We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
K'uychi Punku Hostal
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Prezzi bassi, sistemazioni confortevoli, una deliziosa famiglia ad accogliervi. E soprattutto la più incantevole receptionist che vi possa capitare di incontrare: Hermelinda, 12 anni, la mattina a scuola (dove è bravissima), pomeriggio e sera ad aiutare i genitori, risolvendo qualunque tipo di problema per gli ospiti. Colazione ottima: da non perdere il succo d'arancia appena fatto, mentre il capofamiglia va a comprare il pane caldo (anche se partite alle 5 del mattino per Machu Picchu). Se lo provate vi innamorate.

Outrageously low price for the most confortable accomodation. Who found bad rooms was definitely unlucky... You will feel really at home, surrounded by all the attentions and cuddles by the nice family who owns the hostel. And you will fall in love with the cute, little receptionist who welcomes you heartily, sweet Hermelinda (12 years old!!), who studies at school during the day and takes care of guests in the evening. Very good breakfast (fresh squeezed orange juice recommended). try it!

Room Tip: L'unico problema è che l'acqua calda va SEMPRE controllata prima di fare la doccia. Se ci so...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laramagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
There are newer reviews for K'uychi Punku Hostal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2012

Parts of this hotel, including the breakfast area, were actually built by the Inkans (as was the whole pueblo) and have rock walls and exposed beams. I had a room in the newer section of the hostal on the second floor with a view of the ruins and the sunset. The room was clean and, while not fancy, totally adequate for my needs. The family that runs this place are some of the kindest and most accommodating people I've ever met. Breakfast was good - nothing fancy but they made you eggs if you wanted them. I liked the location and it was a value for the price.

Room Tip: I met some people who stayed in the front rooms and said they were noisy in the morning. My room in...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birdie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

I thought this place was OK. The owner was super friendly and helpful. The room was fine and clean, although the bathroom was a little smelly. The location, though, is great and I thought the price was reasonable too.

They serve breakfast with bread and eggs and various drinks, including juice and coca tea. It's certainly no hotel, but there aren't exactly any hotels in Ollantaytambo, so this place seemed as good as any.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pseudosphere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We were slightly disappointed with this place. It was not cheap, in comparison with other, better accommodation we had elsewhere in the sacred valley. Our room was fine but slightly grubby and very cold. the worst thing was that there never seemed to be anyone around, and when we went out we just had to leave our key lying on the front desk which didnt seem hugely secure. water ran out totally for several hours on the first evening. its fine and the location is good, but not amazing atmosphere and poor value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Unfortunately a very loud school group was staying at this hostal with us, but the positive aspects of this hostel far outweighed that negative. The owners are very friendsly, with an excellent collection of incan artefacts. I chatted to their kids in my mediocre spanish, they were just adorable. The rooms are basic, but comfortable. Thin walls made a little noisy, but we slept well after our Machu Picchu trip. The breakfast was delicious, a great start to the day. As there were 4 of us we decided to get a taxi back to Cusco, the owner walked with me to the main square to find one and negotiated the fare, we were very grateful. Excellent location, close to ruins, main square and train station.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waughsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

The owners and rest of the staff were very kind and helpful (the owner even walked us to the bus area and made sure we go onto the right bus heading to Urubamba) -- very welcoming environment. Our room was clean; beds/bedding were warm and comfy; showers had good water pressure and warm water; surrounding area is quiet. The breakfast provided was good -- my friends claim that the eggs were some of the best they've ever had. Location-wise it was perfect. Like others have mentioned, it is literally a minute away from the ruins.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Near the entrance to the Inca ruins this family run hotel provides a good base in Ollanta. Friendly owners and staff make it a pleasant place to stay and it is very good value for money. Bearing in mind most people only pass through Ollanta on the way to Machu Picchu, for a short overnight stay this hotel fits the bill

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.0 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
408 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
256 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel Ollantaytambo
Mama Simona Hostel Ollantaytambo
#2 of 51 in Ollantaytambo
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Apu Lodge
Apu Lodge
#2 of 32 in Ollantaytambo
410 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Andenes
Hostel Andenes
#10 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
191 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K'uychi Punku Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K'uychi Punku Hostal

Address: Plaza Araccama K'uychiPunku # 6 | Urubamba, Ollantaytambo 84, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Ollantaytambo
Price Range: £35 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — K'uychi Punku Hostal 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Ollantaytambo, Cusco's premier hostel, located in the center of the most important archeological area of Ollantaytambo. We’re just a few yards from the fortress ruins and craft market, blocks from the train and bus station. Our friendly atmosphere and great facilities have made us one of the best places to stay in the Sacred Valley, providing the perfect mix for bringing people together and giving them easy access to all that this great town has to offer!Check out our wide range of amenities and then come enjoy a comfortable and fun stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your K'uychi Punku Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
K'Uychi Punku Hostal Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing