We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a hostel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of KB Tambo Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
KB Tambo Hostal
Wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for a hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We ad a room with a bathroom, so kind of like a hotel. Huge room, with good beds and pillows. Hot water. Overpriced I thought, but it is in the center of the action. Friendly staff. I am 53 and was traveling with my 20 year old daughter and it met my comfort needs and her bohemian needs. Ollantaytambo was by far my favorite town in the Sacred Valley. the bathroom was incredibly small. It was quiet for a hostel. I would stay here again and would recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Lower level
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    67
    17
    11
    11
See reviews for
35
114
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
169 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

The KB tambo is a excellent hotel option in Ollantaytambo. The bakery restaurant that is part of the Hotel bakes fresh bread, pizzas and a variety of pies and cakes. The breakfast that is part of the stay, is very tasty. The room was clean and comfortable and the wifi worked well. Our room was on the first floor and had a garden around it. We were able to hang wet clothing that we had hand washed upstairs and felt like we were staying with old friends rather than at a small Hotel. The hotel can also arrange a variety of adventure tours on mountain bikes, horseback or trekking. The whole staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

It would have been nice to spend more than one night here. We had a garden view room on the second floor--a beautiful garden view, plus a view of the ruins. It was also nice to have furniture for once--a table with two chairs, a bookcase, a chest of drawers, two night tables. It was clean, the water was hot, the staff was courteous. The only negative was that the bathroom door squeaked very loudly.

Breakfast was much better than average--small slices of bread rather than the usual round slab, fried eggs, very good coffee. They also gave us helpful advice about seeing the town, and held our bags for several hours after we checked out. This was our most expensive room of the trip, at $44, but it was also the nicest.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Loved the authentic experience and getting off the beaten tourist path. The highlight of our trip to Peru was the places we were taken by the KB Tambo crew for mountain biking, gorgeous views, history and a lot of fun. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

my husband and i were recommended this place by three other seperate groups of people on our travels. we loved it. nice hot showers, clean and large rooms, friendly staff and we even decided to do a mountain bike tour which we really enjoyed. great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

A gem of a place to stay! Small and comfortable just up the road from the Inca ruins and down from the main plaza. Rooms are tucked away behind. We had a room on the top with a view of the Inca terraces. Lovely little garden full of flowers.
Breakfast is included and served out front in the bakery by friendly and helpful staff. We stayed for 5 nights while exploring the sacred valley before heading off on the Inca Trail. Much better location to acclimatize than Cusco - glad we chose Ollantaytambo and KB Tambo. We hiked for three days directly out of the hotel - one day to Salineras/Moray/Maras and then to Pumamarca and finally the stone quarries. Staff were very helpful in giving us suggestions and directions. Also did the half day bike trip with KB down from Abra Malaga which was a lot of fun!
Ollantaytambo is a great location as a base to explore the sacred valley. You can get a combi from here to anywhere you need to get to safely for a few bucks. It is a quiet little town but with great restaurants, local people selling textiles and art and a neat Inca town to explore.
Hotel was very clean, has a well equipped bathroom and lots of hot water. Bed was comfortable with lots of blankets to keep you warm on chilly nights. We loved our stay here and were sorry to leave. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place to stay while in the sacred valley.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

My friend and I stayed here at the end of April 2013 for one night. April is a great time to go to Peru as it's their fall and not the busiest time of the year. Ollantaytambo is a really neat place to stay. We had other friends who stayed at Aguas Calientes (the town closest to Machupicchu) but that really short changes Ollantaytambo and requires a 1.5 hour train trip after your 2 hour cab ride. There are plenty of things to see here -- just ask the ridiculously helpful (and relatively English speaking) staff.

The WiFi is spotty but you're in Peru to see the sights, not faceblogtime about them ;)

I do NOT recommend the restaurant across the street as it took over an hour to get any attention. We came back to the hostal and they helped us instead.

Our taxi driver knew exactly where to go from the airport but I've been led to believe that's not always true.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank InventionEnds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.0 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sol
Hotel Sol
#9 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pakaritampu
Pakaritampu
#3 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KB Tambo Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KB Tambo Hostal

Property: KB Tambo Hostal
Address: Calle Ventiderio s/n | Center of town, Ollantaytambo 12345, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KB Tambo is a boutique hotel located in the center of Ollantaytambo. Bright, clean and fresh, KB Tambo is owned by travelers from Colorado/MN USA who know what travelers want! Steaming hot showers 24 hours a day (guaranteed), modern bathrooms, and all rooms with imported linens and top quality beds. Great onsite restaurant, rooftop deck with tiki bar and jacuzzi (closed rainy season)and friendly, local advice. Owners onsite every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your KB Tambo Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kb Tambo Hostal Hotel Ollantaytambo
KB Tambo Hostal Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing