We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpectedly nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tikawasi Valley Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
264 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly nice”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel is lovely and quirky. Hotel staff were helpful throughout and provided useful information. The room is spacious and comfortable with great pillows and mattresses. My only criticism is the configuration of the rooms/bathrooms. From our bathroom we could hear very clearly what was going on in the adjacent room..

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jmt12london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    89
    33
    11
    2
See reviews for
55
81
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mystic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Booked this hotel on advice from Trip adviser and was very pleased. Short walk from the main plaza and only a few steps from the Ollantaytambo ruins. It was cold but there was plenty of hot water and blankets. Friendly staff. I agree with the recommendation for the Heart Cafe.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paula a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We booked this at the last minute, so I didn't get a chance to read many reviews. Fortunately, Tikawasi Valley turned out to be lovely.

We stayed for one night in room on the first floor. The bed was comfortable and the shower was hot. Though it was cold outside once the sun set, the thick wool blankets kept us warm. Breakfast was above average, with fresh fruit, cheese and eggs cooked to order.

The owner doesn't speak much English, but was very helpful and saved us money on our return to Cusco. The only negative thing was his restaurant recommendation. Do yourself a favour and go to Hearts Cafe instead.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rainbowcarnage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We arrived after dark to this little hotel and was wondering what we had booked, but we were pleasently surprised, a very nice place. Friendly staff, managed without much of english. The rooms were fairly big. Only minus was that we in 2 of our 3 rooms did not have hot water. Very good for the price

Room Tip: Let the water run for a long time to get hot water
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank braendgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level Contributor
144 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We (4 sisters traveling independently) stayed at Tikawasi Valley for 3 nights and loved this charming little hotel. The rooms were charming (Inka stone), had heaters & TV, and bathroom was more than adequate. The staff was friendly & very helpful at all times. We left our luggage while we traveled to Machu Picchu & all was intact on our return. Hotel is very well located, near ruins, square & a short walk to the train station.
We actually enjoyed hearing the tour guide brief his group on their Inka Trail trek as we were taking the train. We'll leave the trekking to our adult kids!
Breakfast was very good each morning. No heat in dining room so plan on layers as it is very cold in June in Ollantaytambo
Staff arranged for our day long trip to Cuzco via the Salt Mines, Moray and Chinchera
This hotel turned out to be our favorite in all of Peru! Very good value for the money!!

Room Tip: Ask for the Inka stone rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patty6-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Stayed here as part of an Intrepid tour. My room was very small and both windows looked out onto walkways were guests walked passed. The room and bathroom were clean. It did not include a heater which could be hired for 10 soles - I didn’t get one, but other on the tour did. It did get cold at night, but the blankets on the bed were warm enough. Definitely need ear plugs at night.

The staff seemed to be very disorganised and not very helpful. Breakfast time was a mess. They couldn’t seem to cope with the number of guest coming to breakfast at the same time and were very slow to replenish things.

Would not recommend

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ETbrisvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

While pretty basic; the room was very decent and clean. We booked a 'comfort' room which had a heater. Regular rooms don't. In May we needed it as it got quite cold at night.

The people at the "front desk" were always friendly and helpful. They arranged for our transfers from Cusco airport - everything was fine and reasonably priced.

The only criticism I have is that it gets noisy after 6:30 AM. So wear earplugs if you want to sleep in. Most people are getting up around then to head to Macchu Picchu etc.

Breakfast was basic but did the trick. I'd stay there again if in town for a night or two.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Praxus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.0 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#5 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sol
Hotel Sol
#10 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tierra Inka Sacred Valley
Hotel Tierra Inka Sacred Valley
#8 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tikawasi Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tikawasi Valley Hotel

Property: Tikawasi Valley Hotel
Address: Calle La Convencion s/n - Ollantaytambo, Ollantaytambo, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tikawasi Valley Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tikawasi Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tikawasi Valley Hotel Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing