We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Samanapaq

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Samanapaq
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Ollantaytambo is a beautiful little town set right in the heart of the mountains, and Samanapaq is its hidden gem. Away from the square a bit, this family-run hotel with its verdant gardens, breezy hammocks, friendly pet dog and awesome owner lady is a haven at the end of the day spent roaming about the Sacred Valley. I can't say enough about the owner lady (I wish I'd asked her name!). The first day that we arrived we realized the shower didn't have enough warm water for even one person. After quickly shoving the kids in and out of a cold shower, I asked the lady if there could be some rectification. She tried her best but the water still ran cold. She apologized many times but couldn't be helped. The next day we were gone early to MP. Came back in the evening to see that she had had new water heater installed during the day so we all could take hot showers! :)

She also granted me access to the kitchen to prepare microwaveable meals for my picky young kids. She even didn't let me wash the dishes. So sweet. The lounge area is great with a fireplace and couches etc. Breakfast is scrumptious and included.

Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Garden facing rooms on the lower floor may have an ant problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Puja G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    112
    28
    5
    3
See reviews for
82
148
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

This is the best b&b in the Sacred Valley. It's a great value. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms clean and with a heater if you need one. The breakfast is also very good. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTL0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay at hostal samanapaq! Check in was great, breakfast was fresh & the rooms were nice. We stayed on the upper level away from the road so noise wasn't an issue for us. We were there in late august & it was quite chilly but the owners gave us room heaters & extra blankets. On both evenings after we returned from dinner, the staff set a fire for us to sit with a glass of wine & chat about the day.

We loved the town of Ollantaytambo; we did some sightseeing in the town as well as using it as our base for further travel around the sacred valley. The walk to town from the hostal was quick & pleasant but I would suggest a taxi to the train station as the roads are cobblestone & would be difficult to drag your luggage through town.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank KDBowman32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recife, PE
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Away from the maddening crowds, but only a couple of minutes walk from the plaza, and at the start of the wall of one hundred Niches, you find yourself standing before a unexceptional door firmly set in a substantial stone wall. Behind this door hides the best B & B in Ollantayambo. With clean and spacious accommodation and an open fire in a comfortable lounge in the evening Samanapaq has all that the weary traveller needs. The gardens are tranquil and full of flowers, with hammocks to rest in at the end of a busy day, or after enjoying a substantial and exceptional breakfast. Our second floor room had a balcony overlooking the garden and was, quite simply, idyllic. Without a doubt you will take delight in, and always remember affectionately, your stay at Samanapaq.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Spending time here in front of the fireplace at night and out in the back garden during the day perfectly complements the laid-back and relaxed feel of Ollanta. The hotel is family run and everyone is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is a little noisy in the mornings with guests getting ready for tours and trains etc. so sleeping in may be difficult.

Room Tip: Email directly to reserve and get the cheapest rate. Ask for room with a view of the back garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

The bedroom was nice, the bathroom was large and clean, the price is excellent, and there is a lovely garden and huge lounge to relax in. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our breakfast too.

Note on location: Ollantaytambo is a tiny town, and anywhere in there is within walking distance. That being said, Hostal Samanapaq is relatively far from the train station. If you have a lot of luggage, you may want to take a cab for around 3-4 soles, maybe 5 soles for a van.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights and found the staff very friendly and helpful, comfortable bedroom, good breakfast, location minutes from central plaza, lovely big garden with views of the surrounding mountains (it would be hard not to have such views). Very comfortable lounge area to relax in. What more do you need?

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy_humphries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.6 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sol
Hotel Sol
#9 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#3 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Samanapaq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Samanapaq

Property: Hotel Samanapaq
Address: Corner of the Alameda de Las Cien Ventanas / Pallpamccaro, Ollantaytambo, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Samanapaq 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Samanapaq reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Samanapaq Hotel Ollantaytambo
Hotel Samanapaq Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing