We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice option in Ollanta”
Review of Hotel Samanapaq

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Samanapaq
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A nice option in Ollanta”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Gorgeous grounds. Lovely lounge area with a fireplace and fast wifi. Conveniently located on the edge of town. Spacious room & bathroom. Comfy beds. Plentiful hot water with rain shower head. Space heater.

Reception is friendly but not helpful. Potentially a language problem but I don't think so. We asked to have a light fixed, it never happened. We asked for a restaurant reservation. They didn't want to call. They don't even have bottled water for sale.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lafleish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    115
    34
    6
    4
See reviews for
91
155
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We had to change hotels in town due to a change in plans. We were happy with our first hotel that had a great view of the ruins. We were pleasantly surprised with the property. Beautiful gardens with hammocks and chairs. Large clean room with very nice shower. The property was lovely and very clean. The rooms did not have a tv or wi fi but a beautiful large building with a large tv and average wifi for the town, it is not fast anywhere. The owner is very friendly and helpful. The location is just a block from the main plaza and a little quieter than closer to the ruins. There is a view of the storage ruins from the property.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Far in Ollanta is from 2 to 4 blocks, but considering walking on dark and narrow streets and you will get the right feeling of far in this context. Best restaurants are on the train station side and it is a good walk from the hotel. The room we had was quite comfy, the living area just in front was great, it helps to feel good, not exactly in a hotel. Our kid had a lot of fun at the beautiful garden. Breakfast is served in a nice area with a good morning sun bath. Service might have been too professional at some times, we had what we needed but it missed the latin friendliness and spontaneity sometimes.

Room Tip: The laundry was more than 3x more expensive than a normal one in Cuzco, consider holding it for a ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aroeira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Nice hotel with friendly staff and a good breakfast. Would benefit from additional heaters during winter but apart from that a good choice for ollantaytambo. Nice relaxing garden to chill out. Free coca-tea.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights on our way to Machu Pichu. It has a lovely garden and communal space with a big log fire. The We would be grateful to have your advice on the following. Staff were incredibly friendly and accommodating. We had checked out in the morning but weren't leaving Ollantaytambo until the afternoon. The staff let us use the communal areas. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cldumas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

A friendly, well-maintained hotel very close to the main square. There’s an amazing and large garden, where you can relax in a hammock in the shade and take 40 winks! The rooms are basic, but tastefully decorated and the communal sitting area is really amazing - a big place with lots of comfy chairs to sit and read or chat. Friendly staff and a pretty good breakfast - no need to look anywhere else for your stay in Ollantaytambo.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravellerTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My friend and I had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The grounds are extremely peaceful and a short (2 min) walk from the center of town. The train station for Perurail to Machu Picchu was approximately 15 minutes away by foot, but we hired a small bike cab for a few dollars. I think it was better to stay at Samanapaq near the town center and restaurants than down near the train station. This hostal was far cleaner than most hotels I've been to. Breakfast was peaceful and delicious. This really set the tone for how great the Sacred Valley was going to be for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie72782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
246 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
404 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
624 reviews
0.2 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sol
Hotel Sol
#11 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Samanapaq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Samanapaq

Property: Hotel Samanapaq
Address: Corner of the Alameda de Las Cien Ventanas / Pallpamccaro, Ollantaytambo, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Samanapaq 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Samanapaq reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Samanapaq Hotel Ollantaytambo
Hotel Samanapaq Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing