We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hosts, beautiful area”
Review of Casa de Wow!!!

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa de Wow!!!
Ranked #5 of 29 Ollantaytambo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San francisco, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful hosts, beautiful area”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My family of 4 stayed in the quad room of this charming hostal and enjoyed it very much. Winn and her staff were so helpful from the time I made the reservation (months ahead) to the date of arrival. They helped with everything from airport and local transport to daily excursions. Winn helped book a horseback ride for us which showed us the beauty of Ollantaytambo area. Highly recommended! The breakfast was good, beds comfy, hospitality nice. The only issue we had was with the hot water while showering - spotty at times.

We left some slightly worn shoes and clothing to pass on to the locals which was greatly appreciated. Stay here, you'll be well taken care of!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busterbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    49
    11
    13
    4
See reviews for
35
87
37
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nevada City, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Our family came to stay at Casa de Wow for a couple of days. Winn is the most wonderfully delightful hostess as were the guest helpers. We had breakfast made to order every day, impromptu outings arranged for us, great conversations all offered with big smiles. The location is central to everything. The beds were the most comfortable we found on our 6 week trip. Our kids ages 8 and 12 were the only kids there but they were immediately made to feel part of the Casa de Wow family. We were scheduled to leave and decided to stay for a week! I'd highly recommend Casa de Wow if in Ollanta.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chariemcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I am really late on getting my reviews out of my trip to Peru. The first two nights we stayed at Casa de Wow and it was great. Laid back, great breakfast and accommodating. Getting laundry out and back was a piece of cake, the shower was hot and great recommendations for food and sights around town. Also, Winn was able to contact my previously set up taxi ride back to Cuzco so we could stay an extra night. (I made a logistical error in my planning).

Overall my favorite hostel of the trip. Recommend to all.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dbostranderElon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunnison, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed at Casa de Wow in May 2012 -- wonderful place; Wynn was a very welcoming host. The hostel is right along the river and our room had wonderful views of the ruins. The beds are gorgeous - made by Wow. Wonderful breakfast each morning and Wynn was really helpful in explaining how to get places and suggesting places to visit. I hope to get back to Ollantaytambo one day and Casa de Wow will be on the itinerary for sure!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kk81230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed at Casa De Wow on August 8th, one day before the previous reviewer left a message. I'm unsure what happened to them, but let me tell you about our stay.

This was the ONLY hostel in Peru we just adored. We walked into Casa De Wow, when Wow was gone, another guest let us in. They let us know it was safe, where we could leave our things, and told us where the tea was. It was awesome. We waited around a bit and sure enough wow showed up. He doesn't speak English, but the tour was clear enough, we knew where the bathrooms were, tea, water, etc. At the end we both got huge hugs that were full of love and he said "Mi casa es su casa." Loved it.

The atmosphere at Casa De Wow is full of love and awesome. I want to go back to Peru just to stay there. It highlighed our lovely stay in Ollantaytambo with perfection. We stayed another night at a different hostel after Macchu Picchu called Chaska Waki and it just didn't hold a candle to Casa de Wow.

This was the first hostel that was slightly warm at night and the beds were super comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soverygrateful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I'm not even sure if this hotel is still open, but I want to send this warning in case this happens to others. I waited a week to write this in hopes that the owner would email me to apologize for leaving my group high and dry. We had arranged to have half of our group of 23 stay at Casa de Wow and the other half at Sumac Hostal based on capacity. When we arrived, we were greeted at the door by a US American who immediately knew my name but did not allow me in. Her partner came to the door, and shut it behind him and explained that we would not be able to stay at the hostal because things had become "complicated" with no more explanation, he took me to Sumac Hostal which did have space to hold our entire group. I appreciated the assistance by this gentleman to secure that we were settled, but was appalled that no more explanation, apology or anything came from Winn the owner. Very unprofessional.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casadewow, Owner at Casa de Wow!!!, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Scammed..?? Left high and dry...? You were neither scammed nor left high and dry. Your reservation had to be cancelled for an emergency situation. Why would you need to know the details of the emergency? We made other arrangements for your group which was a very easy change. And in fact, what was reported to us by the helper who escorted you and your group was that you all were happier to be able to stay in the same hostel instead of being divided between two different places. You were not at all left high and dry. And you were not scammed your reservation was simply cancelled, which of course, we regretted having to do. It was the first time in our operating history that we had to do such and would never have done it if it hadn't been an emergency. We are sorry for any inconvenience and hurt feelings.... and we feel your review is a bit extreme.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I am very happy we checked out LonelyPlanet before we went to Ollantaytambo, otherwise we probably wouldn´t have spent the night here. I made the reservation in the morning of our arrival through the phone. I just had to mention my name. When we arrived she immediately knew who we were. She was very kind! We immediately fell in love with the room. The bed was made out of a tree and it was very comfortable. I wish I could have stayed a night longer, but we had to go to Machupicchu. I am trying though to come back an other time before I head back to Holland.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lujay v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.2 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
393 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
242 reviews
0.0 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostel Andenes
Hostel Andenes
#11 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
355 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Wow!!!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Wow!!!

Property: Casa de Wow!!!
Address: Calle Patacalle, Ollantaytambo 08471, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best of Both Worlds is what you get at Casa de Wow!!! Created by Winn and Wow - a North American woman (Atlanta, GA & Asheville, NC) and a South American man (Ollantaytambo) - one might call Casa de Wow!!! a cultural bridge providing its guests with a unique and enriching experience. The comfort and luxuries of the North are combined with the relaxed down-to-earth atmosphere of Peru, in particular the tranquility of Ollantaytambo and the creativity of Wow, who is an incredible artist (thus the nickname).So come join us..... and relax, as you sit atop our eucalyptus benches listening to the running waters of the Inkan aqueducts while you marvel at the stunning view of the ancient Inkan monuments. The location of our Casa is ideally situated on a cobblestone pedestrian street in the "old town" section of Ollantaytambo, just five minutes from the Plaza and all attractions. In the morning, enjoy a tasty breakfast including local organic jams. During the day, we'd be happy to help you organize unique excursions to magical local sites that are off the beaten path. In the evening, enjoy a cup of warm tea from our kitchen, watch a DVD in our cozy living room or gaze at the stars from our rooftop nook. Finally, retire to our beautiful and traditional Wow-crafted beds for a good night's sleep. Once you've stayed with us you will know why we're called "Casa de Wow!!!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa de Wow!!! reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Wow!!! Hotel Ollantaytambo
Casa De Wow!!! Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing