We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel for great price!”
Review of Chaska Wasi B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chaska Wasi B&B
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hostel for great price!”
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Arrived around 19:00 and the front desk guy was realy nice, showed me the room, and gave great recommendation of restaurant.
Thr beds are comfortable, the room is warm and cozy, location is perfect.
Warm water are hard to achieve but available all the time.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Avivtech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    29
    25
    3
    8
See reviews for
8
43
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

place is clean and comfortable, rooms are nice but tiny, host is very nice and informative, In general if you're just looking for a place to spend the night in low budget this fits right for you, it's around 10$ pax with continental breakfast included

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank zerjzuw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2013

we booked a private room with private bathroom.it is an average hostel with clean bed and warm water, don't expect much for breakfast though. considering you are in a small town, I can recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linaro_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I stayed here 2 nights adjusting to altitude before heading to Cusco on the 10 soles Collectivo, Kathie is honest helpful and despite being overworked on her own at moment, spent time with guests and I really enjoyed my stay. it is obviously a popular place to stay in Ollantaytambo and can thoroughly recommend it. the beds are clean and breakfast is basic but the welcome is warm and hospitable, only 1 question why is Cafe Con leche (with milk so impossible to find in this area?)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montyman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Chaska Wasi sure has character, mostly from the owner, Kathy, who is super friendly and full of information, she just really likes to hang out with and talk to her guests! We had a double room with a private bath and it was a great value! Nice common area and a roof terrace, all right on the plaza in Ollantaytambo. My only complaint would be the mattresses and pillows...definitely could use an upgrade!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Saracj87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Decent hostel in the small town of Ollantaytambo.. You could tell that there was no real effort put into the place considering there is a flat screen in the main lobby but not a mirror in the dorm bathroom and bad decorations.. I found the beds to be extremely uncomfortable, but I was only there for one night and that is enough for me. An okay place if you are just staying one or two nights. Also no lockers for your things. BUT the owner is very nice!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheyWise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittard
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

It's a basic hostel, but the prices are accordingly.

The owner is very friendly and engaged with the community, you can leave rice or sugar, she will take care that people who need it will get it.

When i had fever and headache, she accompanied me to a local doctor and translated everything.

Location is perfect, on the plaza de armas of Ollantaytambo.

Like i described, its basic, but the value for money is ok,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yens_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.3 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Andenes
Hostel Andenes
#8 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
367 reviews
0.0 mi away
Janaxpacha Hostel
Janaxpacha Hostel
#1 of 49 in Ollantaytambo
190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel Ollantaytambo
Mama Simona Hostel Ollantaytambo
#2 of 49 in Ollantaytambo
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaska Wasi B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaska Wasi B&B

Property: Chaska Wasi B&B
Address: Calle Principal s/n, Ollantaytambo 08471, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Chaska Wasi B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHASKA WASI was opened on October 20, 2002 . and from there we have grown with you .when was opened chaska wasi always felt more like home !! and that you can feel when you get over here !! clear now is a little bigger , but the essence does not change !!! chaska = star wasi = house "House with stars " so that the hostel does not lose its name , it is always important to look at the stars .so now we have spectacular views of the stars !! when you get to Ollantaytambo first you imagine it is, be within the story. Walking through these narrow streets , all built with stones and have next to water channels , which were built in the Inca era. CHASKA WASI is within the APU Pinkulluna . so we have our own entrance on the colcas . opposite the hostel we can see the tree Pisonay with more than 160 years old. There are also hikes of 1, 2, 4 and 6 hours. quarries, Inca bridge, Intipunku , Pumamarka and native communities ( Willoc , Yanamayo Patacancha ) in general can ask how to get to places. ollantaytambo enjoy !!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Chaska Wasi B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaska Wasi B&B Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing