We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”
Review of Hotel Samanapaq

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Samanapaq
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good choice”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Nice hotel with friendly staff and a good breakfast. Would benefit from additional heaters during winter but apart from that a good choice for ollantaytambo. Nice relaxing garden to chill out. Free coca-tea.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    114
    30
    5
    3
See reviews for
84
153
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights on our way to Machu Pichu. It has a lovely garden and communal space with a big log fire. The We would be grateful to have your advice on the following. Staff were incredibly friendly and accommodating. We had checked out in the morning but weren't leaving Ollantaytambo until the afternoon. The staff let us use the communal areas. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cldumas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
118 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

A friendly, well-maintained hotel very close to the main square. There’s an amazing and large garden, where you can relax in a hammock in the shade and take 40 winks! The rooms are basic, but tastefully decorated and the communal sitting area is really amazing - a big place with lots of comfy chairs to sit and read or chat. Friendly staff and a pretty good breakfast - no need to look anywhere else for your stay in Ollantaytambo.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravellerTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My friend and I had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The grounds are extremely peaceful and a short (2 min) walk from the center of town. The train station for Perurail to Machu Picchu was approximately 15 minutes away by foot, but we hired a small bike cab for a few dollars. I think it was better to stay at Samanapaq near the town center and restaurants than down near the train station. This hostal was far cleaner than most hotels I've been to. Breakfast was peaceful and delicious. This really set the tone for how great the Sacred Valley was going to be for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie72782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockport, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This was an excellent place to stay in Ollantaytambo. The rooms are large and clean and have a space heater if you get a little chilly at night. This hostal is surrounded by magnificent gardens with hammocks for relaxing. The people that run the place are very nice (brush up on your spanish ) There is a separate building for breakfast with breads, rolls, meats and cheeses, sweeter breads, yogurt, cereal, fresh squeezed juice and coffees. The staff will also cook to order eggs for you. There is also a separate communal area with a beautiful fire place and television. Here is where you can get your internet connection. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tchmth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
258 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

After two days in Lima we flew to Cusco and went immediately to Samanapaq and Ollantaytambo to adjust to the altitude. We were graciously welcomed and shown to our lovely rooms. The rooms are clean, the beds have lots of soft and warm linens, the bathrooms are spacious and the heater was appreciated for the cold nights. We enjoyed relaxing in the garden area with the lovely flowers and beautiful views. Coca tea is complimentary and you can refill your water bottles for one sole per litre.

The breakfast room is decorated with pottery made by the owner. The coffee was hot and plentiful and there were choices of breads, fruits, yogurts, cheeses, juices, teas and cereals and cooked to order eggs were offered.

The staff was friendly and helpful. Senora (the owner) arranged a driver for us on our last day for a visit to Pisac on our way to Cusco. It was nice to have someone she knew and trusted.

This is a lovely oasis in a lovely town and was our favorite stay in Peru.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluewaterdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney, australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This hotel is surrounded by beautiful gardens, flowers and even has a big old placid hound dog. It is lovely just to walk around the place or just sit in the breakfast room and take in the tranquility (come rugged up, there's no heating). It has great communal areas with an open fireplace, board games and big screen TV with lots of channels. The room itself was very comfortable, but with the usual wires hanging out of the wall and some flaking paint - it did have great views of the mountain though. A bit chilly at night as the small heater really wasn't up to it. We had a room on the ground floor, which did not catch any of the traffic noise from the nearby road - second floor rooms would be noisy in my estimation. Service is very accommodating, charming hostess - she even looked after our luggage when we went off to Macchu Picchu for a couple of days, even tough we weren't staying there on the way back. They can organise good secure taxis for you, but they are a bit dearer so we took our chances on the plaza and lived to tell the tale.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edwardLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.3 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
393 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
1,563 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sol
Hotel Sol
#10 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Samanapaq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Samanapaq

Property: Hotel Samanapaq
Address: Corner of the Alameda de Las Cien Ventanas / Pallpamccaro, Ollantaytambo, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Samanapaq 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Samanapaq reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Samanapaq Hotel Ollantaytambo
Hotel Samanapaq Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing