We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ridiculously slow service and very average food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orishas Cafe Restaurant

Orishas Cafe Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 65 Restaurants in Ollantaytambo
Price range: US$3 - US$15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Orishas Cafe Restaurant offers a warm and friendly atmosphere where you can taste the delicious dishes from a menu prepared for the most demanding palates . Located in Ollantaytambo ; Inca people living on the banks of the river Calicanto where we offer the most incredible view and unique experience to savor delicious dishes that brings Peruvian cuisine .
New York
Level Contributor
276 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Ridiculously slow service and very average food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

We ate here earlier this month just prior to setting out for Machu Picchu the following day. We were the ONLY people in the restaurant when we got there at 6:30. And when we left at 8:30, we were STILL the only people there. And yet, it took them forever to serve us. We waiting a half hour before we were even served drinks. There were two people in the kitchen and one waitress. But, considering she had no one else to serve, we couldn't understand why it took so long. She couldn't get our orders straight (actually brought something we didn't order) and I know it wasn't a language issue because I speak Spanish and was able to order for everyone. We chose this place because it was near the Hotel Pakaritampu. We had an early morning train to Machu Picchu and wanted a quick dinner. In the end, we realized we should have eaten at the hotel.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank manhattanmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    40
    25
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huaraz, Peru
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Pisco's but slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

Even though they did it with a smile, that's not what you are coming into a restaurant for; just seeing the waiter and waitress smile at you but not coming any closer. We finally had to go and ask for her tomcome to take our order, and went out to pay because the bill as waiting for so long. It's a nice place, nice athmosphere and generally with other people so truly enjoyable to be there. Just make sure you have enough time for it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guidoinperu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
141 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Sooooo slow”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

We only came in for a quick drink but my beer took half an hour to arrive and then when we wanted to pay and leave, having finished our drinks, it took another half an hour to get the bill and pay. They're running a business but they didn't have any change and I had to wait at the bar while the staff went out to get the correct change. What should have been a quick drink ended up taking most of the evening.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Choccy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinez, California
1 review
“Awful food!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

I had to write this review to warn everyone! This place is absolutely terrible. We sat down to dinner at 8:20pm, the at first very sweet young girl took our orders and we began to wait. By 9:30pm we had received our first salad, yep just a salad for four people to share who hiked Machu Picchu and were starved! My chicken soup was one of those bullion cubes dissolved in water with some old chicken and very very mushy spaghetti. Without even having the chance to try our soups they brought out our main courses, fine! My Aji de Galina with steamed white rice, supposedly in a cheesy sauce with some spices was so spice that my tongue and lips burned for hours and my rice was stale and crunchy. My husband ordered skewers of chicken, beef and Alpaca, they had no beef so offered to replace with pink trout. The trout smelled and tasted awful and the entire dish came out barely warm. Overall, we ate what we could to get our bellies full and left as fast as we could.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Irchik22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Regrettable experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Wish we had picked an alternative place for lunch as this place was pretty awful, and the decor was great so we thought it might be a sure thing.
Service woeful and the meals we had were so bad I refused to pay for them. They took 45 minutes to prepare too and we were the only two in the restaurant at the time..
Plenty of other decent places in town - avoid.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank running_bull_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Orishas Cafe Restaurant also viewed

Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
 
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Orishas Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing