We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hermosa vista, cálida atención” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of K'uychi Punku Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
K'uychi Punku Hostal
Argentina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Hermosa vista, cálida atención”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Muy buena atención. Nos hicieron sentir muy a gusto. Hermosa vista hacia las montañas, cerca de la Plaza de Armas, pero no en medio del ruido (tampoco hay tanto ruido). Un clima familiar y de buena predisposición. Muy lindo lugar para estar en pareja o en familia.
Ofrecen desayuno de pan con mantequilla y mermelada, jugo fresco y hasta huevos revueltos.

Very good service. They made us feel very welcome. Beautiful view of the mountains, near the Plaza de Armas, but not in the middle of the noisy area (there is not much noise anyway). A family atmosphere and good will. Very nice place to stay with friends or family.
They offer breakfast, bread with butter and jam, fresh juice and even scrambled eggs.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    27
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
24
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

The location of the hostel is fantastic, it's right next to the ruins and the market. It was a short walk from the train station, around 10 minutes. The staff were welcoming and friendly, they were happy to answer our questions about restaurants etc. (even with limited English). The rooms were cosy and clean, with lots of Peruvian style blankets to keep warm. There was hot water and a good shower. We even had a view of the ruins from our room window.
Breakfast was fantastic, after weeks of bread and jam for breakfast, we had scrambled eggs, fresh juice, coffee, plus bread and jam. This was a real treat on our travels!
It's so close to the ruins that you can get up early and explore the ruins before all the tourist buses arrive. The ruins ticket is for 24hrs, so you could visit 2 days if possible. A real find for the price, very good value for money!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FranglaisNomadique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
313 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

Excellent location, just outside the market and close to the ruins, we didn't have any problems with noise and found the beds to be comfortable and warm. The breakfast was okay, we didn't get any cooked option.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ironian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarvis, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

I chose this place out of lonely planet for the " 2m thick Inca walls " and the family hotel feel. I got that and more. Hot shower with good water pressure, pleasant room with a view and a courtyard full of flowers, cacti and stone artifacts that were fun to study. They stored my bag, sent out my laundry and remembered who I was when I came back while I was In Machu Picchu. They arranged and set the price ( ten soles less than I haggled for at the airport but I'm only an average haggler )for a taxi to Cusco for me and walked me out to the taxi. A town with a huge turnaround rate like Ollanta can easily become jaded with poor service but this family remains friendly and helpful.
I felt bad that at 04 15 in the morning, with no flashlight, on my way to the train I had to wake them up because it was pitch dark in the lobby and I couldn't get out. They should leave a little night light on to keep everybody happy. Also, grandma doesn't know how to use the visa card machine. I had to use up my emergency dollars on check out.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheepfarmer_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

I live in Peru 2 years now. I have been to this hotel twice. Yes, it can get noisy in this hotel. It has a inner court yard and the noise gets to the rooms. But at night, when it is time to sleep, it is quiet. No street noise at least from our room. I know some rooms, you feel like you are taking a shower with the room next door but it is the beauty of Peruvian architecture (or lack of). There are the occasional disrepectful tourist chatting loud who disturbe you.

The owner is lovely, they really try their best to accomodate you. They want to give you good service and will try, which is a plus in Peru.

You can negociate your price and they are very reasonable and honest.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariehp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

I guess it depends on the room you get. We were really happy with the one we got - we could even see part of the ruins from the window. It was an old Inca house which made it feel even more special. The family were friendly & helpful & I enjoyed the breakfast (I am difficult with my food but loved the scrambled eggs they provided). The hotel was just opposite the market stalls & the ruins.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank llanita84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pisa, Toscana, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

Prezzi bassi, sistemazioni confortevoli, una deliziosa famiglia ad accogliervi. E soprattutto la più incantevole receptionist che vi possa capitare di incontrare: Hermelinda, 12 anni, la mattina a scuola (dove è bravissima), pomeriggio e sera ad aiutare i genitori, risolvendo qualunque tipo di problema per gli ospiti. Colazione ottima: da non perdere il succo d'arancia appena fatto, mentre il capofamiglia va a comprare il pane caldo (anche se partite alle 5 del mattino per Machu Picchu). Se lo provate vi innamorate.

Outrageously low price for the most confortable accomodation. Who found bad rooms was definitely unlucky... You will feel really at home, surrounded by all the attentions and cuddles by the nice family who owns the hostel. And you will fall in love with the cute, little receptionist who welcomes you heartily, sweet Hermelinda (12 years old!!), who studies at school during the day and takes care of guests in the evening. Very good breakfast (fresh squeezed orange juice recommended). try it!

Room Tip: L'unico problema è che l'acqua calda va SEMPRE controllata prima di fare la doccia. Se ci so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laramagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.0 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#3 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.0 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel Ollantaytambo
Mama Simona Hostel Ollantaytambo
#2 of 41 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Chayana Wasi
Hostal Chayana Wasi
#11 of 41 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K'uychi Punku Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K'uychi Punku Hostal

Property: K'uychi Punku Hostal
Address: Plaza Araccama K'uychiPunku # 6 | Urubamba, Ollantaytambo 84, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — K'uychi Punku Hostal 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Ollantaytambo, Cusco's premier hostel, located in the center of the most important archeological area of Ollantaytambo. We’re just a few yards from the fortress ruins and craft market, blocks from the train and bus station. Our friendly atmosphere and great facilities have made us one of the best places to stay in the Sacred Valley, providing the perfect mix for bringing people together and giving them easy access to all that this great town has to offer!Check out our wide range of amenities and then come enjoy a comfortable and fun stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your K'uychi Punku Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
K'Uychi Punku Hostal Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing