We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No where else to go”

Tinkuy Buffet Restaurant at Sanctuary Lodge
Ranked #5 of 23 Restaurants in Machu Picchu
Price range: US$30 - US$40
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Description: Tinkuy Buffet Restaurant offers a daily lunch buffet which is open to the guests of the Lodge and visitors to Machu Picchu. The restaurant, with a capacity of 200, offers pleasant surroundings to relax in and enjoy a delightful lunch. The lunch buffet offers a wide variety of Internatinal and Peruvian dishes, a selection of salads, main courses and desserts. The soft drinks and hot drinks are included in the price.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“No where else to go”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We came to the restaurant as it was booked by our tour. I am not usually fond of buffet dining and this was no exception. There was a long lineup to get into the restaurant, all the while standing in the hot sun. Once we were inside it was packed and very difficult to find seating. Once we were able to find a seat it was very difficult to get in and out as the tables were packed very close to each other. The food was very picked over with little left in each serving dish. The one nice thing was there was entertainment of local musicians playing pan flutes, and drums. The next big lineup came for the washroom. There were 2 bathroom stalls for women, with lines never less than 10 people waiting. Average food, long waits, high noise level did not make this an enjoyable experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    129
    119
    45
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Average restaurant”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We purchased a prepaid lunch as part of a special offer with the Vistadome tickets - the cost ended up being an additional US$37 / person. We had heard that food options were limited at Machu Picchu and decided to give it a go.

While the food was nothing fancy we were quite enjoying it (amazing what a 3 hour hike will do to your appetite) until we found a massive hair in one of our meals. This always tends to be off putting and raise doubts as to the hygiene practices of the kitchen staff!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I wouldn't go there...”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Well, that was booked for us by our travel agent and he had best intentions but if I 'd do it again I wouldn't go there. First of all it is very expensive - as everything at MP. Second - we had to wait till it was open at 11:30 AM and our tour was over by 9:30 Am (we went to MP at dawn). They would not let us to enter the Lodge so we had to wait in the cafe outside, it was hot and a bottle of water was S/.10 soles, a bottle of coca-cola S/.18 etc. The food was actually rather good however you could not get water without paying for it with that expensive lunch (~ $50 pp). You could get soft drinks (in a cup) , tea and coffee for free though so I drank camomile tea with my lunch. By the time we finished our lunch - around 12:15 pm - there was a huge line outside of people waiting to enter, and it was hot day and I felt sorry for those folks.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank InR04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
581 reviews
373 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good food !”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Buffet lunch here is actually very good. The beef stew was excellent. Sadly we arrived at 2.30 and the buffet ends at 3.00 and there weren't any vegetables left, but there was still plenty of salad, meats, desserts and grains. There was a huge queue at 12.30 when we walked by as there aren't any other food options nearby, so I would suggest a hearty breakfast and then a 2 pm lunch. This worked for us as we didn't have a dinner derivation until 8pm. Turnover of the tables is fairly fast as everyone is itching to get back to Machu Picchu !

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank An_Expat_Wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gualala
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Shady drink practices”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

They are still ripping you off for bottled water and canned soda. Yes, a $4 coke. When you seat yourself the waiter appears with a tray of beer and soft drinks. We expected to pay for beer but were told ahead of time that soft drinks were free. Some of our party ordered water, some a soda. We learned too late that there was a soda dispenser and water available hidden behind the end of the buffet. When asked about options for soda, the waiter did not inform us about the free varieties or inform us about the high price.
The buffet was somewhat above average, but the soda/ water price shock at the end of the meal left a bad taste.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tinkuy Buffet Restaurant at Sanctuary Lodge also viewed

 
Aguas Calientes, Sacred Valley
Aguas Calientes, Sacred Valley
 
Aguas Calientes, Sacred Valley
Aguas Calientes, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Tinkuy Buffet Restaurant at Sanctuary Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing