We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very welcome Oasis”
Review of Hotel Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sol
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
GreenLeadersSilver level
Blagdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A very welcome Oasis”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed in the Hitel Sol after our trip along the Inca Trail. We really liked it.
The hotel was very clean and the rooms are large enough for a whole family if you are on a budget. The beds were comfortable and the showers excellent.
The staff were very friendly and we appreciated the extra mile that Sergio went to get us an early breakfast on our last day before we went rafting.
I would love to go back and throughly recommend it.
Chris Strong (England)

Room Tip: Any room looks good. We stayed in two rooms on the ground floor and one on the first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TableTennisMan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    135
    66
    21
    8
See reviews for
109
183
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

What a comfy and peaceful getaway! The staff was beyond friendly and helpful! My friends and I decided to acclimate here before going to Cusco. Needless to say, a great idea. From this hotel, you can take daily hikes and mountain bike trips--it's close to Moray, Maras, and Salineras...Sergio and Carlos were the best. Both were very knowledgeable and offerered great tips on what to do in the area. We recommend this place to all tourists who are going to Machupicchu.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2011

My family and stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and it was by far the best hotel we had stayed in Peru. I was fortunate to have a balcony view of the Ollantay. fortress ruins. I usually have difficulty sleeping unless I have a sound machine, but who needs a sound machine when you have the sound of the river!! The river flows by the hotel and I also had the view of it. This is probably the best view/location I have ever had in any hotel yet and I have travelled a lot.

The price is very good. The rooms are not top luxury, so people who are used to staying in corporate looking accommodations may be slightly disappointed. That is not to say anything bad about the rooms one bit. This hotel has more character and personality than any 5 star luxurious hotel.. I think the way the rooms look and the way the hotel is set up is very appropriate for the location. . The rooms are very clean.

The icing on the cake was the customer service. Seriously one of the best. The front desk was very helpful and flexible. At one point we had one person in our family back out last minute and they were willing to cancel a room in exchange for putting that person in a 3 bed room which saved us money. Most importantly, they helped us get a discount on our admission tickets to the fortress and gave us a tour guide. The tour guide's name was Walter and he was truly the best guide we have had on this trip. I recommend requesting him. I learned more from him that the guide we had at Machu Picchu. He was also very patient. I found that some guides like to rush things, but Walter was not one of them. He was excellent

So.. overall I highly recommend this place..

M

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mvice001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Spacious rooms, warm atmosphere, and so convenient!
I would heartily recommend this place to anyone who's looking to stay in Ollantaytambo.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We moved over from KB Tambo Hotel next door because they could only accommodate us two nights, and this is a sister-hotel. The rooms here were large and nice, slept the four of us, and we were on the upper floor, on the side overlooking the creek and had a darling little balcony. The breakfast room was the best breakfast room of our entire trip - windows on three sides, overlooking the creek, views of all. Our only complaint was a very nasty smell in the bathroom like maybe the sink wasn't venting properly. We did let the staff know so maybe it's fixed!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2011

This was one of the best hotel experiences I've ever had. Brand new, amazing service, attention to detail. Beautiful property, with amazing views of the ruins and amazing staff! The manager Sergio was very kind and helpfull.
I very highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cusco, Peru
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2011

This place was the greatest of our trip, we had a wonderful view of the ruins, lots of hot water, free Wi-Fi, free tasty breakfast, friendly staff, including Sergio the front desk, we recommend this place to all people who is going to MP.
We will come back for christmas so see you soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.1 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
354 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tierra Inka Sacred Valley
Hotel Tierra Inka Sacred Valley
#9 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sol

Property: Hotel Sol
Address: Calle Ventiderio, Ollantaytambo 12345, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#4 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently opened and newly built, Hotel Sol is an elegant boutique hotel in the center of Ollantaytambo, facing the ruins and directly alongside the Patacancha river. Ample sunny common areas, large rooms with modern baths, restaurant and wine bar, and impeccable customer service are the highlights of this perfectly located hotel. Free travel planning and advice for Machu Picchu included, we hope to see you soon ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Hotel Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sol Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing