We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The absolute best location, and a very good restaurant too”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
374 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“The absolute best location, and a very good restaurant too”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We're so glad we stayed here. The main advantage is the ability to stay in the park nearly until closing so you feel like the only ones there, and then you can be up early to hike into the park and watch the sun rise over Machu Picchu. Wonderful! Our room wasn't large and we had no view at all, but it was comfortable. We appreciated their attention to recycling and general environmental friendliness. Really enjoyed the meals, too. I ate the best sea bass I've been served in quite a while! The bartender was helpful with the wine, and the service in both the restaurant and the bar area were great. We didn't have time to use the hot tub; we spent all of our time in the ruins and hiking in the area. This is a once-in-a-lifetime trip for us and the Sanctuary Lodge was perfect for it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsc_Denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate the time you took for leaving your positive comments on the Trip Advisor.

I am glad to know that you could enjoy our privileged location in front of the citadel, allowing you to enjoy as much as possible on your own time.

I´m pleased to know that you could delight our best traditional dishes in our Tampu Restaurant and my staff was able to provide the service you deserve.

We sincerely appreciate your visit and moreover thank you for considering us the PERFECT alternative to experience Machu Picchu.

Sincerely yours,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,018 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,307
    459
    172
    53
    27
See reviews for
420
1,060
85
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

If you're not a backpacker (or someone who prefers to travel that way), there are only 2 high end places around Machu Picchu. The Inkaterra in Machu Picchu Pueblo (the town where the trains arrive and a 30 min bus ride down from the site), or the Belmond Sanctuary at the entrance gate to Machu Picchu.

You can't think of the Lodge as a luxury hotel, despite the price. It's a Lodge. Meaning, most rooms (see the room tips) are small without any sort of view. The beds are comfortable, the amenities are nice, and the staff is beyond helpful. It's all inclusive, and the food and beverage in the restaurant is amazing, especially considering they have to bus everything up the mountain. Make sure you make time for the bar for a cocktail...the bartenders are very knowledgeable and friendly, especially if you actually engage them in meaningful conversation. There is an outdoor hot tub on the hill behind the main buildings, which is nice (though often crowded) for an afternoon dip. They also have a small lounge with 2 showers and bathrooms to use after checkout if you are departing late.

The true benefit of being here is the location. It provides you an escape during the day from the crowds of the site, and a place to rest after climbing one of the great and challenging hikes around Machu Picchu. It's also easy to be at the gates of the site when they open early morning....you can literally walk around in the old city with virtually no one there.

Don't misread, it's a nice place. But the price could you make you think you're getting a fancy room and amazing views and activities. If you need all that, stay at Inkaterra in the town. If you want to imagine yourself in the 1920's, and explore the Inca's legacy and have a proper british-inspired luxe camp to go back to...this is your place.

Room Tip: There are only 3 patio rooms that have a view of the mountains. Some standard rooms have small wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank basicsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments in Trip Advisor and helping us in improving our services.

The commitment of Belmond Sanctuary Lodge is to give the best to our guests and your overall impressions about your stay are very important to us.

I felt deeply pleased to hear that you fully enjoyed our facilities and privilege location, allowing you to enjoy as much as possible of Machu Picchu Citadel, while you giving us the opportunity to take care to provide you an unforgettable experience and take care of every single detail you may need during your stay with us.

I would like to extend our most sincere gratitude for your encouraging words, our Staff always are taking great care over every detail with our guest, it is very satisfying to know my staff was able to provide the service you deserve.

I reiterate our commitment to excellence in service; we are constantly working in improving our Lodge facilities. We already started a refurbishing of our public areas and rooms with new furniture, with a contemporaneous decoration in order to upgrade the lodge facilities and always correspond to our guest’s expectations.

Finally, I would like to thank you once again for sharing your invaluable review.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire, USA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The best things things about the Lodge are the proximity to Machu Picchu and the food, which was great. I liked the all-inclusive nature of the deal. The rooms are nice but standard. We were hoping for some sort of temperature control for the room, but that wasn't available. We stayed only a night, but we had a good experience. I loved that they had soy milk for my coffee!

Room Tip: Get a room with a patio. Wished we had gotten one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njpmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate for choosing our Lodge as a destination to organize your visit of Machu Picchu Citadel; offering a privileged view on the magnificent surrounding mountains.

It is certainly great to know that you could delight our best traditional dishes in our Tampu Restaurant and my staff was able to provide the service you deserve.

I reiterate our commitment to excellence in service; we are constantly working in improving our Lodge facilities. We already started a refurbishing of our public areas and rooms with new materials, furniture, with a contemporaneous decoration in order to upgrade the lodge facilities and always correspond to our guest’s expectations.

Thank you very much for your kindness and invaluable comments; I hope we can host you again in the near future

Kindly regards,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Since Machu Picchu is usually a once in a lifetime trip, I had no problem splurging on this hotel. We stayed for 2 nights. I will start off by saying that upon checking in, there was a problem with our reservation. This was quickly resolved and they upgraded us to the presidential suite! The patio of this suite was bigger than the room! The food was great and we got the package where three meals per day were included in the price. We opted to have many of these meals as room service since our patio had a table. The best part of this hotel is obviously the location. This was great because we could have an early breakfast then go into the park for several hours, hike one of the mountains, then come back for lunch and do it again. The rooms were very comfortable and had all the amenities one would expect of a luxury hotel. The rooms were small but you are not coming here to hang out in your rooms. Don't forget to bring your swimsuit as there is a hot tub that overlooks the ruins. A great way to round out the day. We had pisco sours delivered right to the hot tub! The staff were very friendly and genuinely made us feel welcomed.

Room Tip: Bring your swimsuit
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Phishow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I felt deeply pleased to hear that you fully enjoyed our facilities and privilege location, allowing you to enjoy as much as possible on your own schedule of Machu Picchu Citadel, while you giving us the opportunity to take care to provide you an unforgettable experience and take care of every single detail you may need during your stay with us, enjoying even more the comfort of your room.

Once again, I am really glad that we could exceed your expectations, sincerely will be a pleasure receiving you one more time in the future and continue providing the charming and the excellent service you deserve.

Thank you very much for your generous comments,

Sincerely Yours,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Before going to Machu Picchu I hedged booking this place because of the price and some reviews here that said it wasn't worth the money. But it was. Since this was a one-time trip for us, we opted for Sanctuary Lodge and we weren't disappointed. The staff was very accommodating, the room was small but luxurious, the food very good (even some choices for a picky vegetarian like me!). After we checked out, they held our bags while we took a final hike up to the Sun Gate in Machu Picchu. By the time we got back, we were exhausted and a bit dehydrated. A staff member retrieved our bags and took us to a Day Room to relax and re-hydrate. How thoughtful! Later, they put us and our bags on a special bus for travelers on the Hiram Bingham train (another extravagance but worth it one-way -- take the VistaDome train in the morning).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacquie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for your kindness and invaluable comments.

Hereby let me express my appreciation for choosing the Belmond Sanctuary Lodge as a Wonderful Luxury place to organize your visit of Machu Picchu Citadel.

Thank you very much for your compliments, I appreciate very much that you mentioned our personalized service, that we offer with commitment to provide an exceptional experience to our guest.

We will be looking forward to receiving you once again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This was THE most expensive hotel I have ever stayed at and it was worth EVERY penny. What an amazing hotel in such a unique setting with 7 star service from when you get off the train in AC til u leave.
Jose at the restaurant catered to my every need and my very sensitive stomach. The menu at the restaurant is a suggestion. The staff will get you anything you want and deliver it with a smile. The solitude of the Orchid Walk and terrace was truly a sanctuary.
We loved it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank BloomingOrchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Sincerely I appreciate very much that you had taken a moment of your valuable time in order to dedicate this paragraph to describe the unforgettable experience in our property.

I feel very pleased that our fully trained staff Jose Antonio Chavez was able to assist you at the time you needed us, I will congratulate him personally, also hope you are fully recovered.
Have a pleasant day,

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is just in front of Machu Picchu entrance. The fee include 3 meals with alcohol. Room is very comfortable with good amenity(with moisturizer) and comfortable slippers. We didn't go but, there is bath, too(moron your room). Machu Picchu citadel is quite big so, if you want to take time to see it, I highly recommend you to stay there although it costs much...

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 路津子 花
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Madam,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion in Trip Advisor.

I´m pleased for choosing our Lodge as a destination to organize your visit of Machu Picchu Citadel and Mountains; If you opted to climb Machu Picchu or Huaynapicchu Mountain, it is a fantastic thrill, I am glad you could do it despite the difficult circumstances.

Thank you very much for your kindness and invaluable comments; I hope we can host you again in the near future.

Kindly regards,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machu Picchu
1.4 mi away
Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel
Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machu Picchu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
1.3 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
1.4 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Andino Hotel
Andino Hotel
#3 of 3 in Machu Picchu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Sanctuary Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Sanctuary Lodge

Property: Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Address: Carretera Hiram Bingham Km 7.5 | Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu 5184, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Sanctuary Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge enjoys a unique location just steps from the entrance to Machu Picchu; it is the only hotel beside the Inca citadel. This charming mountain retreat, set in orchid gardens, is the perfect place to relax, from early in the morning to magical moonlit nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Belmond, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Sanctuary Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge By Orient-Express Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Hotel
Sanctuary Lodge Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing