We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired feet but happy souls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tired feet but happy souls”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We had a magical experience at the Sanctuary Lodge hotel. From the moment the gentlemen collected our bags in the train station we knew we had chosen the correct place. A quick refresher and lunch then off to the ruins. Sunshine and a light breeze made for glorious photos, happy moments and the feeling of accomplishment when we returned from our mountain hike. The only problem is that we did not stay long enough.
Until again
Joel

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diningaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,349
    470
    175
    54
    29
See reviews for
435
1,092
87
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

This is the only hotel up the Machu Pichu mountain adjacent to the entrance gate to the citadel. All other lodgings are at the base of the mountain 20 minutes away by minibuses running every 5 minutes up and down. Up until around 3pm and down until around 5:30 pm.
I first met this hotel 30 years ago. Since then Orient-Express has done a good job improving it, I guess, as far as it was physically possible.
It was never an outstanding building, but with some refurbishment it now blends better into the environment.
Objectively it is a 3 star hotel with no lobby or public areas to relax other than a dining room and bar. The rooms are extremely small ( around 15-17 square meters ) and so are the bathrooms. We had a Deluxe room which had the plus of a terrace with access onto a very nice lawn and orchid garden with a hot tub comanding the only view of Machu Pichu free of an entrance fee.
As everything owned by Orient-Express the service is very good, the staff are well trained, the food is very good and the general ambience of the rooms and public areas is pleasent.
The main aspect you have to know before you decide upon overnighting here or in the hotels in the town at the base of the mountain ( Aguas Calientes ) is what do you expect to do once up here.
As said, the hotel is marginally a 3 star building but with 5 star rates. There is nothing you can do around the hotel other than plunge into the hot tub, take a massage, sit in your tiny room or go to explore Machu Pichu.
After having travelled in luxury hotels for over 35 years I guess this is the highest hotel rate per square meter of room I ever paid for.
Having nothing else to do other to get into the Machu Pichi citadel, my recomendation is you plan exactly how much time you want to spend visiting the archeologic site and at what time you want to arrive by train.
Done this you will have to put on the balance if sleeping up the mountain is worth it or not.
If you decide to sleep up the mountain you will have a comfortable 5 star bed, cozy furnishings, very good food, direct access to the citadel entrance gate and a microscopic room. Is it worth the rate ? I doubt it...

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank guillermohoter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Propietario at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your comments in Trip advisor.
First I want to apologize if we do not meet your expectations.
I take this opportunity to reiterate our commitment to excellence in service and inform you that your comments have been transmitted and discussed with our reception team with which we are reinforcing training in customer service.

We are pleased to inform you that we are constantly working in improving our facilities and rooms. During this season we are implementing in public areas and rooms new materials and furniture in order to always correspond to our guest’s expectations. In the meantime, we believe our rooms offer character, authenticity and comfort and are priced accordingly.

We also program to christen next year meditation temple located on a platform of the hotel where our guests will be able to meditate, practice yoga or experience an outdoor massage. Also offer to our guests whom wish to celebrate and leave unforgettable experience the opportunity enjoy a private breakfast with a spectacular view to the citadel of Machu Picchu.

I deeply value your comments and sincerely apologize if we didn´t meet your expectation. Also I want to thank you for your good comments about our restaurant and kitchen teams. I can guaranty you of our permanent commitment in keeping on with all the efforts and focus to maintain our renowned service quality with the firm intention to deliver the best service and experience to our guests.

Sincerely.

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

If you are reading reviews on this hotel, consider taking a room with the outdoor patio- this is your living room that you can enjoy during the hectic traffic of the morning rush hours to MP and after the crowds have left in the mid-afternoon. You really can't beat the location and the staff is extremely attentive and at your service 24/7. The meals and beds were fantastic - being able to walk out onto their grounds to enjoy the sunrise/sunset and their lovely gardens make the splurge to stay one night worth it.

The Manager was extremely helpful in getting our issue with our MP tickets resolved and contributed to a delightful and flawless stay with them.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank safiblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us and the lovely description you have made of the hotel.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Wyoming
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The Sanctuary Lodge is the only hotel located at the base of Machu Picchu so you stay there in order to save the time of the bus ride up the mountain. That means that you can start your day early, important if you want to catch the sun rise, and you can use your hotel during the day for rest breaks or refreshment. That said, the hotel would normally only rate three stars if it were located further away. The rooms are small. There is no air conditioning and no overhead fans. And the views from the rooms are not particularly good either. The service was good (I got an adapter at no charge when mine didn't work) and the food was good. Our stay at the Sanctuary Lodge came as part of a tour, so we didn't see the cost directly, but I understand that the fees are pretty steep. My take is that you are likely to only come to Machu Picchu once and you are likely to only stay one or two nights, so the additional cost per night is worth it to optimize your time at Machu Picchu. Despite the shortcomings, I would recommend this to anyone visiting Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mmeyernos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stayed overnight as many friends had recommended the experience of sunrise in Machu Picchu, but at least in October, sunrise is much earlier than the 6 AM opening time. The > $1000.00 room faced a wall, so it was very dark and with no ventilation ( no AC available). barely fit a queen bed and the bathroom had maybe a foot between the toilet and shower.
We requested helo with the TV, which never arrived. The front desk staff was not efficient.
On the other hand, the staff at the restaurant was very kind and efficient, and the room rate included 3 very good meals.
I think that a better deal would have been to stay a the Inkaterra Hotel in Aguas Calientes and take the first 25 min. bus to MP.

Room Tip: Avoid room 19
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lvmv29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your comments in Trip advisor and helping us in improving our services. The commitment of Machu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge is to give the best to our guests and you general impressions about your stay at our property are very important to us.
First I want to apologize if we do not meet your expectations.
I take this opportunity to reiterate our commitment to excellence in service and inform you that your comments have been transmitted and discussed with our reception team with which we are reinforcing training in customer service.

We are pleased to inform you that we are constantly working in improving our facilities and rooms. During this season we are implementing in public areas and rooms new materials and furniture in order to always correspond to our guest’s expectations. In the meantime, we believe our rooms offer character, authenticity and comfort and are priced accordingly.

We also program to christen next year meditation temple located on a platform of the hotel where our guests will be able to meditate, practice yoga or experience an outdoor massage. Also offer to our guests whom wish to celebrate and leave unforgettable experience the opportunity enjoy a private breakfast with a spectacular view to the citadel of Machu Picchu.
Also, our guests will have the opportunity at night to discover the constellations of the southern hemisphere using our powerful telescope (weather permitting).
Concerning hotels located in in the town of Aguascalientes, none of them offer the privilege to overnight nestle in the flank of Machu Picchu Citadel. In the case you decide to stay in town, you may suffer not only noise disturbances but also from the time consumed by the bus trip, which between the line to purchase your bus ticket, the queue to get to the bus, the half an hour trip to get from the town to the Citadel and idem to go down, all in one day, the round trip take away an average of two hours away on your visit of Machu Picchu Citadel. Also, staying in our property offers to our guests the freedom to enter and exit the Citadel as many times as they wish during the day in order to lunch, refresh or rest for a while before to continue their discovery of Machu Picchu.
According the season of the year the sun may rise earlier but the time it reach the top of the mountains surrounding the citadel most of the time our guests may assist to the time it appears.

I deeply value your comments and sincerely apologize if we didn´t meet your expectation. Also I want to thank you for your good comments about our restaurant and kitchen teams. I can guaranty you of our permanent commitment in keeping on with all the efforts and focus to maintain our renowned service quality with the firm intention to deliver the best service and experience to our guests.

Sincerely.

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, CA (Bay Area)
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The reason to stay at the Sanctuary Lodge is the location. You are a few yards from the entrance to Machu Picchu, which gives you better access at sunrise and after the tours all leave for the day.

The rooms themselves are average. They are a small room, a television with DirecTV (all Spanish speaking btw), and a small bathroom. The terrace rooms have a mountain view and a small patio, which was quite nice.

The service for us was fantastic and horrible at the same time. I think it tends towards fantastic for most though. We had booked our Huayna Picchu tickets through the concierge. He got the date wrong, which left us without a ticket. In the end, they made everything right through some heroic customer service, so our overall experience was positive.

I should point out that the staff went above and beyond to help us out. I suspect this means they really are in the business of customer service, so I would tend to think that they are quite good here. But our one experience was a bit of an anomaly.

The restaurant on the premises was ok. It was part of the package. The food was fine, the service was a little bit slow. They had 2 12-tops at the same time, so we were lost in the shuffle a bit.

When you hike in Machu Picchu, you will spend the first day with a guide probably. The second day, you will be in the park and your checkout time will be 11a. You won't leave that day until later probably. They make available a day room you can use to shower. Make sure you bring an extra change of clothes so you have something to dress in.

Overall, we would stay here again. The location alone makes it worthwhile. And you should ask about room upgrades and whatnot when you get there. If they are not booked, they have the ability to help you out if you treat them well. We were able to get a room upgrade, including an extended checkout time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BurgerMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us and the lovely description you have made of the hotel.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed for one night. The hotel is worth the expense strictly for its location. The front staff are exceptional and our check-in was quick with the attendant explaining the hotel facilities and all that was included in our package. Breakfast both ala carte and buffet were excellent. Dinner was very good and the chocolate at the end of the meal was to die for. The waiter surprised me with another chocolate for later. The service and personal attention was truly exceptional. We also enjoyed the jacuzzi/hot tub under the stars. Don't expect to beat the crowds by staying here

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diaund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us and the lovely description you have made of the hotel.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machu Picchu
1.4 mi away
Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel
Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machu Picchu
518 reviews
1.3 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,793 reviews
1.4 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Andino Hotel
Andino Hotel
#3 of 3 in Machu Picchu
35 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,010 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Sanctuary Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Sanctuary Lodge

Property: Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Address: Carretera Hiram Bingham Km 7.5 | Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu 5184, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Sanctuary Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge enjoys a unique location just steps from the entrance to Machu Picchu; it is the only hotel beside the Inca citadel. This charming mountain retreat, set in orchid gardens, is the perfect place to relax, from early in the morning to magical moonlit nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Belmond, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Sanctuary Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge By Orient-Express Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Hotel
Sanctuary Lodge Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing