We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent value budget accomodation”
Review of Hostel Andenes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostel Andenes
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Decent value budget accomodation”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed with our 11 year old son for 1 night in October 2013, and we had a quad room for about $40 a night.

It is a basic, no frills place. On the minus side, it was not very clean, and there is only a cold tap in the sink. However, there is a hot shower (most of the time), and our room was very spacious. Beds were OK.

I think breakfast was $4 per person, though we didn't have it as we left very early.

This hostel is definitely at the budget end of the market, and I guess you get what you pay for. However, the staff were very helpful, and the location is fantastic! A short walk from the Inca fortress and the main Plaza.

All in all, this was a fine budget accommodation choice, offering great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    72
    25
    9
    6
See reviews for
26
77
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kefalonia Greece
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

nice rooms around a small garden in a family run hostel. unreliable for trasportation (they forgot mine..), friendly, breakfast very poor. but the price is unbeatable (20 euro) for a big clean room, centrally located, just 2-3 minutes from central square. wifi sometimes..

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Read the reviews and popped by. Yes, the alley doesn't look like much, but once you're inside, it is a pleasant oasis. The owner was absolutely charming and showed us two rooms, both with bathroom and immaculately clean, cleaner than many starred hotels! Rooms were large, Bed was comfy and immaculate sheets/duvet. Best bits: it was cheap and there was hot water - even when we got up to get the train at 4AM!highly recommend to others you want a 'slight' backpacker feel at backpacker price but with proper hotel quality.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Hostal Los Andenes was by far one of the best hostals i've stayed at. Booking online was extremely easy and quick, and they were really supportive in helping me find my way from the bus station to the hostal once I arrived in Ollantaytambo. Its a family-run hostal and the owners were very welcoming, attentive, and trustworthy people (even offered to store our bags in a safe place while we went to Machu Picchu for the day). The hostal is conveniently located next to a few restaurants (i recommend eating here as well as in the main square), and only 2 minutes away from the main square of town and the ruins of Ollantaytambo. The rooms were large and super comfortable: the beds were large and super warm with lots of comfy bedding (didnt feel the mid-june cusco chill we had felt during the rest of our trip), and the bathroom was large as well. The hostal is very pretty, resembling a small hacienda with a pretty garden, and it promises to get bigger and better after they complete their expansion project (currently going on, but it is of no inconvenience to current lodgers). Prices was terrific as well! we paid $10 per person a night (my group of 5 stayed at the family suite - 4 beds). Definitely recommend Hostal Los Andenes!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

looks a bit scary from the alley, but inside there is a nice courtyard, and the rooms are nice. Seems to be run by a family, they served a great breakfast, and were very nice. The reception area seems a bit relaxed- there is not always someone there, but give a shout of Hola and they will come by :)

close to the ruins, Ollantaytambo is definitely worth at least a one night stay

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TahitiVonR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

* Our room was clean, and the shower was hot. Although the room was small, for US$30 I had no complaints.
* We came to Ollantaytambo by collectivo (shared taxi), which dropped us off at the main square. There's only one road going straight between the main square and the Inca site, and the hotel is in an alley off this road (to the left when you're facing the Inca site).
* Very good location. One-minute walk to the main square. Two to the Inca site.
* Each guest gets a bath towel and a small bar of soap. No other amenities.
* The front desk was not staffed. Only one person on the staff spoke English. Payment required at check-in.
* There were computer stations set up by the front desk.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank World M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

clean, quite, spacious room, comfy beds, with hot water! walking distance (400 m) to the train station and to the main square (20 m). don felix was very kind and help us find a safe taxi back to cusco. we stayed 2 nights and left early in the morning so didn't have time for breakfast. they also have 2 PCs with OK internet connection. no heating units in the room, but is not necessary because the room was not that cold and they gave us plenty of thick blankets. very recommended!

Room Tip: we had a family room for 4, but it can fit 5 easily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iL0v3D0lph1ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.1 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tierra Inka Sacred Valley
Hotel Tierra Inka Sacred Valley
#9 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sol
Hotel Sol
#11 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Andenes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Andenes

Property: Hostel Andenes
Address: Calle Ventiderio s/n | to 50 meters of the main square, Ollantaytambo 08676, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostel Andenes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Andenes invites you to enjoy the magic of feeling in family, enjoy your trip in the heart of the culture of the Incas, this hostel run by locals descendants of the Incas invite you to immerse yourself in their culture as locals Know better than anyone in Cusco and the Sacred Valley of the Inca and not to mention Ollantaytambo, our goal is that you feel at home and that you can enjoy your stay to the maximum, optimizing the time your trip with first hand information, our hostel Located near everything and with comfortable facilities awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hostel Andenes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Andenes Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing