We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tikawasi Valley Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Terrific Hideaway”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Fabulous location in Ollantaytambo, just outside the town square, steps to the archaeological site and 7 minutes to the Peru Rail Station. Rm 209, triple was very large, clean and comfortable. Lots of hot shower water in a large modern bathroom. Breakfast was excellent...cereal, juice, fresh fruit, bun, cheese, meat, jams and tea or coffee...all included in the price. Owners spoke limited English, but no problemo! This is excellent value for your money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dixiegals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    89
    33
    11
    2
See reviews for
55
81
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The courtyard gardens and stonework of this small hotel is beautiful. The rooms clean, but many are very compact, and my second floor room had a stairway in the middle of the window above the bed, and room was too small. That said, a couple friends had nicer, bigger rooms, but none of the rooms would be considered quiet.

The continental breakfast was minimal, compared to other hotels on this trip, but adequate. The location is a big plus. Despite there being a large bottled water dispenser, it was empty, and staff insisted on selling small bottles. Peru has such a problem with discarded plastic bottles that more hotels should maintain the dispensers for refilling bottles.

Room Tip: Try for one of the few bigger rooms with high ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We booked this hotel based on Tripadvisor comments. When we arrived, we were told that we only had a reservation for one night. (Our print outs clearly said we had reservations for 2 nights). This was an issue, as we were going to Machu Picchu the next day and could not change hotels. After mentioning that we would be happy to mention the positives of the hotel on Tripadvisor - the staff managed to find room for the 6 of us for the second night :) . The hotel is clean and is in a great location. The staff was very helpful when on Thursday evening, we asked for a car service to take us to Cuzco at 7 AM Friday morning. We were woken up at 6 AM by the hotel staff and were told that our car is waiting for us outside- there was going to be a demonstration that day and the roads to Cuzco would be blocked and if we wanted to get inside the city we would have to leave ASAP. This was a HUGE help for us! Take note that the hotel does not take credit cards like many in Peru. We had to pay in cash.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeninaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
264 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel is lovely and quirky. Hotel staff were helpful throughout and provided useful information. The room is spacious and comfortable with great pillows and mattresses. My only criticism is the configuration of the rooms/bathrooms. From our bathroom we could hear very clearly what was going on in the adjacent room..

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jmt12london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mystic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Booked this hotel on advice from Trip adviser and was very pleased. Short walk from the main plaza and only a few steps from the Ollantaytambo ruins. It was cold but there was plenty of hot water and blankets. Friendly staff. I agree with the recommendation for the Heart Cafe.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paula a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We booked this at the last minute, so I didn't get a chance to read many reviews. Fortunately, Tikawasi Valley turned out to be lovely.

We stayed for one night in room on the first floor. The bed was comfortable and the shower was hot. Though it was cold outside once the sun set, the thick wool blankets kept us warm. Breakfast was above average, with fresh fruit, cheese and eggs cooked to order.

The owner doesn't speak much English, but was very helpful and saved us money on our return to Cusco. The only negative thing was his restaurant recommendation. Do yourself a favour and go to Hearts Cafe instead.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rainbowcarnage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We arrived after dark to this little hotel and was wondering what we had booked, but we were pleasently surprised, a very nice place. Friendly staff, managed without much of english. The rooms were fairly big. Only minus was that we in 2 of our 3 rooms did not have hot water. Very good for the price

Room Tip: Let the water run for a long time to get hot water
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank braendgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.0 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#5 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sol
Hotel Sol
#10 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tierra Inka Sacred Valley
Hotel Tierra Inka Sacred Valley
#8 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tikawasi Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tikawasi Valley Hotel

Property: Tikawasi Valley Hotel
Address: Calle La Convencion s/n - Ollantaytambo, Ollantaytambo, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tikawasi Valley Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tikawasi Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tikawasi Valley Hotel Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing