We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Hotel”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Best location ever to visit the Inca Citadel. Situated right next door to the entrance but in own attractive garden and superb views of the spectacular mountains which form the backdrop for the ruins.It is worth the expense to thoroughly be pampered by excellent service, delicious food and wine, massage at the end of a busy day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joycehunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for taking your time for bring to us your opinion about your experience in our property.

I am glad to know that you could enjoy our privileged location in front of the citadel, allowing you to enjoy as much as possible on your own schedule, complemented by our service, we aim to provide the highest quality service and delight every customer with each detail we deliver.

It is certainly great to know that you could delight our best traditional dishes in our Tampu Restaurant and experienced of a pleasant massage in our Spa.

Thank you very much for your kindness and invaluable comments and recommendation.

Sincerely yours,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,347
    470
    174
    54
    29
See reviews for
433
1,091
87
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cuzco
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Service is attentive, and of the highest caliber. The rooms are on the small side.
The location spectacular, a few steps from the entrance to the Machu Picchu citadel and park. Atmosphere sophisticated country lodge. Would return in a heartbeat. A fabulous experience made more so by the wonderful, helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Raquel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Madam,

I am deeply pleased for the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion regarding our service.

I appreciate for choosing our Lodge as a destination to organize your visit of Machu Picchu Citadel, we are pleased to know that you appreciate our location and facilities, who has been allowed to fully enjoy your visit to the magical citadel while you giving us the opportunity to take care to provide you an fabulous experience.

I really appreciate for sharing your comments in Trip Advisor who is an invaluable tool in search of the excellence.

We hope to welcome you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale, NY
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Obviously the primary reason to stay here is that it is immediately outside the entrance to Machu Picchu. On the downside, it is a fairly typical hotel with small rooms, no view (Our room had a terrace that looked at a wall. Don't know if there are rooms with a view.) and no elevator (if you're going to hike up Machu Picchu this shouldn't bother you). But you're not staying here for a grand, elegant room. The staff is excellent, friendly, polite and helpful, and the food is very good also. So you can save yourself a bouncy, dusty bus ride and stay on the mountain if you're willing to shell out a significant premium on price.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank merlin321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments in Trip advisor and helping us in improving our services with your comments. The commitment of Belmond Sanctuary Lodge is to give the best to our guests and your overall impressions about your stay in our property are very important to us.

I sincerely regret to know that the suite that you booked was not your expectations, considering that we offer different type of rooms with a beautiful view to the mountains and surrounding.

I reiterate our commitment to excellence in service; we are constantly working in improving our Lodge facilities. We already started a refurbishing of our public areas and rooms with new materials, furniture, with a contemporaneous decoration in order to upgrade the lodge facilities and always correspond to our guest’s expectations.

I would like to extend our most sincere gratitude for your encouraging words, our Staff always are taking great care over every detail with our guest, it is very satisfying to know my staff was able to provide the service you deserve.

Finally I would like to thank you once again for sharing your invaluable review.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

If Machu PIcchu is on your bucket list, then you might was well go all-out and stay at Sanctuary Lodge. It is truly a five star experience. The staff are fantastic, and truly do want to make your stay spectacular. OK, so the rooms are somewhat small, but when you consider where you are, in time and space, while you're actually in the room, this is a small concern. The food is amazing--and do take advantage of the opportunity to try new things! The hot tub is tucked away in a forrest of orchids, and you can see the ruins while you soak. Priceless! Plan you day so that you can come back for a quick shower and snack before checking out and heading back into the site for your next adventure. A once-in-a-lifetime experience!

Room Tip: Do your research, check several sites. Pre-payment option saves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Senior_Roberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, let me thank you for your time and we appreciate your comment.

I am deeply pleased to know that you could appreciate our location and facilities; our hotel offers the privilege to overnight on a platform of the Citadel who has been allowed to fully enjoy your visit to the magical citadel while you giving us the opportunity to take care to provide you an unpredictable experience.

I would like to extend our most sincere gratitude for your encouraging words, our Staff always are taking great care over every detail with our guest, it is very satisfying to know my staff was able to provide the service you deserve.

Thank you very much for your invaluable comments and recommendation.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Right at the entry gate, and the only hotel to stay if you want to see Machu Picchu in its full glory. Finish your afternoon when the crowds diminish, relax and have a lovely dinner at this full service hotel. Wake up early for sunrise viewing. Could not imagine a round trip from Cusco in one day, nor busy bus ride back and forth to Aguas Calientes. If you travel this far, Sanctuary Lodge is the only way to go. Book early - only 31 rooms for the knowing traveler. PS: day manager Omar was excellent, could not have been more helpful.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate the time you took for leaving your positive comments on the Trip Advisor.

I am glad to know that you could enjoy our privileged location in front of the citadel, allowing you to enjoy as much as possible on your own schedule while

We sincerely appreciate your visit and moreover thank you for considering us the best way to experience Machu Picchu.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed up at the lodge, versus staying down in the town, because we wanted to avoid the crowds and the bus rides each day. The lodge was very nice and well worth the extra couple-hundred dollars per night. You dont really see the ruins from the hotel, although the view form the hot tub is great. The restaurant was great, and it is very pleasant in the evening when the crowds go home. The morning was not as expected. You had to get in line with the bus people, who start arriving at 6 am. So it was better than waiting down in the town and then waiting again at the entry gate, but it did not avoid the problem early in the morning. It is nice to come and go at the historic site to take breaks, since there is a lot of climbing at the site,

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms over the entry area.... Lots and lots of buses, starting early
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate for choosing our Lodge as a destination to organize your visit of Machu Picchu Citadel.

I am deeply pleased to know that you could appreciate our location and facilities; our hotel offers the privilege to overnight on a platform of the Citadel who has been allowed to fully enjoy your visit to the magical citadel while you giving us the opportunity to take care to provide you an unpredictable experience.

I would like to extend my sincere gratitude for your comments, to given us the opportunity to know your opinion about our services.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Continuing our holidays in Peru we left Sacred Valley Belmond and moved to the Sanctuary Lodge in Machu Picchu. The hotel is located in the closest proximity of the site, being actually the only one in this location. They have rooms with Mountain View (more expensive) and Garden View ones. More expensive costs about EUR 1k per night. You reach the hotel from Aquas Calientes by bus. This is actually separated adventure, as these serpentines really make people pray to survive. During our ride, one of the tires exploded and we had to wait for another bus. Additional shot of adrenaline guaranteed. Rooms are not so big but clean and cosy. What amazed me a little they have universal remote Harmony One.

Having the room paid you have everything included. You have to pay additionally only for the premium spirits. Restaurant is very good. I would recommend Ceviche and Andean Style Beef Tenderloin. Service is very good. Sleep quality could be better as the place is crowded and you hear everything from corridors.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I`m deeply sorry for the inconvenience with the bus, local buses are ruled by the company that operate the road and unfortunately they do not give us a lot of options to help our guests in this kind of situation, thankfully arrived safely.

Thank you very much to give us your valuable comment, I am pleased to know that you appreciate our location and facilities, who has been allowed to fully enjoy your visit to the magical citadel while you giving us the opportunity to take care to provide you an unique experience.

I´m glad to know that you could delight our best traditional dishes in our Tampu Restaurant.

We really appreciate for sharing your comments in Trip Advisor who is an invaluable tool in search of the excellence.

Warm regards,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machu Picchu
1.4 mi away
Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel
Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machu Picchu
518 reviews
1.3 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,788 reviews
1.4 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Andino Hotel
Andino Hotel
#3 of 3 in Machu Picchu
34 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,005 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Sanctuary Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Sanctuary Lodge

Property: Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Address: Carretera Hiram Bingham Km 7.5 | Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu 5184, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Sanctuary Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge enjoys a unique location just steps from the entrance to Machu Picchu; it is the only hotel beside the Inca citadel. This charming mountain retreat, set in orchid gardens, is the perfect place to relax, from early in the morning to magical moonlit nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Belmond, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Sanctuary Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge By Orient-Express Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Hotel
Sanctuary Lodge Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing