We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and perfectly comfortable/warm”
Review of Hostel Andenes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostel Andenes
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Hostal Los Andenes was by far one of the best hostals i've stayed at. Booking online was extremely easy and quick, and they were really supportive in helping me find my way from the bus station to the hostal once I arrived in Ollantaytambo. Its a family-run hostal and the owners were very welcoming, attentive, and trustworthy people (even offered to store our bags in a safe place while we went to Machu Picchu for the day). The hostal is conveniently located next to a few restaurants (i recommend eating here as well as in the main square), and only 2 minutes away from the main square of town and the ruins of Ollantaytambo. The rooms were large and super comfortable: the beds were large and super warm with lots of comfy bedding (didnt feel the mid-june cusco chill we had felt during the rest of our trip), and the bathroom was large as well. The hostal is very pretty, resembling a small hacienda with a pretty garden, and it promises to get bigger and better after they complete their expansion project (currently going on, but it is of no inconvenience to current lodgers). Prices was terrific as well! we paid $10 per person a night (my group of 5 stayed at the family suite - 4 beds). Definitely recommend Hostal Los Andenes!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
There are newer reviews for Hostel Andenes
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

looks a bit scary from the alley, but inside there is a nice courtyard, and the rooms are nice. Seems to be run by a family, they served a great breakfast, and were very nice. The reception area seems a bit relaxed- there is not always someone there, but give a shout of Hola and they will come by :)

close to the ruins, Ollantaytambo is definitely worth at least a one night stay

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TahitiVonR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

* Our room was clean, and the shower was hot. Although the room was small, for US$30 I had no complaints.
* We came to Ollantaytambo by collectivo (shared taxi), which dropped us off at the main square. There's only one road going straight between the main square and the Inca site, and the hotel is in an alley off this road (to the left when you're facing the Inca site).
* Very good location. One-minute walk to the main square. Two to the Inca site.
* Each guest gets a bath towel and a small bar of soap. No other amenities.
* The front desk was not staffed. Only one person on the staff spoke English. Payment required at check-in.
* There were computer stations set up by the front desk.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank World M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

clean, quite, spacious room, comfy beds, with hot water! walking distance (400 m) to the train station and to the main square (20 m). don felix was very kind and help us find a safe taxi back to cusco. we stayed 2 nights and left early in the morning so didn't have time for breakfast. they also have 2 PCs with OK internet connection. no heating units in the room, but is not necessary because the room was not that cold and they gave us plenty of thick blankets. very recommended!

Room Tip: we had a family room for 4, but it can fit 5 easily.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iL0v3D0lph1ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

Its doesnt look like much from the outside but the room was spacious and the beds really comfy. Could only get hot shower in the evening though. Wifi was a on and off. The family are really friendly and they also have pcs you can use too. I paid 20 dollars a night and stay 2 nights. Would go back for sure

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrandMrsJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Stayed at Hostel Los Andenes for a week. We really enjoyed the hospitality. Everyone working here were very helpful. The rooms were clean as well as the common areas. The shower was hot every time we needed it. They served a great breakfast of eggs, orange juice, hot tea and bread. The area was fairly quiet. We had no problems sleeping. Sometimes wi-fi was hard to get though.

Around town there was lots to do. You can see the fortress, or climb up to the graineries, hike along the river or into the valley. You can also take a taxi up into side valleys to visit small villages.

We stayed three days before going to Machu Picchu and four days afterward.

We can recommend to hostel to anyone who is a seasoned traveler as a good place to stay.

Room Tip: near the central plaza
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ish_Kabibble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Although the hotel is simple I really loved it. There is some soul to the place. The rooms are simple but comfortable, hot water, managed to get wifi only on the second day. There is a tiny garden in the middle where we saw humming birds repeatedly. The day we needed to catch an early train they prepared a take away breakfast for us, which was really sweet. The second day we were taken for lovely breakfast to plaza de armas. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bewareofkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.1 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#3 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tierra Inka Sacred Valley
Hotel Tierra Inka Sacred Valley
#8 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
374 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Andenes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Andenes

Address: Calle Ventiderio s/n | to 50 meters of the main square, Ollantaytambo 08676, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range: £13 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostel Andenes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Andenes invites you to enjoy the magic of feeling in family, enjoy your trip in the heart of the culture of the Incas, this hostel run by locals descendants of the Incas invite you to immerse yourself in their culture as locals Know better than anyone in Cusco and the Sacred Valley of the Inca and not to mention Ollantaytambo, our goal is that you feel at home and that you can enjoy your stay to the maximum, optimizing the time your trip with first hand information, our hostel Located near everything and with comfortable facilities awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Andenes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Andenes Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing