We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2007

I flinched at the cost of staying here but of all the places we stayed in Peru, it was the absolute best. We spent 4 dirty days on the Inca Trail and being able to go from the trail to the shower and have drinks delivered by room service....what a delight. We also had a great view of HuanyPichu and were able to get an extra hour of sleep before getting up early to hike the peak. The food and wine and service were also impeccable.

Stayed: November 2007
5  Thank RachelniSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,122)
There are newer reviews for Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,641 - 1,647 of 2,122 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2007

This hotel is located just outside the gate of Machu Picchu. It's very expensive and very luxurious. We expected the location to allow us to visit the ruins at sunset and sunrise, but we were disappointed. The ruins close at 5 PM, which in November is well before sunset. In the morning, as is often the case, the fog was too thick for any views until well after sunrise.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank skidivetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2007

Mortgaged some real estate and booked a mountain view room with terrace for two nights and we were very pleased. First day was rainy, so being able to pop in and out of Machu Picchu and dry off was a HUGE plus. When the second day arrived beautiful and clear, it was easy to beat the first tourgroups to the site and then stay one step ahead. The reason to book this hotel is the access to Machu Picchu - period. The rooms are plenty nice but not exceptional. The views are fantastic from the Mountain view rooms. Food was excellent and some of the best we had in the area and the restaurant staff was excellent along with the front desk. Some of the extras include complimentary transfer of baggage to Aguas Calientes train station, day room for showers/changing after checkout, separate a la carte dining room for guests separate from buffet offered to tourgoups, massages (excellent), and just about anything you ask for. The price is rude, but in the end, we felt OK about it because of all the inclusions. No request was denied. Say hello to Roosevelt (name tag says "Rusel") at the bar for us - our favorite bartender in Peru.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank jhjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2007

The Sanctuary Lodge is really a special property...so go ahead and plan to stay here! From the moment you arrive until you check out the service is excellent, management is close-at-hand and you cannot get any closer to the ruins!

We arrived in the morning as most do from Cusco and were immediately given our room. This made it possible to relax a bit before entering the ruins and even have a light lunch to build up the energy to walk for the afternoon.

Perhaps if you are lucky enough you can see the Managers personal collection of photos of Machu Picchu during all seasons and times of the day...and if extra special, his photos of orchids of the area!

The other nice thing with this hotel is that after check-out there is a special room where you can relax while you wait for the return trip to Aguascalientes....be sure to ask as this also includes a shower!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MexCityTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2007

We got the train from Cusco to Machu Picchu, but got off at Km 104, and walked the last 15km of the Inca Trail. When we reached Intipunku (The Sun Gate), we had our first view of Machu Picchu, AND of our hotel. The location of the hotel cannot be beaten, and even though it is quite expensive, it is worth it to arrive when all the day trippers have gone, and to be able to watch the sun rise, and gain early access before all the day trippers arrive the following day.
The hotel itself was very friendly, the food was excellent, the drinks were included, and after walking for 6 hours, the bed was sumptious !!! An observation, is that people who had arrived there by train and bus did not enjoy it half as much as those who had walked the Inca Trail. If you are fit enough, we really would recommend the walk.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GLOBALYORKSHIREMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2007

We booked to stay 1 night at the Sanctuary Lodge as part of the Hiram Bingham Train package. The transfer from the station was very efficient. We checked in quickly (in order to rejoin our tour guide within 10 mins) and our bags were ready for us.
We had a standard room which was absolutely fine - size was okay, bathroom (only a shower) was good and a nice dressing area.
Even though the cost is high it is worth it to be able to take a more relaxed approach to visiting the ruins. We were able to come back to the hotel for drinks, food, rest as many times as we liked which meant we were able to take refuge whilst the crowds were in and take advantage of the quieter times. Not having to stick to a timetable for the buses was a benefit.
We were first in the queue in the morning to visit the ruins and see the sun rise - only those who had hiked up from the village below were able to be there for this time. After spending a couple of hours we returned for breakfast.
You don't really get any extra time as the guards kick you out at 17:00 and the buses run until 18:00 - but there were definitely less people after about 16:00.
Food and service was good and the use of the day room to relax and freshen up before returning on the Hiram Bingham train (with dinner) was great.
Would certainly recommend a stay just for one night.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MyExpeience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2007

This hotel is at the entrance to the ruins at Machu Picchu, making it a very unique and special type of lodging. It is run by Orient Express, and is often booked during high season.

Pros:
(1) Being able to visit the ruins easily and refreshed 3-4 times each day, including sun rise and late in the day (when it really empties out). This is an amazing treat!
(2) Excellent meals. We had the American plan (all meals and drinks included) and the dining experience was fantastic. They had a bottle of champagne for us as an anniversary celebration. Likewise, the service in the dining room is great (albeit a bit slow at times but very attentive). We absolutely did leave tips as all the waiters were working quite hard.
(3) Turn down service at night was very special with a candle, snacks and the like (see also other postings).

Cons:
(1) Price. They did not charge us the internet fee (we would have complained). Agree with other poster that tickets into ruins should be included at this price.
(2) Room we had was small and bathroom was tiny. There was gum stuck on the bathroom floor. We had asked for a room on the terrace with a patio but did not get it (note: we think people in the travel groups booked by Orient Express get priority). It's very noisy too with other people getting up early (5 am) and buses starting at 6 am.
(3) Front desk was efficient but had an attitude.

We stayed for three nights (gulp - gotta work more this month) which was a lot of money for what turned out to be a not-so-special room. Yes, the proximity to the ruins was amazing but I think one (and maybe two) nights at the Sanctuary would have been enough for us. I think they could still work on keeping the rooms and common grounds a bit neater and also adding some tables to the terrace for those of us not worthy of a terrace room.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank blacklabinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machu Picchu
1.3 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,860 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel
Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Machu Picchu
544 reviews
1.4 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,060 reviews
1.5 mi away
Andino Hotel
Andino Hotel
#2 of 5 in Machu Picchu
44 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Sanctuary Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Sanctuary Lodge

Address: Carretera Hiram Bingham Km 7.5 | Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu 5184, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Price Range: £410 - £1,042 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Sanctuary Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge enjoys a unique location just steps from the entrance to Machu Picchu; it is the only hotel beside the Inca citadel. This charming mountain retreat, set in orchid gardens, is the perfect place to relax, from early in the morning to magical moonlit nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Sanctuary Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge By Orient-Express Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Hotel
Sanctuary Lodge Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing