with where to go to eat and getting rides to and from the airport were handled by the staff so we didn't have to worry.

The neighborhood is terrific; still has the old charm, not too gentrified, so you get the real flavor for that part of Lima. Barranco's BP is located just right, one quick block down from the plaza.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jelfrank57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2011

After spending a terrible night at the One Hostel, we got out and came to Barranco Backpackers. What a difference! The owner Chris is very friendly and has information about anything you want to know. The place is like a large house and we tried both a dorm room (due to unavailability of private) and a private room. The rooms upstairs have a great view of the sea. The place is decorated well and feels friendly. Highly recommended!

Shelley
http://shelleytravel.wordpress.com/

Room Tip: Upstairs to get the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eat1Drink2Travel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

We stayed here for a few nights before starting a trip from Lima and were so glad we did. Firstly Barranco is one of the nicests parts of Lima and has Miraflores the next area along the coast too which is also really nice.
As for the Hostel is was friendly, clean and had a nice atmosphere. Chris was so helpful giving details of places to eat, sea and how to get around. It is a was outside central Lima but only a v cheap and easy bus ride to the centre and as mentioned before - Barranco was my favourite part of Lima

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andyc013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

Great location in the more bohemian and chilled part of Lima. 2 min from the beach.
The local staff and the british owner are fantastic and really helpsome.
Best choice in Barranco !!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonmathis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Great location in barranco & barranco itself is miles better than miraflores or Lima-it's pretty chilled here in comparison with local market selling fantastic freshly cooked food all weekend, packed with locals playing different music -drums,band,panpipes etc. Colectivo bus to Lima or miraflores cost 1sole and the journey on this type of bus must not be missed !! Hotel barranco is clean & basic, breakfast consists of a banana & two brown bread rolls with jam, free Internet &wifi available, staff friendly &helpful & wil organise taxi from airport etc. Would recommend this place as great base to retreat to when exploring Lima, miraflores & barranco.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annab1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Nice rooms, clean with comfy beds and cable tv in our private room. Excellent location and extremely helpful staff offered lot of good advice on things to do, general tips, and planning the rest of our trip.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leith-dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

First taste of hostels in Peru, and it was a good one. The rooms are cleaned everyday, your bed made (which is a nice touch!) and the bathroom cleaned. You're provided with a towel, a bar of soap and a loo roll. The dorms have big lockers which are useful, although i have to say I didnt feel uncomfortable leaving my belongings out and only put a few things in the locker. The staff were very accomodating when my friends didnt show up on the day that i expected them to, breakfast was decent and Chris the owner was helpful for information and advice about the area. My only caveat is that the bathroom door in the dorm i was in is made of frosted glass which you can see through when the light is on, just something i noticed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smart_0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Barranco
Beraja Family Hostel
Beraja Family Hostel
#11 of 379 in Lima
46 reviews
Barranco
D'Osma Bed & Breakfast
Barranco
Casa Nuestra Peru B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barranco
The Point Hostels - Lima
Miraflores
KACLLA, The Healing Dog Hostel
Inka Frog Exclusive
#13 of 379 in Lima
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barranco's Backpackers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barranco's Backpackers Inn

Address: Mariscal Castilla 260 | aka Malecon Castilla 260, Lima 13, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Barranco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 379 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Price Range: £8 - £16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Barranco`s Backpackers Hotel Lima
Barrancos Backpackers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing