We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cheap and cheerful”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chaska Wasi B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chaska Wasi B&B
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“cheap and cheerful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

I stayed here 2 nights adjusting to altitude before heading to Cusco on the 10 soles Collectivo, Kathie is honest helpful and despite being overworked on her own at moment, spent time with guests and I really enjoyed my stay. it is obviously a popular place to stay in Ollantaytambo and can thoroughly recommend it. the beds are clean and breakfast is basic but the welcome is warm and hospitable, only 1 question why is Cafe Con leche (with milk so impossible to find in this area?)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montyman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    29
    25
    3
    8
See reviews for
8
41
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Chaska Wasi sure has character, mostly from the owner, Kathy, who is super friendly and full of information, she just really likes to hang out with and talk to her guests! We had a double room with a private bath and it was a great value! Nice common area and a roof terrace, all right on the plaza in Ollantaytambo. My only complaint would be the mattresses and pillows...definitely could use an upgrade!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Saracj87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Decent hostel in the small town of Ollantaytambo.. You could tell that there was no real effort put into the place considering there is a flat screen in the main lobby but not a mirror in the dorm bathroom and bad decorations.. I found the beds to be extremely uncomfortable, but I was only there for one night and that is enough for me. An okay place if you are just staying one or two nights. Also no lockers for your things. BUT the owner is very nice!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheyWise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittard
Level Contributor
118 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

It's a basic hostel, but the prices are accordingly.

The owner is very friendly and engaged with the community, you can leave rice or sugar, she will take care that people who need it will get it.

When i had fever and headache, she accompanied me to a local doctor and translated everything.

Location is perfect, on the plaza de armas of Ollantaytambo.

Like i described, its basic, but the value for money is ok,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yens_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed in this hostal for two nights. Both nights provided a good nights sleep (apart from our snoring companion in the 4 bed dorm) and the place was very clean and tidy. We were allowed to bring our motorbike into the courtyard which was great.
My only question is to the owners rather strange rules, no wifi before 8am (because everyone should talk at breakfast), the need to use a small little tv to watch movies when there is a perfect screen downstairs and a compulsive need to close the front door even when trying to depart!
Also beware the breakfast, frozen marmalade, old butter and last weeks bread. The coffee was good but I was told off for using too much!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markaschmitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

After visiting Machu Picchu we really did not want to stay longer in Aguas Calientes (aka Machu Picchu pueblo) which is way too touristy and generally speaking a pricey rip-off.

We took the evening train back to Ollanta and stayed in this hostel on the main square of this small town.
We liked:
- The owner, really very nice and accommodating (speaks English really well). If you go back to Cusco from here, ask her about the hiking options she suggested to us via the Salinas near Maras and the agricultural 'amphitheatre' in Moray. Awesome sights to visit, great 12km walk in between locations. Highly recommended.
- Location, quiet, on the square and near the market
- Price, decent value for money

Did not like:
- shower, did not get hot

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeroen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

I had a great time! Katty, the owner was fantastic! She spoke well in English, was upbeat, friendly and answered all of my questions with honesty and details. Katty also let me know about all of the events that were taking place in the area so that I could make the most of my time there.

The only complaint that I would have is that it was really loud at night. Not in the hostel itself, but outside in the Plaza. I need to mention that there were festivities happening in the town.

I definitely enjoyed the hammock and the common area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bohdanka82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.3 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sol
Hotel Sol
#9 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaska Wasi B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaska Wasi B&B

Property: Chaska Wasi B&B
Address: Calle Principal s/n, Ollantaytambo 08471, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Chaska Wasi B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHASKA WASI was opened on October 20, 2002 . and from there we have grown with you .when was opened chaska wasi always felt more like home !! and that you can feel when you get over here !! clear now is a little bigger , but the essence does not change !!! chaska = star wasi = house "House with stars " so that the hostel does not lose its name , it is always important to look at the stars .so now we have spectacular views of the stars !! when you get to Ollantaytambo first you imagine it is, be within the story. Walking through these narrow streets , all built with stones and have next to water channels , which were built in the Inca era. CHASKA WASI is within the APU Pinkulluna . so we have our own entrance on the colcas . opposite the hostel we can see the tree Pisonay with more than 160 years old. There are also hikes of 1, 2, 4 and 6 hours. quarries, Inca bridge, Intipunku , Pumamarka and native communities ( Willoc , Yanamayo Patacancha ) in general can ask how to get to places. ollantaytambo enjoy !!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Chaska Wasi B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaska Wasi B&B Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing