We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value - would return again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
Ranked #33 of 305 Lima B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Value - would return again”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I have stayed at a number of places in Lima across the price spectrum, depending on whether i was traveling for business or pleasure. I was going to arrive in Lima after a very long international flight. I wanted to keep the cost down, not be in Tourist central, still get a good night sleep and be ready for action. I had stayed in the San Isidro area, and knew the local shops. Based on Tripadvisor and Lonely planet i went for Casa Bella San Isidro, although some of the comments on Tripadvisor were a bit troubling.

It turned out as good as i had hoped. The location is quiet (for Lima), and since Lima is an expensive place, the price is OK.Hotels in Lima can get booked days in advance out for seemingly no reason. The beds are firm but comfortable, and rooms spic and span and nicely decorated. Floots are functional tiled floors. Bathrooms are a bit dated but OK functionally.

There is no signage saying "Casa Bella" on the front - i guess there must be a business reason for that. There is a press button on the gate and the 24 hour reception will let you in if you sound legit.

You feel safe walking around the street even at night. The taxis and touts hassle you much less in San Isidro than elsewhere in Lima. The reception staff are indeed most helpful, and speak better English than i had anticipated. The breakfast staff don't speak any, but that is also to be expected in this price range. The reception people are right there, and will help you out if you get stuck. Their breakfast is cereal, eggs, bread, jam, juice and instant coffee, also quite good for Peruvian standards, It is served in a very nice dining room, one big long table which is not a problem in a B&B. If you want the perfect english speaking experience then you had better stay at the Marriott or Delfines and pay over $200 per night. It does have a homely feel, like a B&B.

You pay a small premium for the Airport pickup service, but i booked it for safety and convenience and it went without a hitch. Like most hotels in Peru, you have to wait a while for the hot water, but i always had it eventually.

Shops, supermarket banks and a variety of chain restaurants are a few blocks away, as is Starbucks. Its actually more convenient that what you will get in Miraflores, with less traffic and noise. In Peru yoiu will have so much instant coffee of nondescript flavour that sooner or later you are going to be searching for something made from ground beans that have a name and an origin. Starbucks is close by, opposite the Delfines, which you can see from the front yard.

A Micro (bus) on Javier Prado will get you to Miraflores or downtown, or to the bus stations in no time for s/. 1.50, or even the airport, if you know a few words in spanish. None of the Micro's have "aeropuerto" on their destination boards, which seems weird given that it is such a popular destination, but the spruikers on the micro-bus will usually yell it out ( or just ask them). They will also tell you when to get off, because it's not so obvious.

The 6% credit card surcharge sting is difficult for us foreigners to understand. It can certainly tarnish an otherwise comfortable stay if you are not prepared for it. So best just to factor this in to your cost comparisons. They are not the only hotel that does this, but if you are staying in cheaper placers you most likely won't have a credit card option in any case. You can lower this cost by paying in cash, but then don't forget to factor in the 13.5 soles the ATM is going to charge you for a cash withdrawal, and the $5 that your bank is going to charge you for a foreign ATM fee, and that you might have a 400 sole limit on the ATM. Best advice here is to estimate how much cash you are going to need for your stay and make a large withdrawal at one of the banks two streets away on the other side of Javier Prado. The hotel will take paper USD, and the exchange rate is posted and not a secret, or they can email it, so you can work out the best way to pay beforehand, depending on what country you are coming from.

There is a back garden common area and other spaces that do offer a change of scenery from the streets and halls that are the most common in Lima. It does add to the comfort.

From my perspective, for an expensive city, Casa Bella San Isirdo offers a comfortable stay, excellent service, and good value for money. I will stay here again, if i travel on business or pleasure.

Room Tip: The front room (3 beds) get the incidental noise from the common reception area, but still quiet fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    93
    27
    11
    7
See reviews for
61
117
62
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
283 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

the main reason I return to Casa Bella every time I visit Lima is because the staff is fantastic, especially Jorge who is Casa Bella's best asset!! In fact I will go as far as saying that Casa Bella would not be Casa Bella without him, because Jorge puts his heart and soul into everything and ensures that everyone has a great time while in Lima. He is most knowledgeable about all the sights in Lima and if you are lucky and he is free, he might even take you around to show you his city. The house itself is clean, and the beds are comfortable but the rooms are hit and miss, we've had some nice rooms and one that was not so nice because the bathroom needed some major TLC. THe location is great in San Isidro within walking distance to supermarkets, starbucks and some places to eat. Will go back any time and Luis, the driver for Casa Bella is one of the nicest people and safest drivers, we love love love him.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalCitizenM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Comfortable bedroom with clean, spacious bathroom. Unfortunately I was given a room on the ground floor so heard every word from reception and the kitchen/ dining area whenever I was in my room as the walls are not solid.
Good buffet breakfast but guests have to share two big tables. This might work well in a hostel where backpackers want to meet other travellers but in a hotel where guests are either business people or couples, smaller tables would be more comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs, away from the reception and kitchen areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
170 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I stayed here back in 2009, and again this past year, and it was just as amazing as I remembered it!
The first time we stayed in a triple room on the ground floor with a private bathroom, and this time I stayed in a single room with a private bathroom on the 3rd floor. Both were amazing.

My room this time was impeccably clean, quiet, and roomy! I had a big bed, a nice tv, and a huge closet for my luggage! The bathroom had a nice shower, good water pressure, hot water. Little toiletries and clean towels.

There are computers with internet access in a couple of places throughout the place, which is nice.

There are comfy common areas, with lots of books to read if you want, or just to relax.

The grounds are safe, with locked gates all the way around, and buzzer/intercoms to get in.

There is a nice backyard area with a covered outdoor seating/eating area if you want.

The included breakfast is delicious, cereals, yogurts, breads, jams, teas, coffee, juices, and you can ask for eggs any style etc. They are very accomodating.

The area is also fantastic, safe. I walked down to some local food places, there are a few nice grocery stores within walking distance if you feel like eating low key, or making yourself something in the kitchen on the top floor of Casa Bella. I also walked around and made myself a manicure/pedicure appointment and treated myself to nice end of trip spa treatment. I went for a walk just to explore in the evening and felt completely safe in this area.

Also, they can arrange tours for you and transportation back and forth to the airport. Both times I went I had Luis pick me up/take me to the airport and I also had Luis take me on a few different tours. He is fantastic.

I love this place so much, it feels like a home away from home. I am actually going back this March for a 3rd stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennFromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We liked staying at Casa Bella. The design was well cured, the staff was very, very friendly. Breakfast was very good and abundant. The rooms were spacious and well decorated. However, electricity went out in the morning and the staff did not do anything to fix it for hours. Same for hot water. The first person taking a shower got it, and then we run out of hot water. The staff did not what to do about it and we took cold shower.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emoretti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
389 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My wife and I stayed there in April 2011 for a few days and I stayed there on my own also at the end of April.

The rooms are very nice in general. The ones down stairs are definitely not as nice as the ones upstairs. The breakfast is excellent with a good variety of food, fruits and juices which are almost all fresh. The staff are extremely friendly and I liked the home type athmosphere. There is an outside garden where one can have breakfast and it is nice.

We found that the prices were a little bit high considering that it is Lima even if it is in San Isidro. The area does not have anything close by so it is not a very central location. It is safe to walk around both by day and night.

The collection service to and from the airport are excellent and overall I liked staying there. My wife would have preferred to have stayed in a more central location.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rahenyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normal, IL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We arrived at the airport very late and there was a driver waiting for us and took us to the hotel. The check in was quick and easy. The layout of the building is a little bit confusing but is interesting and the room was quiet and not facing the street. There are a few places to eat and shop close by, but beyond that you will need to get a taxi. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very nice and although it was small, there was plenty and it was a nice place to see other travelers in the morning. The room itself was plain but there were no problems, there were plenty of blankets. I really have no complaints about the hotel, the price was right and its not exactly near anything special, but it does seem safer and quieter than other places.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevencbyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
San Isidro
Basadre Suites Boutique Hotel
San Isidro
Melia Lima
Melia Lima
#30 of 224 in Lima
1,043 reviews
San Isidro
El Golf Hotel Boutique
El Golf Hotel Boutique
#42 of 224 in Lima
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Isidro
Suites Orrantia
Suites Orrantia
#113 of 224 in Lima
23 reviews
Miraflores
La Paz Apart Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Bella Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bella Boutique Hotel

Property: Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
Address: Las Flores 459 | San Isidro, Lima L27, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > San Isidro
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Bella Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from the prestigious Country Club Hotel and the Lima Golf Club in San Isidro. We are about only fifteen to twenty minutes from the airport and our fourteen-room old Lima style mansion provides a friendly and home-like atmosphere, giving you a vivid feeling of close encounters with the local people and our traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Bella Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Bella Bed And Breakfast Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing