We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent experience - staff, food, accommodations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Sanctuary Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An excellent experience - staff, food, accommodations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I have read some less than favorable reviews of the Sanctuary Lodge, so I was pleasantly surprised with my experience. I selected the Sanctuary Lodge because of its proximity to Machu Picchu. I was extremely pleased with all aspects of my visit. The noon buffet (included in the price) was superb. The young lady that checked me into the hotel set the tone for my entire stay - she was extremely knowledgeable, professional and pleasant. Staying at the Lodge puts you within a few feet of the entrance gate to the Park, which is a huge advantage to anyone staying overnight.

If I ever go to Machu Picchu again, I'll definitely stay at the Sanctuary Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, I feel so honored to know your opinion about our property.

I am deeply pleased to know that you experienced a very warmly welcome and persisted during your stay.

I am glad to know that you could enjoyed our privileged location in front of the citadel while you giving us the opportunity to take care to provide you the service that you deserve.

Thank you very much for your kindness and invaluable comments; I hope we can welcome you again in the near future.

Kindly regards,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,265
    444
    165
    52
    26
See reviews for
403
1,023
85
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mijdrecht
Level Contributor
87 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

The service attitude and the staff is one of the best. Their customer (sorry guests) oriented attitude is the best.
There is free wifi of good performance, the kitchen delivers top notch performance.
In the room the bed is big and good, as are the pillows, tv works as it should, minibar with soft-drinks only. Airco is extremely quite. Lights in the bathroom are so dim that shaving is one big guess. The size of the room (we did not get a suite or superior room) is meager to say the least. The best feature of the hotel is that is right next to the entrance of the macchu pichu site.
We were the first in at 6 am, at 21st of june. Would have been hard to do that from Aquas Calientes. After the solstice back for breakfast and then the rest of the site.

The room is very expensive compared to Peruvian standards. Is it worth while? We think it is.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bymy141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I felt deeply pleased to hear that you fully enjoyed our facilities and privilege location.

I would like to extend our most sincere gratitude for your encouraging words, our Staff always is taking great care over every detail with our guest, it is very satisfying to know my staff was able to provide the service you deserve.

Please accept my apologies if the size in the room has not been of your liking. I am pleased to inform you that we are constantly working in improving our facilities and rooms, in order to upgrade even more our Lodge in order to correspond to our guest’s expectations.

I think it is important to remind that during day time, our guests usually appreciate our location, sharing the active life of travelers visiting the ancient citadel. Also, after 5.00 pm until the next morning, our Lodge is the only place that stays in a total peacefulness, perfect moment to feel and interact with the energy of Machu Picchu ancient citadel.

Once again, thank you very much for sharing your overall impressions about your stay in our property, are very important to us.

Kindly regards,

Marc Yeterian,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Many have criticized the Sanctuary Lodge for its small rooms, modest decor, and expensive rates. The fact is that if you are fortunate enough to stay here, you avoid the 30 minute, vertiginous journey by bus up and down to Machu Picchu. You can relax after a day's sightseeing in the small, but charming botanical garden of the hotel, eat very well in the restaurant, and then climb out of bed at dawn to see the sun rise over the site, and wander through Machu Picchu before the crowds arrive. Breakfast is served until 10.30am, enabling you to return after the morning excursion and relax before checking out at 11 a.m. Service is adequate, if not exactly motivated because the hotel is chock-full all the year round.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, let me thank you for your time and we appreciate your invaluable comments.

We appreciate for choosing our Lodge as a destination to organize your visit of Machu Picchu Citadel; offering a privileged view on the magnificent surrounding mountains, allowing you to enjoy as much as possible through an exceptional service.

Thank you for your sincere feedback, I hope we have the honor to welcome you in the near future.

Warm regards,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

After the 4 day Inca Trail trek, arriving at the Sanctuary Lodge was bliss. From the time we arrived to the departure, service was top notch. The rooms were on the small side, but everything was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The decor of the room was traditional with the beams on the ceilings to the sliding door that leads to the beautiful courtyard full of orchids. Room 40 was the last one down the hall and closest to the orchid garden and waterfall. You will hear the water at night, if you're a light sleeper and do not like the soothing sound of water, ask for another room further down from the garden. Out in the courtyard, you will see the mountains all around. The dining experience was excellent and the food was well presented and tasted delicious, don't skip dessert, especially the coffee ice cream. Don't miss breakfast and tea time either! Didn't try any spa service, probably because I didn't like the aroma coming from the massage room. This is the only con. If you're waiting for the train down, do go to the day room (has showers and all essentials). Pricey, yes, worth it? Definitely.

Room Tip: Room 40 is close to the waterfall outside and you will hear the water at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate the time you took for leaving your positive comments on the Trip Advisor.

I am glad to know that you could enjoyed our privileged location in front of the citadel, allowing you to enjoy it as much as possible, corresponding to our guests expectations through an exceptional service.

We sincerely appreciate your visit and moreover thank you for considering us like the best alternative to experience Machu Picchu.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is a five star experience in a geographical location that you would not expect to see in the middle of a rural area. The rooms are nice and comfortable. The food is out of this world. This is the best hotel when you want to get an early start for exploring MP.

The Huayna Picchu tour is the most physically demanding climb and it is heavy in demand. They only allow about 400 visitors each day to make the climb and you need to be there early. They are sold on a first come basis. This hotel makes your trip easier. It is expensive but the memory is worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KEN06_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, let me thank you for your time and we appreciate your kindness comment.

I am deeply pleased to know that you could appreciate our location and facilities; our hotel offers the privilege to overnight on a platform of the Citadel who has been allowed to fully enjoy your visit to the magical citadel while you giving us the opportunity to take care to provide you an unpredictable experience.

Thank you very much for your kindness and invaluable comments; I hope we can welcome you again in the near future.

Kindly regards,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Unbelievable 1st class experience worth every penny! Our travel agent advised us to get here early (we spent the prior nt. in Ollantaytambo) & stay late, yet only have to pay for one night in order to experience 2 full days of the advantages of the ultimate (and only!) location right next to the entrance of MP. You can leave your bags at reception until check-in time, & they have a wonderful cabana room on the beautiful grounds of the lodge where you can rest, shower, etc. after check-out the next day. We were able to pay for lunch in the guests-only bar & use the restrooms on the day of arrival, avoiding long lunch lines on the crowded tourist side. From then on, everything (even bar/restaurant drinks & room mini bar) is included - the ultimate in luxury: fabulous relaxing dinner after the park closes, impeccable spa-like accommodations, delicious breakfast after your first hike at dawn when the park opens, & relaxing included lunch again after check-out. We visited the park one more time while they kept our bags, then rested & showered in the lanai room & took one of the last busses (wait until the long lines cease) down to Aguas Caliénte to catch the nt. train to Cusco. Staying here we were able to avoid the long harrowing bus ride back the first nt., & again up so early fighting long lines the next am. The absolute best part was being able to experience MP almost alone after most of the hoards had left to catch the busses in the late afternoon that first night - the ultimate way to experience & feel the sanctity of the sacred grounds!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FormerCA-MNtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks you for sharing your comments in Trip Advisor and for your invaluable comments.

We appreciate for choosing our Lodge as a destination to organize your visit of Machu Picchu Citadel; offering a privileged view on the magnificent surrounding mountains.

It is certainly great to know that you could delight our best traditional dishes in our Tampu Restaurant and experienced of a pleasant massage in our Spa.

The commitment of Belmond Sanctuary Lodge is to give the best to our guests and your overall impressions about your stay are very important to us.

Thank you very much for your kindness and invaluable comments; I hope we can host you again in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
366 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We're so glad we stayed here. The main advantage is the ability to stay in the park nearly until closing so you feel like the only ones there, and then you can be up early to hike into the park and watch the sun rise over Machu Picchu. Wonderful! Our room wasn't large and we had no view at all, but it was comfortable. We appreciated their attention to recycling and general environmental friendliness. Really enjoyed the meals, too. I ate the best sea bass I've been served in quite a while! The bartender was helpful with the wine, and the service in both the restaurant and the bar area were great. We didn't have time to use the hot tub; we spent all of our time in the ruins and hiking in the area. This is a once-in-a-lifetime trip for us and the Sanctuary Lodge was perfect for it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lsc_Denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate the time you took for leaving your positive comments on the Trip Advisor.

I am glad to know that you could enjoy our privileged location in front of the citadel, allowing you to enjoy as much as possible on your own time.

I´m pleased to know that you could delight our best traditional dishes in our Tampu Restaurant and my staff was able to provide the service you deserve.

We sincerely appreciate your visit and moreover thank you for considering us the PERFECT alternative to experience Machu Picchu.

Sincerely yours,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machu Picchu
0.2 mi away
Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel
Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machu Picchu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
1.3 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
1.4 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Andino Hotel
Andino Hotel
#3 of 3 in Machu Picchu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Sanctuary Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Sanctuary Lodge

Property: Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Address: Carretera Hiram Bingham Km 7.5 | Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu 5184, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Sanctuary Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge enjoys a unique location just steps from the entrance to Machu Picchu; it is the only hotel beside the Inca citadel. This charming mountain retreat, set in orchid gardens, is the perfect place to relax, from early in the morning to magical moonlit nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Belmond, TravelUp, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Belmond Sanctuary Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge By Orient-Express Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Hotel
Sanctuary Lodge Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing