We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If Not For The Staff, Maybe Only Average”

Tampu Restaurant at Sanctuary Lodge
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Machu Picchu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$60
Cuisines: Peruvian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Enjoy the wonderful views of the majestic surroundings of Machu Picchu while you savour one of the many delightful dishes from our International or Peruvian à la carte cuisine in a stylish and modern space. With a maximum capacity of 72 people, Tampu Restaurant Bar features natural materials such as stone and wood, in keeping with the overall environmentally harmonious style of the Lodge.
Channel Islands National Park, California
Level Contributor
483 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“If Not For The Staff, Maybe Only Average”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights at the Lodge so we had an opportunity to have all three meals at this restaurant. First I will say that the hostess and wait staff seem to give the best they can. The atmosphere is pleasant. At dinner they have Andean musicians who play for about 40 minutes and sell their CDs.
Restaurant Pros:
- Great Wait Staff
- All inclusive if you stay at lodge
- Will make you just about anything even if not on menu, just ask
- Breakfast is buffet but a la carte orders taken too
Restaurant Cons:
- Kitchen slow. Sometimes the wait between starter and main is excessive.
- No dedicated buss boy. Tables are often not cleaned for 20 minutes or more. Ruins the environment.
- Unfortunately we tried the Chicharonnes and got food poisoning. Only thing we ate the same and suffered.

When you stay at the lodge, you don't have any other choices so this needs to be great. With a few tweaks, they can be great and complete the MP/Sanctuary Lodge experience.
(To Travel Is To Live)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    44
    19
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5,151 reviews
2,868 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,846 helpful votes
“Ordinary food in a wonderful setting”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Loved the atmosphere but food was ordinary - as others say, only restaurant at the ruins so it is quite wonderful to come back and relax.. The staff try very hard but are not pre-emptive. With my wife's allergies, we normally send a note months ahead of time with the local translation. It was obvious the staff had not read nor prepared for my wife and as so many of the dishes had wheat and/or dairy, it became incredibly difficult.
The staff tried very hard from then on but when they have had several months notice, you can't help but think they should have done better.
It is though quite wonderful sitting by the window and seeing such a magnificent setting.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just Disorganized, or Intentionally Rude?”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We just left the Sanctuary Lodge this afternoon. Food was excellent, housekeeping was efficient and location was perfect and convenient.
Price value is very low, and front desk was disorganized and rude to us. This is why I say that: We paid in full for two nights 30 days in advance. After our first night the staff told one of our party who returned early to the hotel from the ruins that we needed to be out of our rooms by 11am. Evidently they decided they needed our rooms for a tour group that was coming that day. When we got back to the hotel for lunch after exploring Machu Picchu, bags for the next guests were sitting outside our rooms waiting to be placed inside. Hard to believe that a hotel that charges $900 per room per night would ruin our Machu Picchu day by trying to kicking us out a day early. Once we showed them our confirmation they backed off but they never apologized which us why I am writing this review. An apology would be nice.

Helpful?
2 Thank Agapanthos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
482 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Wonderful food not just for guests”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Great meals and atmosphere (very much enjoyed the Andean musicians at dinner). Great pisco sours and a variety of choices on the menu.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ozdess9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

As we stayed at Sanctuary Lodge we had Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner included.

Breakfast was a lovely buffet selection typical of a high class hotel. You also had the opportunity to order hot meals. I had a fantastic ham and cheese omelette.

Lunch we had a cracker of a vegetable soup and a trout ceviche that was simply stunning. This was followed by a good rendition of the classic club sandwiches.

Dinner was fantastic. We all had something different, lamb, chicken and pork. All were fantastic, tender and tasty. Desert was classy and elegant but above all else, yum.

Really enjoyed this restaurant and it was further enhanced by the amazing service we received from all staff. The barman was so knowledgable and passionate about pisco it was inspiring.

Whilst all staff were excellent I want to single out Jose. He was the best waiter I have encountered across the globe. Also he was there for everymeal. Seriously give the man a rest. But thank you Jose you made our special holiday even more special with your care and attention.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Redaussie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tampu Restaurant at Sanctuary Lodge also viewed

 
Aguas Calientes, Sacred Valley
Aguas Calientes, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Tampu Restaurant at Sanctuary Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing