We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & comfortable”
Review of Hotel Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sol
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Coming to Hotel Sol felt like coming to a home away from home. We stayed there the night after going to Machu Picchu. We had no trouble leaving our luggage there for a night and a day while we were in Aguas Calientes and Machu Picchu. Staff were friendly and helpful--they helped us call a previous hotel where we had forgotten an item and made an excellent dinner reservation at the hostel/restaurant next door. The location is perfect--a few steps from the main square, down the street from the train station, and a couple of blocks to the artisan market and ruins. We had a beautiful view of the ruins from our room (worth paying a little extra for). Breakfast was excellent and included home baked bread, eggs made to order, fresh fruit, coffee/tea/cocoa tea and I think pancakes were even an option.

Room Tip: ask for a ruins/river view
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 73wanderlust73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sol
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

286 - 292 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2011

A very nice property in a central location. You are 3 blocks from plaza darmas and 3 blocks from the Ruins. I got a double room facing the river & the ruins. Gorgeous to wake up to. clean, nice common area. Wifi service good. Breakfast is okay. Nothing fancy. Some hard/crunchy bread with eggs or butter. and your morning coffee tea or juice.

Room Tip: Facing the river and ruins
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agent226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed 2 nights here in room 203.
The hotel is located in a wonderful spot. Less then a 5 minute walk to restaurants, town square and ruins.
We had a great balcony with chairs on it overlooking the ruins, great views to wake up to.
The room was simple but comfortable, the shower was great with plenty of hot water. The rooms include breakfast in a fanatastic eating area. Breakfast was wonderful, have the pancake as it is as big as a dinner plate.
The hotel arranged for a driver to take us back to Cuzco with stops in Moray and Salineras on the way. The driver did not speak english however with my limited spanish we managed well.
We did have 1 issue with the hotel that Lluc the owner handled very well.
When we arrived back in Cuzco around 5 pm we realised that the hotel had overcharged us. I contacted Lluc and he without hesitation acknowlegded that he made a mistake. He was unable to credit the money back to my credit card. I had a early morning flight back to Lima so Lluc sent the money to me by taxi and I recieved every penny back with a note apologizing around 9:30 that night.
A great place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 203 has the largest balcony you can actually sit on it. Go to the ruins early in the morning b...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ERDFirefighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We stayed three nights in the hotel. The room was large, clean, and in a wonderful environment. The room we had was next to the river and we had a great view and the sweet sounds of water flowing down the river.

The staff was very helpful and kind. They sincerely seemed interested in our comfort and safety.

The breakfast was very good. There was a choice of eggs and toast or pancakes along with the usual drink selection. Juice was served and there were various fruit selections.

There were three issues which stop me from giving this my top rating:
1) The bed was very hard. My wife ended up doubling up a thick blanket to make it acceptably soft (although still very hard). Your taste may vary but it felt extremely hard to me too.
2) Having hot water was a problem. They did try to rectify this and we did have one night of hot water and one night of coolish water.
3) The Wi-Fi did not work in our room, but it did work well in the second floor common area.

Overall, the size of the room, the great staff, and the beautiful view would cause me to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the river and away from the street.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7Continentsymas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Room 204, our own personal sanctuary for 3 nights. The room was very spacious, great shower and bathroom. The balcony was wonderful and the view was amazing. We could hear the river as we slept. Plenty of privacy. We enjoyed the web access and the outdoor atrium. Staff was very nice and helpful. Centrally located, we walked to the train station for our day at Machu Picchu, to the ruins, plenty of shopping. Walking around the town was very convenient and charming. I would defiantly go back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BnS L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Felt a bit like staying in a spa - beautiful greenery in the courtyard, open air, it's new and it feels it! Everything in great working order. We had a room that faced the river and had a ruins view - great sound for sleeping, and the view in the morning was excellent! The staff was very friendly, and all the breakfasts we had (eggs or the *enormous* pancake). Our first exposure to the jam "awaymanto" or "aguaymanto" - seen it spelled both ways, which one of the staff translated as "goldenberry". Not sure that's correct, but it was great.

Sure, for Peru it's a little expensive, but for two it's worth it. Breakfast is included, and we found it generous!

I'd pass on the box lunch (which was fine, no particular complaints but a bit expensive), and go to Heart's cafe instead (benefits a charity, vegetarian options, and tastier).

Room Tip: At least for one night...river/ruins side is a really nice splurge!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We have been looking forward to our stop in Ollantaytambo for so long, and we werent disappointed. We had a room with a ruins view and balcony, the room was spacious and the bathroom was also lovely with a great shower. Beds were a bit harder than we are used to but rooms were very quiet.
Carlos and the other staff we extremely helpful and friendly, from booking the hotel, to recommending a restaurant for dinner.
Its right in the centre of town and I cant recommend this hotel highly enough. Thanks again Carlos!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharlsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.1 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#3 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
1,630 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#5 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sol

Address: Calle Ventiderio, Ollantaytambo 12345, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#4 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range: £41 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently opened and newly built, Hotel Sol is an elegant boutique hotel in the center of Ollantaytambo, facing the ruins and directly alongside the Patacancha river. Ample sunny common areas, large rooms with modern baths, restaurant and wine bar, and impeccable customer service are the highlights of this perfectly located hotel. Free travel planning and advice for Machu Picchu included, we hope to see you soon ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sol Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing