We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greate place, friendly family”
Review of Hostel Andenes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostel Andenes
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I stayed in this hostal several time with my group, first time it was 10 years ago. Before it was really simple accommodation, but now it is getting better and better - especialy newest rooms in the garden. It is my peruvian home with friendly and helpful family.

Room Tip: rooms in the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cestovatelka_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

This is a small family run place. The manager, Felix, was really helpful directing us to an internet cafe (we had to buy/print tickets). Even if you don't speak Spanish (like me) he really tries to do his best to understand and help. You may want to let them know if you'll be out late since most of the hotels lock up fairly early & you have to ring the bell to wake them up to let you in. But what really makes me remember this place is that I checked out & left my ring on the bed. We left town, realized my mistake, came back & it was still there. Felix was so nice & comforting and I was relieved after being a mess for an hour.

On a different note, Hearts Cafe next door has amazing banana pancakes - inch thick, perfect buttery crispness, & I'm generally not partial to pancakes.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessHtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I am completely confused with how this place managed to get any average or good reviews after now staying there for 2 nights. I am infact positive they cannot be genuine. The place is a mess, tired, run down with management who couldn't give a stuff about their customers - they are never around and seem put out if you ask for them. My room wasn't serviced the whole time I was there and was crawling with bugs. I found my stay to be awful and would advise anybody contemplating staying here not to be fooled by these ratings and look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Itzapa-Itzapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

A fine family, (3 generations visible...) own & operate this pleasant hostal & restaurant in the center of Ollantaytambo. The food is varied & well prepared, the staff is very happy & helpful. The rooms are clean & comfortable. As mentioned above, they are real people & down to earth. You will be among real Peruvians & enjoy then very much.

Room Tip: Back rooms are newer, (Older rooms are cheaper...)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

in the heart of Incan territory--tiny town is delightful, one beautiful but dreadful restaurant (orchiedes?) overlooking river near by--terrible service, terrible food. but...inn was comfortable, no heat but heavy wool blankets. reasonably comfortable, gracious hosts. I thought balconies, courtyard charming. would def stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank locoparasurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This place is awful and that is largely the result of the staff and management. We stayed here for 2 nights on way to and from machu picchu and I'm sure there are far better value places to stay in Ollanta. Wifi non existent and their internet cafe had viruses while we were there so non functionar. No one ever on reception and we were rudely told not to ring the bell as its noisy? Room keys are by front entrance and anyone could steal and get in your room just off main road. Our room wasn't serviced in 2 days which is awful for a place charging $92 per night. They also refused to confirm the price as we'd booked online so you never know if you're being ripped off. Awful value at half the price.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1superreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

this was my second home away from home ran by felix & maria & their lovely extended family,great spot if you love to see pretty children wandering around saying hola & smiling .i was even invited to one of the kiddies 2nd birthday which i thought was very nice as well as watching chilli v peru futbol over a large bowl of popcorn with a couple of free soda drinks thrown in = an alround nice atmosphere!.also their showers are top notch !.the attatched restaurant has great food especially the alpaca rocotta definately recommended!,prepared by a young conciencious bloke named hubert who is allways working on his english whilst looking after his wife & young daughter.the hostal fronts the main road but rooms are located at the rear surrounding a quiet plant filled courtyard =a good sleep!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tezUlladulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.1 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#3 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#5 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Munay Tika
Munay Tika
#16 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
103 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
1,687 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tierra Inka Sacred Valley
Hotel Tierra Inka Sacred Valley
#8 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Andenes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Andenes

Address: Calle Ventiderio s/n | To 50 Meters Of The Main Square, Ollantaytambo 08676, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range: £13 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostel Andenes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Andenes invites you to enjoy the magic of feeling in family, enjoy your trip in the heart of the culture of the Incas, this hostel run by locals descendants of the Incas invite you to immerse yourself in their culture as locals Know better than anyone in Cusco and the Sacred Valley of the Inca and not to mention Ollantaytambo, our goal is that you feel at home and that you can enjoy your stay to the maximum, optimizing the time your trip with first hand information, our hostel Located near everything and with comfortable facilities awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hostel Andenes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Andenes Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing