We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly/Familiar Atmo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barranco's Backpackers Inn
Ranked #49 of 372 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Reviewed 2 February 2012

In the best part of Lima / the bohemian artist neighborhood / you find this friendly relaxed little hostel owned by Chris; who´s lived in Lima for 10 years and knows all the inns and outs of not only the capital but the whole of Perú. The rest of the staff are also beautyful, very helpful and nice people. It´s quite economic to stay here (10/11/35$ dm/double) and you can cook at home;) I higly recomend it;D Thank you Chris and Family.

Emil Tsakalis

Room Tip: The upstairs dorm has a bit more air flowing through it if you like that. Downstairs dorm is just as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmilTsakalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2012

Needed a place for me and my gf for 12 hours after Cusco trip prior to a very early morning flight next day. Wanted simple, clean, walking distance to all the fun in Barranco AND at a reasonable cost. BBackpackers delivered on all counts.

Even though my flight was delayed over an hour, the driver Chris sent was still there waiting. Solid service!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Unlike most people this is where I landed before returning home after a great time in Peru. It was a great place, clean, hot water, and really relaxed. The staff were amazing, helpful and very kind. It was affordable ($10-$11/night for a dorm) and Barranco was a beautiful area with lots of excellent restaurants, grocery store and bank machine if needed. The hostel also has a kitchen for use, internet and a patio area to sit and relax with other travelers. Everyone that met there was great.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoundRefuge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Really good value, hospitable environment, informative staff and clean. Fun place to stay. We were able to take a pretty good walk to Miraflores. Not necessarily a real short walk but not bad at all. Good place for young travelers. Barranco is a good place to be based out of and explore Lima without paying the ridiculous prices in Miraflores. This stay was back in 2008.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bo-DeanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

The service was the best about this hostel, Chris answered all my emails promptly and in English and they organized safe taxis for us. All the staff was very nice and helpful. There is hot water and the rooms are clean and there is a very good supermarket close-by.

Although the hostel is not right in the center of the action, I found the street was reasonably noisy (it wasn't possible to close the windows) and because I'm a light sleeper, I didn't enjoy this too much.

We didn't like the area Barranco very much, and although we haven't been to Miraflores, I think it would have been a better choice. We normally like to spend our holidays with locals rather than other tourists, but Lima didn't seen a very safe or nice place to be and maybe touristy Miraflores would have appeared safer. First thing we got told, was not to go to the beach as it is unsafe. So we spend most of the time in the room.

The hostel itself felt safe and my review is strongly influenced by the fact, that I didn't like Lima in general and recommend to spend as little time as possible there and more in the Sacred Valley/Machu Picchu area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

this was our first stop for our trip of South America. we din't know what to expect. we were welcomed warmly. the bar tender / guide gave us info about lima and took us on a guided walkin tour at no cost. the owner Chris, made us feel at home and gave us and assisted us alot for our trip. we also got assistance for booking buses from the hotel staff. clean. spacious. great value for money

Room Tip: the ensuite room is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank S0nki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Good value hostel, comfortable beds and ensuite not vey modern, but was clean. Breakfast was quite good, owner was very welcoming and offered information. Pillows could have done with being replaced. Overall good and would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunny147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Barranco
Beraja Family Hostel
Beraja Family Hostel
#11 of 372 in Lima
45 reviews
Barranco
The Point Hostels - Lima
Dragonfly Hostels
#5 of 372 in Lima
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inka Frog Exclusive
#16 of 372 in Lima
404 reviews
Miraflores
Ibis Larco Miraflores
Miraflores
Hotel Vila Santa
Hotel Vila Santa
#12 of 234 in Lima
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barranco's Backpackers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barranco's Backpackers Inn

Address: Mariscal Castilla 260 | aka Malecon Castilla 260, Lima 13, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Barranco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 372 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Price Range: £7 - £16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Barranco`s Backpackers Hotel Lima
Barrancos Backpackers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing