We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So worth the effort”
Review of Inca Trail

Inca Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
US$903.00*
and up
Private Overnight Tour: Inca Trail to Machu Picchu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children
Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“So worth the effort”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I am a relatively experienced hiker and this is one of the best. Day 2 of the hike is the toughest virtually the whole day spend ascending to over 4000m but the sense of achievement is unbeatable. The only complaint I would have about the trail is there are no eco-toilets/long drops on trail which means disgusting bathrooms at each campsite that do not appear to get cleaned.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Schlubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,790 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,475
    235
    44
    17
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
pauanui
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Older than most”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I completed the 4 day 3 night trek and at aged 66 I am pretty chuffed that I did it. Probably the hardest thing I have ever done but the satisfaction of finishing far outweighed the physical pain. Booked through Intrepid and they were great. Meals & accomodation were good and our porters made sure we were as comfortable as possible in the circumstances. I will have fab memories of the views for the rest of my life. Never think you are too old to do this, but being determined and having a never say die attitude helped me.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
10 Thank tiffyPauanui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern california
Level Contributor
165 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Altitude really challenging, but what a thrill...”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Did the one day trail, which was exhilarating.Totally awesome the job the Inkas did constructing these trails. Our superb guide ran incredible commentary, with history and culture lessons, as well as upbeat, motivational encouragement. There weren't many birds or small mammals, but our guide did know those we saw and heard, as well as medicinal and other plants.
But despite being in good shape, having spent days in the valley accommodating, and taking rx for altitude, except for the 23 year old in our party, the journey was really challenging. The steep ascent plus the baseline altitude left a sense of air hunger that never really abated. We all used poles or walking sticks, but one must keep one's eyes glued to the uneven cobblestones lining the trail, so that the sense of freedom and oneness with nature that one usually experiences on a hike is replaced with the imperative to keep safe.
The trail wasn't crowded, we passed a couple small groups, and a couple passed us in the hours on the trail. We each carried about 2.5 liters of water, and all ran out by early afternoon (it was a sunny day). There's a fabulous waterfall where you can splash your face, and sit for lunch, which is delightful, then press on.
Reaching the sun gate and entering it was magical. We arrived later than planned, and had the luck to have sun on Macchu Picchu and NO OTHER PEOPLE!!! Fantastic! What a stupendous view of the site. Really felt the power and sacred nature of the site, quite a difference from the following day, when, on our return, the mountain was packed.
The single bathroom facility on the trail, in an abandoned restaurant, was disgusting, so use a bush toilet if you must.
Although we met people who happily did the longer trails, which start higher and do not have such a steep ascent, I was thankful that we only spent one day on the trail.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank beardiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“don't think about it..just go!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

unbelievable. very hard trekking in parts, better than the pics or reviews can get across. rough camping as in mountains so don't expect a mattress at night!! lol. Far far more than just Macchu pichu on the route. some scary cliff paths , no health and safety barriers here lol. Some parts like being on a set of Tarzan. greatest holiday experience of my 50 years. This is not a pampered comfort trip but before and after trek , Cuzco is fascinating and freindly and hotel was very nice.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Antony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bear, Delaware
Level Contributor
111 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“This hike was worth it!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This hike is not too horribly long ... plenty of steps and / or steep places with no barriers at some points. Go all the way to the bridge! Be ready to see spectacular views. They make you sign in and out of this hike ... I guess so you don't get lost?

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbilovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Inca Trail also viewed

Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
 
Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Inca Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing