We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great budget place in Ollantay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa de Wow!!!

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa de Wow!!!
Ranked #4 of 24 Ollantaytambo B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great budget place in Ollantay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

This place was definitely a great start for my husband's and my trip in Peru. The rooms are comfortable and cozy, giving a feel of the area. Wow hand made the beds in all of the rooms and there was a lot of decorations that set the tone (e.g. dream catchers). We had a room with a private bathroom. This is not a 5 star hotel, but more along the lines of a fantastic hostel at a great price. There were great views from the top out of a widow's peak - you could see the ruins of Ollantaytambo. We ended up staying here for two nights instead of the one night we originally planned.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    47
    10
    12
    4
See reviews for
34
85
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

This place is magical! It was easily my favorite place to stay during my 6 week trip in Peru. I'll never forget laying in bed looking out my window and seeing a star filled night above the Ollantaytambo ruins with the sounds of water rushing by.

The owners are super nice and will cook you breakfast in the morning!

Room Tip: Get the single room if you can. It's the best room in the house with the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
186 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

First thing you have to know: casa de wow! is not a three star hotel, and the price is accordingly low and very affordable. Bathrooms are shared, and there is one bathroom for each floor (3-4 rooms). But this is such a fantastic place. The rooms are really artistic and cozy. The owner is incredible friendly, and very helpful – it might be very handy if you speak Spanish, his English is very basic. The breakfast is great. And if you have a front side room, you will have a nice view on the Ollanta ruins! The only negative point for me were the thin curtains, combined by street lightning in front of our room, making it difficult to sleep with a lot of light. I doubt you can find better in this price range, so if you travel on a budget don’t hesitate and sleep here!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geographtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kauai, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Casa de Wow was great. We stayed in October and it was more than we had hoped for. Our room was great with a beautiful view of the ruins! The building is so artistic and creative. Wow's creativity is seen throughout the casa. Wow was a spectacular host. We feel truly blessed to have met him. He truly cares about the guests. We had booked two nights but ended up adding on an extra night because we enjoyed Casa de Wow and the town of Ollantaytambo so much! We would highly recommend staying at Casa de Wow. We fell in love with this place!
Melissa and Todd A.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cusco, Peru
Level Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

It was a great week end in Ollanta at the Casa de Wow. Simple, clean, coloured, arts and a lot of love and nice atmosphere. We felt completely at home!
The kitchen is very well equipped and furnished with full variety of teas and coffee, very hospitable dining table for group up to 8-10 pax...The rooms are especially decorated with different colors and arts, the beds are simply divine, all hand made by Wow. Our room had a view of the ruines with the sounds of the water down the main walking...it was delicious!!
dulcis in fundo, there is a little stairs to the small roof top, and from there the view of the ruines an the mountains is stunning.
Breakfast is always served with fresh warm bread and home made jam, plus fruits, and eggs...
definitely i will go back soon!
strictly recommended !

Room Tip: Rooms are all cleaned with great mattresses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katyaperu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at casa de wow for 2 nights and enjoyed it very much. Our room was nice and clean with very comfortable beds. We had to leave at 5am to take the train to Machu Picchu one morning but Wow was kind enough to have breakfast to go ready for us in a paper bag consisting of bread, hard boiled egg and juice. He always invited us for tea in the kitchen when we arrived back at the house at night. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ling726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

I love Casa de Wow. From it's sweet location to the cheerful colors to the warm welcoming owner... it all was above and beyond my expectations.
Ollanta is picturesque and the hostel is a short walk from the plaza along cobblestone walking streets. The narrow streets are lined with adobe walls that provide glimpses into the resident's courtyards via wooden gates. At night, ornate lanterns provide a warm glow to the streets and the sound of running water is constant and soothing because of the irrigation canals that run through the whole town.
So the Casa is welcoming with it's big sign, plants, and benches out front. The Casa faces the ruins and the rooms on that side all have great views. The place is compact and cozy. The common room has a gazillion dvds to watch, comfy sofas, and a big ol' library of local interests.
The kitchen is a bit small for doing your own cooking but the town has so many tasty restaurants and the hostel serves breakfast in the a.m. so there wasn't much need for doing my own cooking.
Laundry service and wifi are available. Winn and Wow gave lots of helpful advice about everything a traveler could need.
I had no set itinerary and didn't know how long I would stay. I loved the town and the hostel so much I just kept adding nights and I think I stayed a total of two weeks all told. I'm pretty sure I stayed in almost every room. Rooms are compact but not cramped. Each room is painted a different vibrant color and the wool blankets on the beds add to the festive feeling. Lots of sky lights let in natural light. The beds are hand-built by Wow from local trees. Feels like sleeping in a tree house. :) I just had a really great time at Casa de Wow and hope that I can go back someday.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, depending on what you need some are better than others. The 3 rooms upstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.2 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.0 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Janaxpacha Hostel
Janaxpacha Hostel
#1 of 42 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apu Lodge
Apu Lodge
#2 of 24 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Wow!!!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Wow!!!

Property: Casa de Wow!!!
Address: Calle Patacalle, Ollantaytambo 08471, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best of Both Worlds is what you get at Casa de Wow!!! Created by Winn and Wow - a North American woman (Atlanta, GA & Asheville, NC) and a South American man (Ollantaytambo) - one might call Casa de Wow!!! a cultural bridge providing its guests with a unique and enriching experience. The comfort and luxuries of the North are combined with the relaxed down-to-earth atmosphere of Peru, in particular the tranquility of Ollantaytambo and the creativity of Wow, who is an incredible artist (thus the nickname).So come join us..... and relax, as you sit atop our eucalyptus benches listening to the running waters of the Inkan aqueducts while you marvel at the stunning view of the ancient Inkan monuments. The location of our Casa is ideally situated on a cobblestone pedestrian street in the "old town" section of Ollantaytambo, just five minutes from the Plaza and all attractions. In the morning, enjoy a tasty breakfast including local organic jams. During the day, we'd be happy to help you organize unique excursions to magical local sites that are off the beaten path. In the evening, enjoy a cup of warm tea from our kitchen, watch a DVD in our cozy living room or gaze at the stars from our rooftop nook. Finally, retire to our beautiful and traditional Wow-crafted beds for a good night's sleep. Once you've stayed with us you will know why we're called "Casa de Wow!!!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa de Wow!!! reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Wow!!! Hotel Ollantaytambo
Casa De Wow!!! Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing