We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cloud and Mist Everywhere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Puyapatamarca

Ranked #15 of 35 things to do in Machu Picchu
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Canada
Level Contributor
192 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Cloud and Mist Everywhere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stopped near this site for our lunch and it immediately began to be misty and cloudy. We were unable to see the ruins, but the area around it was amazing and one of the more interesting parts of the hike. Try to find the frogs. We heard alot of them all around us and very close, but could never find one.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob123235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    17
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Cloudy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Pretty much cloudy ,enjoy the moment ,mist everywhere ! Still you can feel the nature and relax,only in the inca trail you re able to see it

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank nenann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw
Level Contributor
227 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“the city upon the clouds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

Puyapatamarca means a city upon the clouds and getting there you have the impression that the name is true. We vere lucky to enjoy the splendid view to Urubamba. Absolutely recommended

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank b_architect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cusco, Peru
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“one of the best campsites!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

it is really one of the best camping spots for the Inca trail trek to Machu picchu, at night we do the star gazing, and wonderful dinner with lot´s of fun!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AVperutours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terraces with A View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

This was fabulous. We had it all to ourselves so there were no crowds. The view from the top takes on a whole new meaning when you are here. The view down the valley was beyond description. so were the steps when we had to go down them past the llamas,to get to the camp site where the tents were on terraces not much wider than the tent itself. Fresh popcorn, looking out at the mountains. How good can life get.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank WatermelonLindyLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Puyapatamarca also viewed

Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
 
Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Puyapatamarca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing