We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Absolute Must”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sol
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“An Absolute Must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Hotel Sol is simply beautiful. The Spanish guy who runs it is really friendly and very relaxed about check in. We stayed in a room with views of the ruins and we couldn't have been any closer to them. You look out across the river and the ruins are right there. Gorgeous! The room itself was really big and comfortable. The shower was nice and hot and the free coffee in the bar was fantastic. The hotel is right in the heart of town and we wish we'd arranged to stay there again after completing the Inca Trail. Well worth the splurge!

Room Tip: Go the extra little bit and get a room with views of the ruins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    132
    64
    20
    7
See reviews for
105
179
34
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Staying at this hotel and hanging out at the attached Library Bar is definitely the reason to go to Ollantaytambo. Though the hotel is a little more expensive than others, the staff are amazing - some of the coolest people I met in South America. Ask for John (and Diego) the bartender/chef of the library bar, he makes his own pisco drinks that will blow your mind and the food is great.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dsprinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

In total, our group was in Ollaytan for 6 nights so we got a very good feel of the town and our options. Hotel Sol is the best of many worlds in a town clogged with hostels and other accommodations.

Positive
- comfortable beds and rooms
- hot water
- wifi (though weak in the back rooms)
- incredible, friendly staff
- water to refill your water bottle so you don't keep buying new plastic bottles (and polluting their overtaxed resources)
- great location (5 minute walk from the train, 2 minutes from the square and across the street from Heart Cafe)
- gorgeous breakfast room that gives you views of the river, the ruins and the bustling street (but see below)

Negative
- guests that leave early in the morning can be heard talking and moving about. I suspect though that this is as much an issue of poor insulation as it is inconsiderate people.
- the breakfast room is freezing because it is all glass, which gives you the great view but lets in the cold morning air. wear your layers!

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room in the back and away from the noise of inconsiderate t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heatherelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Our family spent 3 nights at Sol in Ollantaytambo. The staff was the best and our room was excellent. We were provided a heater and had hot water immediately. July in Peru is winter, so be warned that you need to bring warmer clothing. The breakfast the next morning was excellent. Be sure to try the gooseberry jelly!

Room Tip: We had a beautiful view of the Ollantaytambo Ruins. If we tired of being inside, there was a lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melody R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Ok, so these guys really know how to run a hotel and put their customers first. My wife and I stayed for 4 days after coming back from Maccu Pichu. The rooms are a good price and the quality is excellent for the price. They organised a great guide for us to do a specific walk we wanted up to 4000m in the mountains, it all went very well. The breakfast is good. The bar is good. The people are great. It worked well with out little one (age 2) and would be good for singles too.

If you stay in any hotel in Ollay ... stay in this one.

Ashley + Cindy + Scott

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river, if you like a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank x_HappyTravels_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

While there was nothing terribly wrong with this hotel, I expected more based on the other reviews here. Let me start by saying the rooms are clean and basic, and the location is great. There are no TVs, but the great view of the ruins makes up for that.

That being said, we werent impressed with the staff. The guy at the front desk sort of seemed annoyed by our arrival and didnt really have anything to offer in terms of maps, things to do, suggestions, etc. The woman there the next morning didn't speak any English (i can't really fault her for that - it is Peru) so she wasn't able to help much either.

There are no clocks in the room and we were coming directly from the inca trail without any electronics or even a watch (my boyfriend's broke). So we asked for a 7:30 wake-up call... it never happened. I couldnt beleive that! What a terrible situation that could have been if we had had a tour, or a flight, or anything we needed to get to!

Finally, the breakfast was ok. The bread was stale, but they did make eggs. And one more thing: don't count on using their shampoo! It was clearly watered down to the point of being useless. My guess is they just refill half used bottles with water and put that back in the rooms. Not exactly great.

All in all - average, but not deserving of #2 on trip advisor.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

We took a family room with a small balcony overlooking the creek and the ruins at Ollantaymbo. The room and bathroom were spacious and well equipped, and done in a cheerful colour, adding to the Peruvian ambience. The lobby, landing and dining areas have a lovely open feeling about them. The breakfast was great, though both mornings several guests were eating at one time, and the waiter got very busy hauling food and dishes up the steps from the kitchen - we had to be patient and persist in asking for top ups on fruit and hot water in the self service jug. There is a central tea-making facility on the landing, but the water wasn't kept hot. The adjoining restaurant did good food in a nice intimate space, but you're only a short stroll from the restaurants in the square, and the market is just over the bridge. Staff were very helpful, all in all a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ranui T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.1 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#3 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sol

Property: Hotel Sol
Address: Calle Ventiderio, Ollantaytambo 12345, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#4 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently opened and newly built, Hotel Sol is an elegant boutique hotel in the center of Ollantaytambo, facing the ruins and directly alongside the Patacancha river. Ample sunny common areas, large rooms with modern baths, restaurant and wine bar, and impeccable customer service are the highlights of this perfectly located hotel. Free travel planning and advice for Machu Picchu included, we hope to see you soon ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sol Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing